What was this mate? His obsession with Tipp and Clare is very endearing
Is there nothing he cant do?
Oh aye, keep upright.
LOL
Iāll get back later on that. Iāve a few Uncles that would be driven over the edge by that.
No Pat Fitzelle?
The Knockavilla lads wonāt like that
John Quinn should be there also
Conor O Brien didnāt play in the backs much for Annacarthy did he?
Ed is a nice man and a very good administrator but it is clearly obvious that he made a lot of glaring errors picking this team. It was picked on the basis of personality and if you got selected for the county team. Everyone knows that the best club players are often only club players and not county men.
Theyāll be hopping in Cappawhite that no one from the 87 county winning team made it. Ger O Neill, Austin Buckley and Ger Bawn would all be close. Leaving Pat Fitzelle out is a joke. By far and away the best hurler I have seen in West Tipp. Declan Ryan and John Kennedy were the only Clonoulty player even though they won counties in 89 and 97. Noel Keane was a better full back than John Devane. He went down to Blackrock and won a few counties with them after. No one from combo team of 04.
The GK one is odd also. Fergal Horgan, Kevin O Sullivan, Andrew Fryday and Darragh Mooney would all be better than Leamy.
To answer @the_man_himself Iām pretty sure Conor O Brien never played in the full back line for his club. He played every other line but not there. If they wanted to squeeze an Eire og man in the full back line it should have been Kevin Fox.
The lads in Dundrum will be hopping also. They got no one despite having plenty of great underage talent that never fulfilled its potential.
My team.
Andrew Fryday
Kevin Fox
Noel Keane
Ger Ryan Bawn
Raymie Ryan
Pat Fitzelle
John O Keeffe
Conor O Brien
Colm Bonnar
Nicky English
Declan Ryan
Timmy Hammersley
Pat Fox
Cormac Bonnar
Ger O Neill
The only time Conor OāBrien played in the full back line for Eire Og was when he went back there to man mark Brendan Maher in the last 15 minutes of a knock out championship game in 2012.
Borris-Ileigh threw Brendan up there to save the day but he was beaten up a stick by Conor OāBrien as Eire Og held out for a famous win.
Iām not as old as the rest of ye so cant really comment on the above teams but Iām surprised Declan OāDwyer hasnāt been considered for goals.
Shocking omission
Now youāre talking.
Yeah Declan is a solid shout. A good campaigner.
15 mins is an exaggeration there. 5/6 maybe.
Your old man would def give a good 15.
Would Conal Bonnar not be > than Ramie Ryan?
Itās a close call. Conal was more of a stopper at wing back. He would sacrifice his game for the greater good of the team by taking someone out of the game.
Raymie was an incredibly stylish and swashbuckling hurler who I loved watching as a young lad. He would look head and shoulders the best in the field by doing a few great things and clipping a few points, however at the same time his direct opponent would have clipped plenty of ball also.
Agreed, touch of the John Madden, looked good, nice hair etc. but to me Bonnar also had class, made the '89 team 2 years out of minor, Iād consider it no contest really
Conal Bonnar was the best hurler of the Bonnar . Wonderful player .
Willie Ryan has been blackguarded there.