A whole level of wrongness
Man masturbated while rape victim testified in court
A RAPIST who was jailed for 15 years on Tuesday masturbated in court while his victim gave her evidence, it has emerged.
Przemyslaw Jakubowski ambushed his 30-year-old victim as she was running errands in the Cork town of Kanturk. He dragged her into the cubicle of a public toilet where he subjected her to more than half an hour of sexual violence before fleeing.
Jakbowski, who also has a conviction in his native Poland for attempted rape, was wearing women’s underwear during the attack which was later found in his home.
It has emerged that he began to masturbate in the dock during his trial last May when the woman got in the witness box and recounted the details of the assault. The entire courtroom was unaware what was happening except for Jakbowski’s Polish translator.
The translator was sitting beside him at the time and later reported it to the prison guards. Neither the judge nor jury was made aware of the incident. The next day a new translator was found for the trial.
Jakubowski exhibited bizarre behaviour throughout the 12-day trial.
At one point the judge heard boiling water was thrown over him while he was in custody in Mountjoy Prison. Proceedings were adjourned for a day over fears his visible burn injuries could prejudice the jury.
However, sources within the Prison Service believe he threw the water over himself in an attempt to get the trial abandoned or delayed. One official said the only other person who could have thrown the water was his cellmate, who guards describe as shy and non-confrontational.
In her victim impact statement, the woman said the attack would haunt her for the rest of her life. She spoke of the feeling of helplessness on the day.
Director of the Cork Sexual Violence Centre, Mary Crilly, said Jakubowski’s behaviour in court and his past conviction in Poland “absolutely suggests he is a serial offender”.
“What he did in court conveys all the arrogance that you see in sex offenders time and time again. There is that arrogance that they have got away with it in the past and they will get away with it again,” she said.
That cunt should be hung.
I was reading the report on the case the other day and what he subjected that woman to was sick.
Hopefully he gets beaten to death in prison
I want one of them. Awesome.
Ballymun Kickhams U-14’s going to Portugal for a 3 day warm weather stint to get ready for Feile. They should have their title taken away from them.
It’s fuckin ridiculous alright.
Ballymun? Warm weather training me hole, those cunts were on the knack for the entire three days.
what a low life mbb is.
Tarring u/14’s youngsters as knackers just because of the name of their club.
The naivety of the Munster massive. I stand over my statement. They should have been searched the moment they returned to Irish soil.
Clown
Ah no caoimhaoin is right though, warm weather training for U14’s is a bit much. I’d like to know the feeling of seldom seen poster dubliner2 on this matter.
Paddy Christie, no doubt an alright sort I imagine caoimhaoin and runt will be along to retract their posts in due course
Kickhams defend decision to send U14s to Portugal
By Terry Reilly
A DUBLIN club has defended its decision to send their U14s to Portugal before last weekend’s Féile tournament.
Division 1 champions Ballymun Kickhams won the prestigious underage All-Ireland, a first national title in the club’s history, on Sunday. The club had sent the U14s to Browns in the Algarve in Villamoura, a popular senior inter-county venue for pre-season training camps, three weeks before the event in Cork and had been accused of organising a training camp but manager Paddy Christie dismissed the notion.
“We went away for four days,” said the former Dublin star.
"I’ve heard numerous things being said, saying we were taking advantage and were cocky booking it before we won the Dublin Féile.
"But we booked it January. It was not a pre-championship preparation. We would never do that. It was a social trip and there were 15 parents with us. There was no mad fitness training.
“You can see how situation developed. But I’d say we trained for 10% of time we were there. It was more for the kids. When you’re training in January it’s something to look forward to. If we were knocked out we would still have gone.”
The club draws players from Glasnevin and Ballymun. Christie believed they have to manage their team differently from other clubs.
[b]"We would be drawing from disadvantaged areas with social problems and all with it. Things like this all help the kids who are vulnerable and makes a big difference.
“As teachers we [the management] were interested in the good of the kids. I hope the kids stay playing, I hope it makes them better people and they’re better for the last four years [under him]. I can see how they’ve come on from boys to young men.”[/b]
In fact the only inside knowledge he had going to Cork was from his selector, Tomás Hayes, originally from Bishopstown. But beating St Michael’s from Blackrock in Cork in the semi-final was bittersweet for one of Hill 16’s favourite sons.
“Not many people know but I was born in Cork and spent the first four years of my life in Blackrock, it was strange.”
The club beat St Finbarr’s in the final on an impressive scoreline of 2-3 to 0-1 and hopes are high in Ballymun that they can go return to the halicon days of the ‘80s when Barney Rock and Dermot Deacy led them to two Dublin SFC titles.
Christie previously managed a Ballymun side from U10s up to U21s and last year 12 of that side started in the Dublin SFC while Philly McMahon and Alan Hubbard are on the current Dublin senior team. After helping them to two U21 titles in a row Christie returned to the U10s and has put in four years with this group.
However he has not set big targets for the youngsters.
“Two things at the start agreed on club never won a Dublin Division 1 Féile before and we achieved in April. The club has never won an U15 A either, we’ve won every other grade and that’s the priority for next year.”
The only person who needs to retract posts is you.
All 33,828 of them would be a good start.
I stand over every single one of them. All internet gold.
Stop avoiding the subject.
Amanda Brunker to play Oxegen. Nope, we did not make this up.
JIM CARROLL
It may look like something you’d read in disbelief on Broadsheet, but Sunday World journalist, novelist and sofa plugger Amanda Brunker plays at Oxegen this weekend. She is a late addition to the bill due to line-up changes (Jessie J has dropped out due to a broken foot and Alice Gold has been moved to the main stage as a result) and will appear on the Vodafone Stage at 2pm on Saturday.
The mind boggles on so many different levels about this news. Have MCD really added someone to the bill who is not very well known for her music and will be playing her debut gig on the second biggest stage at the festival? Have the promoters ran out of money and can’t afford anyone else? Did every other band on the planet, especially the Irish ones who’d really benefit from a slot like this, just say no or not take the calls or forget to get back to them? Is this some sort of Situationalist art prank from Denis Desmond? Have they just lost the plot out there in Dun Laoghaire?
After all, let’s be honest, Brunker was hardly going to say no when she was approached. No-one in her situation would. According to her Twitter, she has been working on tracks in the studio inbetween making lasagne. She also tells us to expect kicking dance music and covers for her first gig (the smart money is on her covering Mark McCabe’s “Maniac”). She may be well-known in this country, but this is the first time anyone knew about her budding music career.
The addition will certainly get them publicity – hell, I’m writing about it, even though I have a hunch that this might have something to do with a TV show of some kind – and does distract attention from questions about ticket sales, but it does little for Oxegen’s much touted musical qualities. Aren’t the music acts who make it the biggest and best line-up in Europe the selling point which the organisers go on about over and over again? If this is the best they can do when one of the big draws of the festival has to be replaced, you really begin to wonder about what’s going on. Surely someone could have called the Flaming Lips, who are always up for Irish gigs, to play for an hour. Can we expect Twink or Glenda Gilson to be on the Dance Stage bill if any acts need to be replaced before the weekend? All of this means that many will have two words for the organisers the next time they start talking about Oxegen’s line-up as the “best that there has ever been at one single festival in Europe”: Amanda Brunker.
Sofa plugger :lol:
Thomas Levet broke his leg after jumping into a greenside lake to celebrate winning the French Open on Sunday. :rolleyes:
Tard.
Especially given that its not even a fucking sport.