My lads are looking to start tennis this year. Is there a nice class of people playing tennis, I’d say there is.
A better class of peasant
thye’d be laughing him at him behind his back when he come sin with the brown shoes on
friends and business friends for life
Yerra, if they’re not going to be man enough for the hurling you might as well let them off to the poofters down at the tennis club.
I[quote=“The_Selfish_Giant, post:8326, topic:5856, full:true”]
friends and business friends for life
Yeah I agree. The bank manager asked me last year about bringing them up to the club, I mentioned it to a few of the lads involved with the club, my solicitor, my
GP, and I’ve a surgeon neighbour and he recommended the club too, along with the local school principal, it all seems positive so I think I’ll send them up.
The one thing I’ve noticed is they’re not like the gga, you know,constantly looking for money and hand outs. I suppose we just finance it ourselves?
I know the president is one of the top managers in Stryker inside in Limerick and I think they sponsor the club.
Different class of people I suppose and a different ethos.
Yeah I agree. The bank manager asked me last year about bringing them up to the club, I mentioned it to a few of the lads involved with the club, my solicitor, my
GP, and I’ve a surgeon neighbour and he recommended the club too, along with the local school principal, it all seems positive so I think I’ll send them up.
The one thing I’ve noticed is they’re not like the gga, you know,constantly looking for money and hand outs. I suppose we just finance it ourselves?
I know the president is one of the top managers in Stryker inside in Limerick and I think they sponsor the club.
Different class of people I suppose and a different ethos.
In fairness you might be on to something there. Mixing with a better class of person might motivate the kids to make something of themselves and they mightn’t see out their days taking sickies from the motor tax office.
Well I don’t expect them to be fools and busting themselves working for ‘the man’.
I’d be happier for them if they got handy numbers and let them have a life outside of the workplace.
A few of ye guys could do the same.
The prowler doesnt understand the concept of work like balance
That’s what has them in the situation most of themselves find they’re in.
Forelock tugging for the captains of industry. It’s a part of the Irish psyche. Let them off ta fuck. They’ll get a clock and a big round of applause when they finish up their working lives and they’ll be forgotten about 2 weeks later when some other employee number takes their place.
On their death beds will they look back and say I should have worked harder ? Spent more time in the office ? I doubt it.
Will they say, I should have spent more time down at the pitch with my kids ? Or down at the tennis club ?
It’ll be too late then.
Never has a post been so succinct and true
The good spell of weather so far, and the satisfaction of putting clothes out onto the line.
I’ve put out a load there now, it’s a job I love, pegging up the sheets, all perfectly folded over the line in perfect symmetry. There’s something so nice about it.
The good spell of weather so far, and the satisfaction of putting clothes out onto the line.
I’ve put out a load there now, it’s a job I love, pegging up the sheets, all perfectly folded over the line in perfect symmetry. There’s something so nice about it.
Put shirts on the line on Sunday morning. I actually meant to post up a picture. Only way to launder shirts properly really. Those tumble dryers are really only incubators for bacteria.
Agree. I might however give some of the stuff 10mins in the dryer and take them out whilst still hot ( without the cooling cycle) it’s easier to fold sheets and towels and larger items that don’t need to be ironed.
There’s a great ould pleasure in taking a shirt off of the line and a quick rub of the iron to straighten it out.
Is that how you starch the collar?
Fair play to you @Fagan_ODowd, your comment drove me on to strip all of the beds in the house and put all the pillows and mattresses out in the back garden. The place looks like the back store in Mattress Micks shop, but they’re out there now airing away in the sun and a lovely fresh breeze.
I try to do this at least once during the summer and leave them out there for a full day if we’re guaranteed a full dry sunny day.
If I get until 8:00pm tonight before the dew begins to come down I’ll be happy.
The dew point today is around 12 or 13 deg C. Make sure they’re on long before that mate, or you’ll be posting in the Things That Are Wrong thread tomorrow.
On another note, was the summer not long enough for you that you’re airing mattresses on a late September evening?
Fucked the car in for the nct there, didn’t bother doing a thing with it before hand but I thought I’d come out with a serious list as its the one we use for the slogging, but didn’t the beautiful bastard come back with no fault at all.
This summer was a pisstake with the kids, the neighbours and the Gaa club.
Up to last Tuesday I was on the road 3 nights a week and almost all of the weekends in June, July and August I was on the road Saturday and Sunday. By the time that’s all looked after and a borderline drink problem there’s not much time for detailed house cleaning.
If I’d to do a 40 hour week I’d be fucked altogether.
The Donald going after dinny
https://www.donaldjtrump.com/press-releases/denis-obrien-another-corrupt-clinton-friend
Follow the money indeed!