Heās a wrong un this one
Just going off whatās written in the article it seems absolutely ridiculous he was found guilty
The judge took the guardās evidence over Mr Allenās. District Courts often have that element of familiarity at play.
The evidentiary rules and standards in District Courts are a low enough bar.
Judges arenāt huge fans of fifteen minutes cases being stretched out to three hours at the best of times
The carvery across the road is gone dry by then
Even at that Iād imagine if it was a first offence there would surely be a higher threshold?
I had to attend Galway district court for something non criminal related nor litigation related a few years back. I was there at 0830 for a nine am kick off. The judge rocked in at 1000 then fucked off presumably for breakfast before finally taking her seat at 1045.
I thought at the time Iād love that job.
Have you any doubt heās guilty?
I donāt really.
One of my friends was in court on a drunk and disorderly charge (he was pissing on the street and gave a bit of cheek) a few weeks ago. He went in and the sergeant who took his details at the time said he was arrested on the night (he wasnāt) and that a fine had been sent out which wasnāt paid (there was no fine sent out). He just said that neither of those were true and it was thrown out straight away
Thatās because they werenāt true though.
Well the only evidence here is what the guard said by the looks of it
And the bag of cocaine
Yeah I think heās forgetting about that small piece of evidence
Thereās no evidence that the cocaine was his bar what the guard said
I know a lad who was having a piss while pissed.
He happened to do it behind a copās house. Cop got into witness box and said yer man had deliberately exposed himself to copās young kids. It was about midnight so twas unlikely.
The lad gets sent down for six months. While he was awaiting transport to Mountjoy appeal lodged and he was released on bail. Ended up getting a 100 euro fine in Circuit Court.
āI know a ladā
He wonāt do it again
A lot of guards are stupid and power hungry. I wouldnāt be relying on their word as the only evidence in a case
They surely could have fingerprinted it I suppose, sure theyād have Allenās prints on file.Then there would be no doubt.