Tom Humphries is a good writer. Good sports writers rarely lose it in the same way that someone like Liam Hayes will never be any good no matter how hard he tries. I know a good mix of rugby lads and the way Iād put it is this: Private school tosspots still play rugby, but more and more ordinary lads now do as well.
Humphries is a bloated version of a once decent sportswriter. Heās disappeared up his own hole.
Donāt think so, Iāve got a collection of his columns and he was writing about his dislike of rugby and golf way back. There were points of merit in his article but in general I think itās a bit of a WUM, Iām sure he knew heād take stick for it. Humphries isnāt the only one who has written a piece like this, Myersā piss-poor piece, Vincent Browne and D Walsh have written similarly critical pieces. You also see a fair share of anti rugby sentiment on the GAA websites (not all of it from gobshites).
I think something to bear in mind for some of ye younger lads is that for fellas of Humphries era rugby was like thatā¦ I listened to plenty rugby snobs from Limerick looking down their nose at GAA and some of their fellow Limerick clubs when I was a kid. If some lads have a chip on their shoulder about rugby itās not necessarily without reason. Thereās a GAA club in every parish in the country wheras thereās large parts of the country where the IRFU never bothered their hole, thankfully thatās changing now- thereās even a club in KIB, West Clare which is well supported by the IRFU. But I get the feeling that if the game hadnāt turned pro and the Heineken Cup hadnāt taken off the IRFU probably wouldnāt have changed- the need for funds and growing demand from provincial supporters has spurred the IRFU on more than any missionary zeal to spread the game.
I dont doubt all of that, but I used to love reading him back in the day, now its just āmehā. Heās lost something for me, his constant bleating on about the rugby just reinforces that for me. Next week heāll be talking shite about the vinnys camogie team.
[quote=āGeorgy Comerfordā]
I think something to bear in mind for some of ye younger lads is that for fellas of Humphries era rugby was like thatā¦ I listened to plenty rugby snobs from Limerick looking down their nose at GAA and some of their fellow Limerick clubs when I was a kid. If some lads have a chip on their shoulder about rugby itās not necessarily without reason. Thereās a GAA club in every parish in the country wheras thereās large parts of the country where the IRFU never bothered their hole, thankfully thatās changing now- thereās even a club in KIB, West Clare which is well supported by the IRFU. But I get the feeling that if the game hadnāt turned pro and the Heineken Cup hadnāt taken off the IRFU probably wouldnāt have changed- the need for funds and growing demand from provincial supporters has spurred the IRFU on more than any missionary zeal to spread the game.[/quote]
100% right there georgy.
Fact! ?
[quote=āGeorgy Comerfordā]Donāt think so, Iāve got a collection of his columns and he was writing about his dislike of rugby and golf way back. There were points of merit in his article but in general I think itās a bit of a WUM, Iām sure he knew heād take stick for it. Humphries isnāt the only one who has written a piece like this, Myersā piss-poor piece, Vincent Browne and D Walsh have written similarly critical pieces. You also see a fair share of anti rugby sentiment on the GAA websites (not all of it from gobshites).
I think something to bear in mind for some of ye younger lads is that for fellas of Humphries era rugby was like thatā¦ I listened to plenty rugby snobs from Limerick looking down their nose at GAA and some of their fellow Limerick clubs when I was a kid. If some lads have a chip on their shoulder about rugby itās not necessarily without reason. Thereās a GAA club in every parish in the country wheras thereās large parts of the country where the IRFU never bothered their hole, thankfully thatās changing now- thereās even a club in KIB, West Clare which is well supported by the IRFU. But I get the feeling that if the game hadnāt turned pro and the Heineken Cup hadnāt taken off the IRFU probably wouldnāt have changed- the need for funds and growing demand from provincial supporters has spurred the IRFU on more than any missionary zeal to spread the game.[/quote]
That surely is irrelevant to this argument? Your probably quite right. The game is now run by professionals in this country as well which has probably changed the focus, fellas arenāt devising grand strategies in the evening after work over a few pints anymore. And that isnt just confined to Ireland. Look at the sevens tournaments, many many non traditional nations playing and doing well in these comps.
TOM HUMPHRIES
LOCKER ROOM : As the Mother of All Derbies threatens to unfold next weekend, decent Irish folk are offered an alternative
IRISHMEN AND Irishwomen, in the name of God and of the dead generations from which she receives her old tradition of nationhood, Ireland, through us, asks, is there no bloody end to the rugby? In these dark times when our traditional way of life is threatened and when those of us who clung to the old ways and values are either pitied or told to get on board the bus and have a pinty, the members of Rugby, What Rugby are pleased to announce a series of Symposia, Workshops, Demonstrations and Colloquium for those seeking serenity and escape next weekend as the so called Mother of All Derbies unfolds like a trough of depressing weather.
