Draw for 1st round of county championship

County Championship draw

Killenaule v Upperchurch Drombane

Carrick Davins v Galtee/Treacys

Kildangan v Éire Óg Anacarty

Burgess v Holycross Ballycahill

North Runners Up v Knockaville Kickhams

Mullinahone v Mid Runners Up

il predict Upperchurch, the combo, Kildangan, Holycross, North Runners Up and Mid Runners Up to win those.

Any word on how the North Final went…Any truth in the rumour that Tipp mightn’t have any representative in the Munster Senior Club championship this year

Dunno Puke but I heard Sars won the mid by 2 points. Poor enough fare apparently.

Toome won the North Final 1-12 to 0-13, poor enough apparently. Eoin Brislane came on and scored the goal that won it, a rocket by all accounts.

Wins for Upperchurch, The Combo, Burgess and Kildangan in the Co Championship.

Presume it is between Thurles and Toome for the championship, Mullach…Is there anyone else in with a shout

Can’t see anyone else winning it myself Puke, Loughmore or Nenagh might come into the reckoning after coming back in through the Seamus O’Riann. Clonoulty won’t be beaten to easily. Upperchurch looked a well balanced team on Saturday although the opposition was brutal.

The next round of the championship involves the following teams - Upperchurch, Galtee/Treacys, Burgess, Kildangan, Nenagh, Loughmore, Borrisileigh or Knockavilla, Mullinahone or Drom-Inch.

Sars, Toome, Carrick Swan and Clonoulty are in the Quarters awaiting the 4 winners from the next round.

There’s a round of games on this week again.

Borris V Knockavilla and Drom/Inch V Mullinahone double header Thursday night,.

That’s the last of the 1st round games Borrisileigh and Drom should win those.

Just came across this article now although it appeared in last weeks Tribune. Found it quite interesting myself, O Shea seems to have a knack for keeping things calm and assured and players minds focused on the job.

The Premier trust bank that paid out with interest
There was a boldness in Tipperary’s play last Sunday, writes Kieran Shannon, which came from their management convincing them they would plunder goals if they kept doing the right thing

ATTACK! It was the last word the starters heard from Eamon O’Shea in the huddle and it was the foremost thing on their minds all week. Instead of planning and fretting about not conceding any goals to Kilkenny, they plotted and pictured ways of scoring a few goals themselves.

During their last training session, they went through once more how they were going to break down the iron curtain that was the Kilkenny full-back line by pulling it out and apart, how they were going to create the space for Lar Corbett to face down PJ Ryan one-on-one. They didn’t just walk through how they could score goals; O’Shea subtly embedded into them that they would score goals.

“So when the first goal goes in…” he motioned to them out on the field.

“Lads, when we get the second goal…”

“And now when we get the third goal…”

As if a third goal against the greatest team hurling has known was a given.

Trust was the other word that governed their every act last Sunday, probably their every act after Cork. Trust in the system, trust in the other members of “the family”, and above all, to trust themselves as individuals.

The Thursday before the final selector Michael Ryan had recalled the last time Tipperary beat Kilkenny in an All Ireland final, back in 1991, his first year hurling with the county seniors. Ryan was very mindful of the usual tendency to romanticise the old games, especially the old victories, but as a self-confessed “ordinary guy who was lucky enough to have had some extraordinary experiences”, Ryan recounted how after the first 35 minutes of that game he had yet to touch the ball. He had been too cagey, too preoccupied about stopping Eamon Morrisey play rather than going out and playing his own game.

“I was trying to think my way around the match,” he recalled. “Then at half-time I said to myself, ‘Hey, throw off the shackles. Stop trying to think about this – just do it.’ It was like a switch going off in my head. ‘Just trust yourself.’”

Trust yourself. It was a motto that worked for him the rest of that day and it worked for Tipp last Sunday too. Trust worked in other forms. Brendan Maher wasn’t called ashore by the management in the final 10 minutes last Sunday; it was Maher himself who called for the substitution, signalling to the sideline that he’d emptied the tank. But it took time to cultivate that trust. You don’t just attack a team like Kilkenny overnight.

• • •

IN his brief interview with Liam Sheedy from the Burlington Hotel last Sunday night, Michael Lyster suggested that this journey began for Tipperary 12 months earlier with their defeat in the All Ireland final before Sheedy discreetly corrected him that the odyssey began three years ago.

