He was clearly more popular than Meat Loaf was in Moate.
Grand wee article here involving the flying wheelchairā¦
Ayyye futbullers
In 1968, Alan Sugar founded Amstrad (short for āAlan Michael Sugar Tradingā). At its height in the mid 80s it reached a stock market value of Ā£1.2Bn.
In Bulgaria, the age of consent is 14.
In football, Ireland have played Wales in 5 different venues in full internationals in Dublin, a record for 2 international teams playing in one city.
The venues - Lansdowne Road, Aviva Stadium, Tolka Park, RDS, Croke Park.
Curiously the Germans were happy to let that slide in facilitating Bulgarias accession
Itās 14 in a heap of EU countries. But itās often still illegal if the person doesnāt understand what theyāre doing, even if they are 14.
Used to be a huge issue in the airport. A girl of 15 rocking up with her 19 yr old boyfriend was common enough
You should write a book on āairport storiesā.
Not sure what youād call it thoughā¦
its a wonder - ERās are a constant overused setting for TV shows - customs or immigration must be a fountain for fresh material / stories
Reality TV at best I supposeā¦
Itās a high-octane, life-or-death, play-hard/work hard, live fast and die young kinda environment alright
TBF two of those are the same venue.
I have vague memories of being severely irked in primary school by Wales winning at the RDS. Was it a match in spring in around 1992 or 1993? I recall playing outside in snow & talking about the match with the lads on the street. A young Mark Pembridge scored the only goal & I think Brian Carey from Cork made his Ireland debut (possibly his only cap or at least one of his few appearances) & Iām thinking it was on the back of Wrexhamās giant killing in the FA Cup. It might have been around the time they famously beat Arsenal. A lot of possibly incorrect info there.
I was also at the Croke Park match under Stan (I think) when Stephen Ireland scored the only goal early on. I remember going back to the Sackville Lounge for post match pints & their San Siro tunnel style walk to the jacks. Was also at the game in Aviva when Coleman suffered the horrific leg break but donāt recall a Tolka Park fixture. Think Big Jackās first (home) game was a loss to Wales in 1986 or something in the old Lansdowne.
I was at the RDS, Croker and Aviva ones.
I was at that. Ian Rush scored, Neville Southall broke his leg and i drank a naggin of paddy whiskey that i siphoned out of a large bottle belong to my my aul lad. I think he would have (donāt mention it @Raylan ) been more annoyed at me attending a soccer match than stealing his whiskey.
@Cheasty you forgot to log out
Ireland have actually played Wales twice in Tolka Park. Firstly, in 1981 as Tony Grealish put Ireland ahead only for Wales to win 3-1.
The reverse happened in 1993. An early Mark Hughes goal was wiped out by two late efforts by Kevin Sheedy, in one of his last games, and Tommy Coyne with what could have been his first (of only 2, I think) international goals.
I remember it being in the snow and thinking how odd that they played it in the RDSā¦ā¦ā¦think it was early 1993, possibly late ā92.
Cheasty just burned his copy of āmore and more and moreā
Could you bring your buddy Bruce back for it?