As the ancient clubs of Munster and Leinster, (The Salts and The Toffs, The Dockers and The Doctors call them what you will) those feuding tribes whose derbies have of course been a central feature of Irish life since pre-famine times, join once more in battle why not join us, your fellow backwoods people and some invited inbreds, ingrates and relics of the past, people too vulgar to be spoken of, except in ridicule, by the degenerate dandies of the day, on a weekend retreat. Rugby, What Rugby is proud to offer a haven of learning and contemplation away from the hectoring of the RT rugby panel.
Our Aran Islands venue shall be alive with the old traditional pastimes about which Archbishop Croke wrote so lovingly in his letter. Leaping in various ways, wrestling, handy-grips, top-pegging, leap-frog, rounders, tip-in-the-hat, and all such favourite exercises and amusements amongst men and boys plus some other stuff which outsiders donāt need to know about. Guests will be able to choose also from the following lectures and workshops. Vaccines, Immunity and Wellbeing Workshop. When iodine tablets just arenāt enough: George Hook. Is he contagious?
What to do if you suspect that you have come into contact with Hook or a carrier. The workshop shall begin with an open discussion led by pioneers in the area of immune response to BOD and associated Hubermans.
If you find yourself becoming inordinately drawn to BOD or Hubermans this forum canāt offer a cure but can help prevent you making others catatonic with boredom.
Also natural, discreet and non-invasive remedies for those who suffer from the embarrassment of Popey Intervention Strategies and Behaviour Modification.
What to do if a loved one or a work colleague ācomes outā to you about an unnatural interest in ROGās kicking stats or if without warning he or she starts wearing a Munster jersey causing distress and embarrassment to you and your family. Is an intervention enough? Especially in case where the victim hasnāt even gone to college? Are exorcisms effective long-term treatment or is there a responsibility to compassionately shoot a loved one who is clearly not the person he or she once was. (We say she because tragically rugby affects women too.)
Cognitive Limitations to The Understanding of Tom McGurk.
Details to be announced but the session, the first in our Scorn Not His Simplicity Series, includes rigorous comparative analysis with the life and works of Billo and Dessie plus detailed research findings from anthropologists who have pinpointed how and when rugby made it socially and morally permissible for presenters, panellists and commentators to simultaneously achieve orgasm while on air during rugby games.
Foam Hands and Leprechauns, the Mark of Maturity? As a nation we endured the cos ar bolg, the tyranny, the plantations and Simon Cowell for many centuries before rugby lost patience and intervened to mature us. Our epoch-making game of rugby against England in Croke Park gave a nation the chance to grow up by means of making an obscenely big deal out of treating the entire thing as absolutely no big deal, thatās correct, NO big deal whatsoever. For this we are all grateful.
Yet there are those of us in Irish society who have been left behind. We sad few who still donāt feel as grown up as everybody else are outsiders in a land where giving out about the Brits is no longer popular or profitable, a land where big green foam hands and men dressed as leprechauns is considered sophisticated.
Starting with a reading by an actual foam-handed leprechaun of Come Out Ye Gentle Black and Tans the symposium shall invite challenges to the prevailing orthodoxy.
Moderator: Oliver Cromwell.
Fourth!!! Restoring Geographical Parameters in an Ovoid World: Our keynote speaker Vasco da Gama will present first hand and credible testimony as to the actual size of the world from people who have been there and bought keyrings. Mr da Gama will present evidence which will put into challenging perspective the news that Ireland is now fourth in the world at rugby. Many RWR members have sought advice on mannerly ways of dealing with the news that Ireland has attained such a standing and have said they no longer feel comfortable with the traditional shrug of the shoulders, the rolling of the eyes and merely asking is that fourth place counting that unfortunate Uruguayan team who had to eat each other and slipped to fifth? Cartographers will explain about the small fragment of Europe which tries to play the game and the three Southern Hemisphere countries who are actually good at it.
Advanced students with a special interest in this field are invited to an evening time colloquium, Swallowing the Heino, at which speakers and contributors will informally consider the hitherto unchallenged notion that winning the Heino makes you European champions. Convincing evidence will be heard that the The Council of Europe has 47 member states. Six of these states put teams into the Heino. Teams from three of these six countries have won the Heino. Six countries.