Lyster’s oversight was understandable because it’s easy to forget just what a ramshackle operation the Tipp seniors had been in their last game before Sheedy’s appointment. They exited that championship in 2007 to Wexford with Eoin Kelly having started the game on the bench and Brendan Cummins remaining in the cooler for the whole game, just like he had for Tipp’s previous five games that summer. Teammates had been accused by the same manager at various stages during his tenure as “dead, only to wash them”, “too educated” with their “soft office jobs” and actually fortunate to lose to Wexford that time to avoid a drilling to Kilkenny in the semi-final. Imagine what else those players had to listen to under Babs, the constant unfavourable comparisons to the lads of the 60s and 80s, the constant battering their confidence must have taken.

Things could only get better, especially with Sheedy inheriting back-to-back All Ireland minor teams, one of which he had managed himself in 2006, but how rapidly and continuously they’d improve has been testament to Sheedy and the environment he’d create. The day after his last game involved as a player, the 2000 All Ireland quarter-final defeat to Galway, Sheedy confided to Michael Ryan over a pint in Thurles that one day he’d like a crack at the top job. “Well,” said Ryan, who was just after his last game himself, “I’d have no bother standing beside you.” Seven years on Sheedy was glad to know Ryan was as good as his word.

In Cian O’Neill he identified a physical trainer who the players would respect but the real masterstroke was recruiting as team coach Eamon O’Shea, the economics lecturer who quotes Paul Durcan and listens to Tom Waits. Sheedy says he only knew O’Shea to say ‘hi’ to, and O’Shea himself can’t recall when they even had said that. It was actually the county board and its chairman John Costigan that proposed the two of them team up. The minors had just won the All Ireland with Declan Ryan as team manager and Tommy Dunne as team coach and it was a model the board felt should be replicated at senior. Sheedy met O’Shea for a coffee in Portumna and O’Shea instantly knew by Sheedy’s sincerity and open-mindedness that here wasn’t just a man that he could work with but a man he’d want to work for.

Sheedy wouldn’t have known it but the coach who would help him win a senior All Ireland as a manager was in a way inadvertently behind him being denied one as a player. In 1997 Jamesie O’Connor scored the point that won that year’s All Ireland final. Sheedy was playing on O’Connor that day and to this day O’Connor credits O’Shea as the biggest influence on his own career.

O’Connor was an economics student of O’Shea’s in UCG and knew that O’Shea had won All Ireland under-21 medals and a national league medal playing for Tipp and an All Ireland club medal with Kilruane McDonaghs. One day after class O’Connor enquired if O’Shea would coach that year’s Fitzgibbon Cup team. O’Shea had never coached before but he’d been studying the game since he could walk and after accepting O’Connor’s offer was soon introducing the Clare man to a whole new level of thinking about forward play. Life as an academic – taking sabbaticals and writing books in places like Brussels, Paris and Madrid – meant O’Shea hadn’t trained many teams beyond the college side and the Kilruane intermediates who he’d guided to a county title in 2003 but when Sheedy sounded him out three years ago he didn’t doubt for a moment his capacity to work with elite players.

Brendan Cummins had never heard of him before. “When I met him Eamon, he was quiet and reserved but once you got him onto green grass, his enthusiasm and thoughts about the game were just unbelievable. He’s the best coach you could come across. He can communicate his ideas so clearly. When it comes to tactics, there’s no flipcharts with Eamon O’Shea or any bollards. He walks you to the pitch and shows you what he wants you to do.”

For O’Shea, coaching is all about cultivating decision-makers, getting the players to decide for themselves.

"The players must have freedom of expression. I don’t think you need to provide them with too much information. In hurling in particular there’s a certain degree of randomness, spontaneity about it. Paul Durcan the poet said that hurling is the father of freedom. And it actually is. Last year Seamie Callinan got some grief for a celebration after a goal. I would never worry about that. For God’s sake, the game needs some personality. Eoin talked about personality in his speech. The helmets make it harder for people to see lads’ personality but our lads have lots of personality and you must allow that flourish. And that means trusting lads when some days things aren’t going exactly to plan.

"Take last Sunday. We got a horrible puckout wrong and there was a point got off it. If that happened two years ago we would have been feeling under pressure but we’ve evolved to a situation where you’d say ‘Look, this is how we play. We take risks, calculated risks. There’s going to be the odd mistake but keep with it.’

"It’s awareness. You’ll say, ‘Right, how are we going to play on Sunday, Lar? Is this where we want the ball? Is it here we want the space created?’ And then Lar says, ‘This is what we’ll do. If I run here and…’ So the suggestion comes from the coach but the real working out is done by the players.

“After the semi-final against Waterford people were talking about Cummins’ short puckout and Tipp’s ‘tactical awareness’, as if we’d spent two hours talking about it. I never spoke to Brendan about his puckouts against Waterford. What I spoke with him long before that game was that the short puckout was something to have in his armoury and that Paddy Stapleton needed to be aware when he was going with it. We’ve spent an awful lot of time on the training pitch hitting short ball after short ball, an awful lot of work on just trying to get the right feel and range to the shot. Trying to pick out a Tipperary man from 30 yards, 40 yards, 60 yards, 70 yards, 90 yards, like a golfer choosing between a five-iron and a six-iron.”

