Its a bit of an issue in work. Me and Flano are sick of 98fm and dermot and dave and toll trolls. Today Fm clearly the better station. Play great music, has gift grub and better djs. Its getting to the point of the radio being changed a few times a day.
Classic when one of the lads came in yesterday, he announced to the room “Bloody station changed again. Fookin sick of the tool trolls or whatever shite they have. And them Dermot and Dave eejits.”
Why anyone would listen to 98FM is beyond me. Dave’s an alright bloke though - decent 110m hurdler back in the day.
Tough time at the moment though. He’s in action up the four courts.
I think both stations are crap. However, 98FM would be some way ahead of TodayFM on the crapness scale though.
Have to say that I like Matt Cooper on Today Fm and I don’t mind Tom Dunne although he’s not in the same class as Dave Fanning was.
Apart from that Today FM has nothing going for it. I think Gift Grub is extremely overrated and not funny at all.
98FM - well what can I say? Muck.
Agreed Farmer, apart from the unnecessary praise for Fanning. Matt Cooper is head and shoulders above Mary Wilson and George Hook. That’s the only real time I’d listen to Today FM but if I was compelled to listen to either one of the two stations at any time I’d choose Today FM, even when Ray D’Arcy is on and I can’t stand him.
If you had to listen to 98FM it makes Today Fm seem immense
Ray D’Arcy - now there’s someone who was grand as a Den presenter and then for the initial stage of his radio career but has since become an awful uppity arsehole who’s designated himself as the voice of the nation just because he’s competing successfully with Gerry Ryan or some other fooking idiot over on Radio One. He’s also had a kid with the incredibly annoying bint who sits in on the show with him (apparently to add banter) - if you go to the TodayFM website you can see how ugly she is - and spends most of his shows these days sharing sweet tales of fatherhood. Get over yourself, you little dwarf bastard - half the male population of the country are probably fathers and we don’t care if your kid pissed on you during a nappy change. And as for asking the Texas Rose down in Tralee last year what her opinion on the death penalty was…Christ, what a dickhead.
Top bombing by Bandage in this thread, they’re both shite for various reasons most of which should be obvious to anyone who values their time.
Granted you think both are shite. Which one is better though?
It’s like asking which you think is hotter - Gail or Deirdre from Coronation Street?
A bit harsh on Today FM - Rita or Deirdre?
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]It’s like asking which you think is hotter - Gail or Deirdre from Coronation Street?
A bit harsh on Today FM - Rita or Deirdre?[/quote]
No it’s not.
Today FM all the way, just listening to Fenton at the moment bang out the new tune from Goldfrapp, A&E. You’d never get class tunes like that on 98FM Dublin’s Best Scum Bag Mix!! As for breakfast radio, Ann Marie Kelly and Ian Dempsey beat the arse off all the simular competition.
The simular competition?
Dermo, Dave and the morning crew? Really and truly, godawful stuff.
I forgot that fooking arsehole Tony “I’m good pals with Jim Corr” Fenton is on TodayFM these days. That drags 98FM right back into contention as far as I’m concerned.
I was talking more on a national scale Flano, 2FMs Colin and Jim Jim, nough said!!
It’s not a good reflection on Dublin’s society that only 10% approx of radio listeners listen to Dempsey while 40% approx listen to the Dublin stations 98FM and FM104.
I used to feel like that Bandage, but then I realised the competition at that hour is stations that cut most of their RnB and Pop playlisted songs in half so they can fit more songs in, without realising if they didn’t play an annoying minute long promo telling their Dublin based scum bag auidence that they are the best Dublin station, they wouldn’t have to cut their songs in half (98fm and FM104) and Rick O’very annoying voice O’Shey (2FM). Or God forbid Derek are ya sure he’s not a queer Mooney(Radio 1)
I’m a todayfm man full time at the moment, enjoy the morning show, the ray d’arcy show, the last word, the sunday business show, premiership saturday. I am however contemplating defecting (probably to my iPod) because of three people in particular. 1. Emily Tully who does the news in the morning, annoying voiced bimbo who always has to tack on some sh!t story to the end of the news like what the perfect boyfriend has been scientifically defined as. 2. Paul Collins who does the sport in the morning, you’re not funny no matter how much you bang on about Coppers and all that you fat pr!ck. 3. Ray Foley - no explanation required.
Would never contemplate changing to a Dublin knacker station. Hopefully with technology improving I will be able to listen to Southeastradio.com in a more portable fashion.
If we’re suggesting alternatives then Raidio na Life (around 107 I think) has some quality music - some of it can be a bit shit but you get great stuff from time to time.
Also Phatom isn’t all bad. It’s not the legendary station it was made out to be but it has some good tunes.