That means the Heino isnāt refreshing the parts that others sports reach. Champions of 8 per cent of Europe. The European weightlifting championships in Bucharest some weeks ago drew representatives from 24 countries. The European beach volleyball tour (118 million viewers last season) has reps of 20 European countries. Donāt go there with the hoops and the ice hockey.
Tectonic Plate Shifts in Global History. Did Rugby Really Make Them Happen? From the greatest ever day in Irish sport to the greatest ever recital of The Fields of Athenry . From the miracle of the maturation of an entire nation to the sweeping awfulness of Irelandās Call, from the crucifixion of Jesus to 9/11, academics and media experts now believe that in its own quiet way rugby has been the driving force of world history. Especially Irish rugby. Munster rugby. Limerick rugby.
If youād like to hear an alternative view from a man who politely declines to adjure his nationality, who refuses to clap hands for joy at the sight of the Union Jack, and wonāt place āEnglandās bloody redā exultingly above āthe greenā apply online for tickets immediately.
Aye, I flicked through that earlier, its pretty pathetic stuff at this stage would you not agree?
[quote=āmyboyblueā]Aye, I flicked through that earlier, its pretty pathetic stuff at this stage would you not agree?
No, no i wouldnāt
This week will go down in history for this country. Rugby, the heartbeat of the Nation will take over everyones hearts and minds.
Iād agree with you, pathetic stuff, and boring. Heās ruined a good name.
Some valid points raised.
The weightlifting one was particularly interesting.
Its been a long time since Humphries had a good name.
[quote=āthedancingbabyā]TOM HUMPHRIES
LOCKER ROOM : As the Mother of All Derbies threatens to unfold next weekend, decent Irish folk are offered an alternative
IRISHMEN AND Irishwomen, in the name of God and of the dead generations from which she receives her old tradition of nationhood, Ireland, through us, asks, is there no bloody end to the rugby? In these dark times when our traditional way of life is threatened and when those of us who clung to the old ways and values are either pitied or told to get on board the bus and have a pinty, the members of Rugby, What Rugby are pleased to announce a series of Symposia, Workshops, Demonstrations and Colloquium for those seeking serenity and escape next weekend as the so called Mother of All Derbies unfolds like a trough of depressing weather.
As the ancient clubs of Munster and Leinster, (The Salts and The Toffs, The Dockers and The Doctors call them what you will) those feuding tribes whose derbies have of course been a central feature of Irish life since pre-famine times, join once more in battle why not join us, your fellow backwoods people and some invited inbreds, ingrates and relics of the past, people too vulgar to be spoken of, except in ridicule, by the degenerate dandies of the day, on a weekend retreat. Rugby, What Rugby is proud to offer a haven of learning and contemplation away from the hectoring of the RT rugby panel.
Our Aran Islands venue shall be alive with the old traditional pastimes about which Archbishop Croke wrote so lovingly in his letter. Leaping in various ways, wrestling, handy-grips, top-pegging, leap-frog, rounders, tip-in-the-hat, and all such favourite exercises and amusements amongst men and boys plus some other stuff which outsiders dont need to know about. Guests will be able to choose also from the following lectures and workshops. Vaccines, Immunity and Wellbeing Workshop. When iodine tablets just arent enough: George Hook. Is he contagious?
What to do if you suspect that you have come into contact with Hook or a carrier. The workshop shall begin with an open discussion led by pioneers in the area of immune response to BOD and associated Hubermans.
If you find yourself becoming inordinately drawn to BOD or Hubermans this forum cant offer a cure but can help prevent you making others catatonic with boredom.
Also natural, discreet and non-invasive remedies for those who suffer from the embarrassment of Popey Intervention Strategies and Behaviour Modification.
What to do if a loved one or a work colleague comes out to you about an unnatural interest in ROGs kicking stats or if without warning he or she starts wearing a Munster jersey causing distress and embarrassment to you and your family. Is an intervention enough? Especially in case where the victim hasnt even gone to college? Are exorcisms effective long-term treatment or is there a responsibility to compassionately shoot a loved one who is clearly not the person he or she once was. (We say she because tragically rugby affects women too.)
Cognitive Limitations to The Understanding of Tom McGurk.
Details to be announced but the session, the first in our Scorn Not His Simplicity Series, includes rigorous comparative analysis with the life and works of Billo and Dessie plus detailed research findings from anthropologists who have pinpointed how and when rugby made it socially and morally permissible for presenters, panellists and commentators to simultaneously achieve orgasm while on air during rugby games.
