Phantom was legendary. It’s when it went “legal” that it went a bit shite. It was class in it’s “pirate” days though.
There was a cracking part time station that was on only on a Saturday afternoon and Sunday afternoon, it was called Rock 96 I think. It dedicated itself to classic rock, I never heard a song after 1990 on it. I don’t know if they are still broadcasting, might push the tuner button towards 96 over the weekend.
Flano, one of the reasons Phantom is now shite is because now that they’re legal they have to answer to the BCI (Broadcasting Commission of Ireland) coonts. They push riddiculous regulations on Irish radio stations, 20% of a radio stations output has to be current affairs based and a cetain amount of songs have to be Irish! It’s the reason why stations like Spin1038 have to have stupid talkshows during the day even though they are a non-stop music type station. Today FM fit in well with the BCI’s rules as they have Matt Cooper beating off the drivetime competition for the manditory 20% current affairs output, and Tom Dunne enjoys playing new Irish bands music as do Tony Fenton and Ian Dempsey. A station as small as Phantom will feel extremely constricted with the BCI’s regulations, they will never be able to do what they did best as a pirate station
Don’t listen to the radio very much but since I got my new Cowon A3 I’ve started listening to it a bit in the morning. That pair, Colm and Jim Jim are utter, utter retards. It’s embarrassing how retarded they are. They were making ridiculously stupid prank calls and giggling away to themselves about it.
They’re followed by the sanctimonious, patronising, condescending cooooooooont that is Gerry Ryan.
Fook me that’s bad radio.
Thing is Clarkey, most radio stations follow that painfully stale formula - breakfast show with ‘wacky banter’ to set you up for the day, followed by state of the nation type gash from Gerry Ryan / Ray D’Arcy types, afternoon chart busting hits with some loser like Ray Foley and then the drivetime slot and so on. I despise all radio stations - they’re ridiculously crap. That’s why an mp3 player is such an essential possession - imagine relying on Tony Fenton or some other knob to satisy your musical tastes.
I must admit to not minding Colm and Jim Jim on FM104 during my college days. I haven’t heard them in years though.
Radio One is the way to go. Morning Ireland is the only breakfast show I would half consider listening to. I don’t mind Tubridy. Pat Kenny is excellent on the radio and Ronan Collins delivers some nice relaxing afternoon music.
After the 1 o’clock news it goes downhill rapidly with woeful Joe Duffy, Derek Mooney and the bland Drivetime but it’s alright up to that
Newstalk or iPod for me.
One of the birds in work said to me today “How’s your poll?” I thought that was a bit of a forward question
How did you answer that one?
I said “Yeah grand. Still standing tall anyway”
Shermin, I was under the impression you hated Ray Foley. What’s with the plug for his show on your signature?
There’s nothing else to do at lunchtime unfortunately.
Its got to this stage than rather changing the station I just lower it so I dont have to listen to the tripe that is the Morning crew.
I have an unhealthy hatred of Ray D’arcy. used to like his show, but in the last few years its gone to sh!t. That stupid bint he’s boning is ruining him. Always hear her drone on in the background as if she’s someone big now (and I dont mena in the physical sense, as she is already large enough). He’s a real houswives pet, someone who goes against the grain of men and drive women to thinking their man is romantic enough or should be emotionally stable or some other shite. i’d usually have todayfm on the car radio as its the only half decent station outside of the pale, but by god does it annoy me sometimes. usnt to mind that Ray Foley but he’s a bit of an arsehole too, and his music choices are terrible. he loves those cockney talking bitches, whats her name, one of them is Kate nash, cant think of the other useless bint.
Lily Allen’s probably the other one. I was a bit like that Gman in that I used to listen to Ray D’Arcy’s show a few years back when I was on study leave and what not (don’t have radio in work) but now I can’t stand him for the reasons you outlined above.
Shermin, even if there’s nothing else to do at lunchtime other than listening to Foley, is it not quite a big jump to go from hating him to actively advertising his show?
But Today FM is still clearly better than 98FM. I envisage bloodshed in my workplace in the near future
As I am moving departments I will have to use the tfk to find out about it Flano.
I’ll fight the good fight. The Department head has been alerted to the discontent amongst the Aristocrats in the department and a bloody coo is being organised.
For a man who’s a self-proclaimed obsessive about spelling, that’s a cracking spelling of “coo” there Flano.
I hold my hands up there Rocko http://www.thefreekick.com/vbforum/images/icons/icon11.gif.
“a bloody coup”
I thought it was just me. Gone off Darcy altogether since he popped himself into yer wan with the witches nose. And what’s worse is he’s living in sin with her and a sprog in tow. As I’d be devoutely religious, this disappointed me hugely.
Would listen to Radio one every morning. Hate Tubridy, (on tv and radio) but I can get past him. Hate Pat Kenny on TV, but feck, he’s good on the radio. And Ronan Collins is good too for a bit off diverse music. Have to turn off then when it comes to Joe Duffy. Switch to Newstalk and listen to Moncrieff then-who’s always slagging someone or something. And he gets some fella in on a friday to talk about and taste beers from all over the world. Moncrieff was locked one friday and started taking the piss all round him.