Tipping culture

Hardly the case anymore with the price of haircuts??

I have no real knowledge on it but surprised to hear that. Would have thought it was a decent career

If you’re the proprietor, it probably is, but not for the employees.

Years ago, I lived with a woman that worked in Peter Mark(s). She told me it was the tips that allowed her to make rent

That’s not how capitalism works!

Tip my hole

Was going for a job interview donkey years ago, popped into my long tine barber for the first time ever and got the gig.

Always look after him as I gained and its only right to look after the man who played his role. It was a team effort.

People used to tip the binmen every Xmas, not now since it was privatised? I tip taxi / uber drivers, waiting staff and sometimes good bar staff, especially when they’re very busy. I’m bald, so no barber to tip

Yeah I’d usually tap a taxi or Uber as long as they’re not a cunt.

My auld fella would always tip the binmen and postman/woman. I used give both of them a box of chocolates or tin of biscuits at Christmas.

We tip the binmen and postmen at Christmas
My uncle was our binmen growing up and we had rakes of postmen in the family so that was big with my parents

The MUFC Footix barber I go to is in his mid 20s and just had his first kid. Lovely fella, took on the business when the LFC Footix barber he worked for moved to Liverpool.

He charges €20 a cut, with two slots in each hour. So let’s say he does 80 cuts across the week. He has a young lad working with him too. At max capacity, you’re talking about 165k in a year between the two of them, but in reality it’s going to be less. They’ve to take holidays, close for a week or two at Christmas and will have quiet times. I’m going to estimate they’re operating at 80% capacity, so around 130k income. Maybe young Ben gets 25k or so of that, leaving it around 100k.
Take the rent and rates off that. The light and heat. The insurance. The materials etc. he’d probably be lucky to clear 50k in a year. Even though he runs the place, I still leave him a few euro each time I’m there.

His fiancee is a nurse and the two of them are living at his parents as it’s the only way they can afford to save for a gaff of their own.

@flattythehurdler will be along shortly to explain that one.

Although how barbers/hairdressers wangle tips remains a mystery. A lapsed forumite had a harrowing experience with one in Northern France some years ago……*

*. One of the all time classics that more recent members may have missed……

Always put up porter for my local barmen. When they re busy, you ll always be looked after. Anyway they provide a fab service and make the local a great place to visit.

Yeah it definitely is for the proprietor I’d say. They don’t even declare all the money as they take plenty in cash. A hairdresser (the owner) in my vicinity would always be driving around in a new car.

Edit: You’ve done the maths above. 2 slots per hour would seem low enough in a barbers.

Tip if the restaurant meal and experience was very good. Tip the bazzer at Christmas. The odd random act of kindness here and there but in general the rest can fuck off.

He has a booking system (they had it prior to covid even where all the slots are in half hours). I suppose some young lads require longer these days whereas it’s usually about 20 minutes for me. And I always pay in cash.

I can’t get over this expecting a tip craic. I have no idea why I’d tip a barber after already paying him 30 odd (thankfully I’m shaving my head these days).

I tip it it’s warranted, especially at restaurants.

Maybe the odd obvious rounding in cash, like for a taxi man (or taxi person) who was nice and friendly

I worked as a waiter and worse for years so i always tip 10% at least but usually more. Id usually bring cash for the tip. I tip the binmen and the postman at christmas. The fact that binmen are privatised would make me tip em more. I dont tip for takeaway coffee usually or on those machines that suggest a tip. It’s bollox. Tech nudging you to tip when the very essence off good service is human interaction.
A pure refusal to tip makes you a cunt in my book. It’s tight as fuck. As is giving out about cash. The same cunts would be begging a builder to do a job for cash. Banks want to tap a card so they get a cut out of every single transaction you make. A tonne in cash stays a tonne forever.

Because you spend a half hour in their company. I’d tip the barber alright. If always tip Nicola, but you’d often get a rub of a boob on your ear.

I tip nearly everywhere, but I balk at a takeaway. You may as well tip the lad in supermacs.

I’ll bet you do. How is she keeping these days - didn’t she pull something or other :wink: