Tipperary GAA 2022

Cork would be a great challenge match team.

We’re fucked.

At least ye’ll have ye’re Club Championships mate

Very interesting debutant for the footballers on Sunday.

Who’s that?

Kerry lad who joined Loughmore. Sean O’Connell. They played a Mid football game during the week to get him eligible

Mikey O’Shea I’d say. Millinahone with two on the team.

Or him!

Graphic design game has improved for 2022 anyway. That’s about it

You’d imagine Tipp would still be too good for division 4. Cavan surely the only team they have trouble with?

Nice to see the team freshened up some bit.

Quinlivan gone for the year travelling? He’ll be a serious loss. You’d still expect Tipp and Cavan to be promoted from div 4 though.

If I had to bet I’d say they won’t get out of division 4.

Who finishes 2nd above then? Wexford or Leitrim? Carlow seem to have gone back a bit after the departure of some of their elder statesmen.

Who is Elaine Harte? New selector brought in to the fold?

Team got a fair revamp. From seeing the 2 Mullinahone lads up close last year they will bring a lot of athleticism. Have never seen the new Kerry recruit playing so will reserve judgement but it follows a long line of players from other counties who once played underage or on fringes of senior panel who were catapulted straight into the team. McCullagh from Tyrone was probably one of the first. Played minor and U21 with Tyrone. Didn’t amount to much. Philip Ryan from Dublin was brought in. Has an AI medal with Dublin. Hardly kicked a ball. Ciaran Cannon just recently started a game against Kerry at centre back. Doesn’t reappear after rough outing. Previously played with Donegal U21s. It all smacks of desperation.

Full back line has been together for years and is tried and tested. O Connell acquitted himself very well against Clifford last year and Feehan and O Shaughnessy are solid. Kevin Fahy to centre forward is a strange one. Maybe they want him to be the new Brian Fox water carrier type player. Good to see Stephen Quirke back. Plagued by knee injuries. Saw him training a lot during lockdown on his own and thought to myself that he was an unfulfilled talent who through no fault of his own never reached his potential. Hopefully he can get a clear run. Surprising also that none of U20s who got to munster final and gave Cork a game have made the step up in any significant numbers.

Elaine Harte is the GK coach. She played for Cork ladies for years in the 00s and early 10s. Was part of Roynaynes set up in the ladies team.

Elaine Harte: 'The lads are taking on board everything that I am saying'

It would be great for Quirke to get an free run for a season or two. I thought the inter county ship had sailed on him.

Good to see more women involved. Loughmore this year another example. They can bring a bit of calm to proceedings. Goalkeeping coach is a fair detail these days especially with restarts. They are a vital cog. Do they kick it off a tee or out of their hands in ladies football for kick outs? What Tipp really lacked in recent years is someone who can catch a kickout or can compete in the air to break a ball to a wing back or wing forward. Havent had anyone like a David Moran or Ian Maguire so hopefully Quirke can strengthen that area.

Don’t know but just wouldn’t trust them.

Tipp Team v Laois: Brian Hogan Barrett Quigley Morgan Quirke Kennedy Heffernan Flynn Breen McCormack Forde Browne Kehoe D Maher Morris