Lowry would like to think of himself as a Godfather alright
He would have made a great President of the GAA.
When his term as county chairman was up there was talks of bending the rules so he could have the gig indefinitely. A pity he couldnât continue, but at least we have the memories.
I saw that earlier. Aboy Len. He still does a hurling summer camp in McDonaghs
You wonât hear too many in Clare say a bad word about Len Gaynor. What has Babs got against him?
Len is a sound man
Newport man two over from him. A steely man
'I still contend that if he (Len Gaynor) used Nicky for that final (Tipp would have beaten Clare). He was young enough (34), he was skilful enough and what they wanted was composure, particularly in the last quarter of an hour. If you look at Gaynorâs legacy, Gaynor managed teams for 40 years and never won a Munster final or an All-Ireland.
When I was playing corner-forward or full-forward and Gaynor wing-back, youâd say, âFor fuckâs sake, Len, watch where youâre hitting the ball. His reply would be, âI had to get it â canât you go and get it as wellâ. Whereas if you took Mick Roche, I always remember â71 (Munster final v Limerick) in Killarney.
We were desperate, eight points down at half-time and Roche and myself were like that (crosses fingers), inseparable. There was shouting and belting hurleys. Roche turns to me and says, âThe first ball I get, you look out for me and Iâll put it in your pocketâ. I can still remember him leading them and he waited and waited and he put it in there (points to his hip) and I stuck it in the net. The second one the same, the third one I was fouled for the 21. That was Roche. Do you think Gaynor would do that?â
That was the match Tipp let in two goals in stoppage time and lost by a point?
We already knew Babs likes to bad-mouth him, that doesnât explain why.
Babs is only calling it as he sees it.
From memory it was because he wasnât selected on the Waterford minor team.
That crowd of lads backboned them for years. The 2 Grogans gave them a good cutting edge up front then after.
Cracker was a great keeper.
Derry was some yoke.
He was. Sound man to boot. The Sheas were nice footballers. Clifford was a dinger of a corner back. The Leonardâs were seriously talented but each one of them had an achilles heel that held them back from fulfilling their potential
Loughnane negative on Len?
Paul Ormonde ever kick ball for the Tipp senior footballers?