Foam Hands and Leprechauns, the Mark of Maturity? As a nation we endured the cos ar bolg, the tyranny, the plantations and Simon Cowell for many centuries before rugby lost patience and intervened to mature us. Our epoch-making game of rugby against England in Croke Park gave a nation the chance to grow up by means of making an obscenely big deal out of treating the entire thing as absolutely no big deal, thats correct, NO big deal whatsoever. For this we are all grateful.
Yet there are those of us in Irish society who have been left behind. We sad few who still dont feel as grown up as everybody else are outsiders in a land where giving out about the Brits is no longer popular or profitable, a land where big green foam hands and men dressed as leprechauns is considered sophisticated.
Starting with a reading by an actual foam-handed leprechaun of Come Out Ye Gentle Black and Tans the symposium shall invite challenges to the prevailing orthodoxy.
Moderator: Oliver Cromwell.
Fourth!!! Restoring Geographical Parameters in an Ovoid World: Our keynote speaker Vasco da Gama will present first hand and credible testimony as to the actual size of the world from people who have been there and bought keyrings. Mr da Gama will present evidence which will put into challenging perspective the news that Ireland is now fourth in the world at rugby. Many RWR members have sought advice on mannerly ways of dealing with the news that Ireland has attained such a standing and have said they no longer feel comfortable with the traditional shrug of the shoulders, the rolling of the eyes and merely asking is that fourth place counting that unfortunate Uruguayan team who had to eat each other and slipped to fifth? Cartographers will explain about the small fragment of Europe which tries to play the game and the three Southern Hemisphere countries who are actually good at it.
Advanced students with a special interest in this field are invited to an evening time colloquium, Swallowing the Heino, at which speakers and contributors will informally consider the hitherto unchallenged notion that winning the Heino makes you European champions. Convincing evidence will be heard that the The Council of Europe has 47 member states. Six of these states put teams into the Heino. Teams from three of these six countries have won the Heino. Six countries.
That means the Heino isnt refreshing the parts that others sports reach. Champions of 8 per cent of Europe. The European weightlifting championships in Bucharest some weeks ago drew representatives from 24 countries. The European beach volleyball tour (118 million viewers last season) has reps of 20 European countries. Dont go there with the hoops and the ice hockey.
Tectonic Plate Shifts in Global History. Did Rugby Really Make Them Happen? From the greatest ever day in Irish sport to the greatest ever recital of The Fields of Athenry . From the miracle of the maturation of an entire nation to the sweeping awfulness of Irelands Call, from the crucifixion of Jesus to 9/11, academics and media experts now believe that in its own quiet way rugby has been the driving force of world history. Especially Irish rugby. Munster rugby. Limerick rugby.
If youd like to hear an alternative view from a man who politely declines to adjure his nationality, who refuses to clap hands for joy at the sight of the Union Jack, and wont place Englands bloody red exultingly above the green apply online for tickets immediately.[/quote]
Egotistical drivel for the most part. The final four paragraphs are excellent though. A pity he had to fill up the rest with such shite.
just a questionā¦what makes a rugby player āa good footballerā?..I hear pundits talking about certain players in these terms and i can safely say I never saw some of the players ever kick a ballā¦while they are gutsy and courageous and with their big arms can pull an opponent to the ground I donāt see how they can be described as a good footballerā¦
Thats a fair point scumpot. I believe its a reference to the games full name, ārugby footballā. There is a fair amount of kicking of the ball with the foot in the game however, be it from set plays, kicking for touch, garryowens, chip kicks, or cross field kicks.
You should look up Geordan Murphyās āsoloā on youtube, then youāll see an example of good footballer.
[quote=āmyboyblueā]Thats a fair point scumpot. I believe its a reference to the games full name, ārugby footballā. There is a fair amount of kicking of the ball with the foot in the game however, be it from set plays, kicking for touch, garryowens, chip kicks, or cross field kicks.
You should look up Geordan Murphyās āsoloā on youtube, then youāll see an example of good footballer.[/quote]
iād recognise murphy as a good footballer myself but its not his type iām talking aboutā¦ heard donal lenihan calling david wallace one and also before i heard someone call leamy oneā¦
Leamy cant even catch the ball properly FFS. Rugby in Ireland is for lads who arent good enough to make it in GAA, soccer or tug of war.
I guess theyāre referring to the skils needed to play rugby football moreso than anything. Lenihan wouldnt have played much other football, to when he refers to football skills, he meaqns rugby football skills.
Leamys handwork in scoring v England in Twickenham off the English lineout showed he does indeed have the skills of a good rugby footballer. Heās also known for great footwork and control of the ball at the bottom of a scrum, something Wallace does pretty well too.