It took three years for them to fully develop to this point. They made great strides in 2008, winning the league and winning Munster, but when Waterford beat them in the All Ireland semi-final it underlined that they weren’t yet ready to win big games in Croke Park. “The worst place to lose is an All Ireland semi-final,” says Sheedy, “and that drove us on in the semi-final in 2009. The hurt then of losing that final in '09 drove us to win this year.”

For Brendan Cummins it wasn’t until they were “in those small dressing rooms in Cork” that they really felt the true hurt of losing. Not since the Mayo footballers of 20 years earlier had an All Ireland losing team felt so good about themselves over a winter and spring. Management had a nagging sense alright that things weren’t fully right without being able to identify just what and when they blasted five goals past Dublin in a challenge game in Nenagh a fortnight out from the showdown on Leeside they’d convinced themselves that things were right enough.

Clearly they weren’t but when the family met up in the Horse and Jockey the Tuesday after the Páirc Uí Chaoimh debacle, there were no recriminations, only self-examination. Everyone was free to speak and everyone spoke freely. Players accepted that a few gym sessions had been missed, that they’d stayed inside a comfort zone. Management accepted they had facilitated that as well. Looking back it was probably too easy to start with so many of the team that started last year’s All Ireland final. They all walked away with two or three small things to work on, which added up to about a 100 small things to work on. If they improved slightly on even half of that, figured Sheedy, they’d be in a good place heading into their next game.

In July they saw off Wexford, then Offaly, then Galway. Galway was a big one. With five minutes left against Galway when the team were two points down, O’Shea walked by the goal and just nodded to Cummins. Cummins nodded back. Nothing needed to be said. Things were okay, things would be okay, they trusted themselves. Other times things needed to be said. Three times during last week’s final O’Shea made a point of going over to Bonner Maher to tell him he was making a fantastic contribution. “I played wing-forward myself,” says O’Shea, “and if you haven’t scored in 20 minutes you’re worrying. Bonner needed to be assured he was doing a great job, which was to keep the play wide open and keep Tommy (Walsh) occupied on that wing. If he had pushed in more, then we wouldn’t have been as effective. He sacrificed aspects of his game for the team.”

In Tipperary there is a tradition, kept alive in the punditry of some former mentors, that if you’re a half-forward not scoring three or four points a game you’re not contributing to the team. The achievement of Sheedy was selling them that what might look like a six-out-of-10 performance by an individual – doing the unseen stuff like getting in your hook and blocks, creating space for Lar – could facilitate a 10-out-of-10 team performance like last Sunday’s.

John O’Brien was a classic case in point. Corbett’s first goal wasn’t random; it was by design. They wanted him to drift in there onto Noel Hickey, just as they wanted O’Brien to drift out so Corbett didn’t find himself having Jackie Tyrrell to contend with as well.

The evening before the game, O’Shea met Conor Hayes at a camogie game in which their daughters were playing for Salthill-Knocknacarra and the former Galway captain and manager was struck by how relaxed O’Shea appeared. O’Shea replied that while he wasn’t sure if his team would win he knew they were going to perform. “They were just so good in training the previous two weeks. The measure of where a team is isn’t in how many fellas have been put on their arse but in the precision of your striking, your movement, and our lads had that.”

There would be stormy periods, of course, but they were happy with how they weathered them. At half-time Sheedy told them that before the game they’d have settled for being one up at the break. The dressing room was as calm as they had ever been at half-time. They just needed to be a bit calmer in their tackling, stop giving away so many frees, and to keep attacking. The goals would come if they did.

And they did. They even got a fourth goal, something not even O’Shea had planned for. Trust the players to get it.

Borrisoleigh 1-20 Knockavila 0-8

And?

and you can fuck off!!

Cant understand these retards that click on a thread that they have no interest in.This is a useful facility to check up on local results if you are living and working away from home.

In many of the same ways that I dont click on some thread about a spastic giving greyhound tips in order to get e-claps on the back, I’d appreciate it if people who have no interest in Tipperary GAA to kindly fuck off.

Thanks.

Anyway great result for Borrisoleigh after their reverse at the weekend.I’d expect them to give the county a serious rattle.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Mullinahone 2-15 Drom/Inch 1-12

He’s right Dunph, fuck off.

Mullinahone would be somewhat of a surprise i’d suggest to the Tipp lads?

Why are you answering questions addressed to Tipp lads? Do u consider yourself from Tipp?

I’m just answering questions on one of the various threads we have here…