[quote=“Pikeman”]I was approached by 2 teachers when I was in school to play Rugby for the local club when I was about 17//18. We played rugby on sports days and a bit of PE I think and I was handy enough with the ball.
I went up to the club anyway and the manager looks me up and down and says “Right, you look like a second row”. Back then I hadn’t a clue what that was so I said I’d give it a go.
We were practicing a scrum and yer man in the front row hands me a bit of his jersey between his legs. I grabbed on but it felt way too weird with my wrist rubbing off his sack and my head pressing near his backside. And then lifting in the lineout I had to hold his legs/arse area.
Feck this says I and I told the coach I’d rather play out on the wing or in the centre as I’d have a decent kick as well. But he said they’d loads of cover for all those positions.
I left it at that-my one and only experience of proper rugby. All seemed a bit gay in the scrum.
Still love watching the game though.[/quote]
This happens a lot in Ireland. If you are even slightly bigger than average your a forward, otherwise your a back . That is why we have no massive backs in the country. IN Ireland jauzion would have been fucked into the second row like you and never showed up again.
I would hope things have changed a bit at this stage in this regard
[quote=“dancarter”]oh this fucking prick thinks knows what hes on about alright, hes been banging this drum for years and years.
If nothing else he deserves credit for perseverance in the face of overwhelming evidence[/quote]
Look at this mucksavage, a typical example of the bogtrotter I was refering to previously. A social climber trying to ingratiate himself into the upper echelons of Irish society, hence this outburst and the need to defend his actions, poor sod. Little does he realise, that his betters in the club house laugh up their sleeves at his clumsy attempts.
They always loose their temper when this is pointed out to them.
[quote=“Billy Wright”]Look at this mucksavage, a typical example of the bogtrotter I was refering to previously. A social climber trying to ingratiate himself into the upper echelons of Irish society, hence this outburst and the need to defend his actions, poor sod. Little does he realise, that his betters in the club house laugh up their sleeves at his clumsy attempts.
They always loose their temper when this is pointed out to them.[/quote]
[quote=“Billy Wright”]Look at this mucksavage, a typical example of the bogtrotter I was refering to previously. A social climber trying to ingratiate himself into the upper echelons of Irish society, hence this outburst and the need to defend his actions, poor sod. Little does he realise, that his betters in the club house laugh up their sleeves at his clumsy attempts.
They always loose their temper when this is pointed out to them.[/quote]
Sad to see the way Munster Rugby has become infested with Muldoon hanger ons over the last 5 or 6 years, still, a necessary evil, there is a certain old world charm in clueless bog trotters trying to attach themselves to the sophistication and success of the landed gentry
;)[quote=“Billy Wright”]Sad to see the way Munster Rugby has become infested with Muldoon hanger ons over the last 5 or 6 years, still, a necessary evil, there is a certain old world charm in clueless bog trotters trying to attach themselves to the sophistication and success of the landed gentry[/quote]
You are forgetting that at schools and junior level, quite a few 6ft plus guys were thrown on the wings after Jonah came on the scene. Ball never went past 12 or 13(Depending on who the crash ball merchant in the team was) so the 11 or 14 had to cut inside to get the ball, and ended up just taking on crash ball anyway. Most if not all ended up back in the scrums.
The article in question was from the Irish Times of 30/01/2001.
An article by him from 27/04/1998 under the heading “Religious support of bigotry of ugly sisters” gives a quirky and betimes sad insight into the on-going differences between the two Glasgow soccer protagonists.
The phrase “Triclolours trailed from bulging waists” clicked with me for some reason.
All contained in the book strangely called “Booked” (selected writings) containing about 70 articles from 1993-2003.
Said tome is in my possession.
[quote=“Boxtyeater”]The article in question was from the Irish Times of 30/01/2001.
An article by him from 27/04/1998 under the heading “Religious support of bigotry of ugly sisters” gives a quirky and betimes sad insight into the on-going differences between the two Glasgow soccer protagonists.
The phrase “Triclolours trailed from bulging waists” clicked with me for some reason.
All contained in the book strangely called “Booked” (selected writings) containing about 70 articles from 1993-2003.
Said tome is in my possession.[/quote]
any chance of scanning that up boxty - a few celtic fans who like the GGA too think he is deadly - that article might get them to reasses- is he writing about a game vs hibs - if so im stil seething about the fat cunts arrogance & plumpness on the plane on the trip over- absolutely seething
What do you think ncc - none. I can barely work this thing.
The articles date should enable techno-wizards to re-print it, I imagine. The specific article was for a Celtic v Rangers joust.
Even I know Hibs are based in Edinburgh. A line or 2 that might appeal to your good self:
“Outside Celtic Park many of the scarves and flags still suggest in three words of Irish that our day will come”
“We have no immense floodlit cathedrals of the game; indeed the GAA posses at least two dozen grounds more impressive than the best appointed League of Ireland precinct”
“The seats are ripped out and the toilets are broken and, all in all, those bluenose Rangers fans are unreconstructed savages”.
[quote=“Boxtyeater”]any chance of scanning that up boxty
What do you think ncc - none. I can barely work this thing.
The articles date should enable techno-wizards to re-print it, I imagine. The specific article was for a Celtic v Rangers joust.
Even I know Hibs are based in Edinburgh. A line or 2 that might appeal to your good self:
“Outside Celtic Park many of the scarves and flags still suggest in three words of Irish that our day will come”
“We have no immense floodlit cathedrals of the game; indeed the GAA posses at least two dozen grounds more impressive than the best appointed League of Ireland precinct”
“The seats are ripped out and the toilets are broken and, all in all, those bluenose Rangers fans are unreconstructed savages”.[/quote]
first quote one is grand - TAL indeed
the second quote highlights how taxpayers money has been squandered on white elephant GGA stadiums around Ireland- How many 50k stadiums do they need in munster considering they get drowds of 50k once or twice a year- Nolan park is a concert stadium first & a GGA stadium second
the third quote is pretty gay by humphries
Do you recall the night when:
“For some long heavy minutes, the golden thread seemed broken.
A long visceral howl of spite rent the northern skies as one, Jimmy Quinn, rustled the Republic’s net with a sweet volley as the game lay three quarters dead.
The Sash My Father Wore rang around the ground. Nobody, it seemed, was going anywhere but home next summer”.
McLoughlin scores and “one apiece and all the news from Seville was good news. Southern fists silently punctured the air. Out of hiding came the faithful, eyes fixed greedily on America”.
Courtesy of Boxty and Irish Times 18/11/1993. Get the book - some of the material would cause tremendous “ball-hopping”.
If anybody wants to borrow it, it can be arranged.
a good solid punch in fatboy’s mealy mouth should suffice and as from his obsession with underage girls camogie: it’s not the winning, it’s the taking part,