Tom Humphries on the Grand Slam

Not a fan of Tom H. Have i ever mentioned the airplane incident?

but on this issue he is right

[quote=“north county corncrake”]Not a fan of Tom H. Have i ever mentioned the airplane incident?

but on this issue he is right[/quote]

Pray do tell? Think I may have heard it, but not so sure?

As for this article, its lashed on pretty heavily, pretty petty to be honest.

[quote=“north county corncrake”]Not a fan of Tom H. Have i ever mentioned the airplane incident?

but on this issue he is right[/quote]

Tell it again, its quite entertaining.

bollo*…its a game for hardy bast*rds who want to be a professional athlete and make a few quid…You’d have to have massive respect for the players…
Its some the fans and the tossers who cling onto rugby clubs in general that i find hard to stomach…

he groped me on an aer lingus plane before:mad:

[quote=“scumpot”]bollo*…its a game for hardy bast*rds who want to be a professional athlete and make a few quid…You’d have to have massive respect for the players…
Its some the fans and the tossers who cling onto rugby clubs in general that i find hard to stomach…[/quote]

I wouldnt read too much into what kib has to say on the ol rugger scumpot, sounds like he got pantsed by a few good ol rugby boys back in the day.

And how did that make you feel?

[quote=“thedancingbaby”]TOM HUMPHRIES
LOCKER ROOM : As the Mother of All Derbies threatens to unfold next weekend, decent Irish folk are offered an alternative

IRISHMEN AND Irishwomen, in the name of God and of the dead generations from which she receives her old tradition of nationhood, Ireland, through us, asks, is there no bloody end to the rugby? In these dark times when our traditional way of life is threatened and when those of us who clung to the old ways and values are either pitied or told to get on board the bus and have a pinty, the members of Rugby, What Rugby are pleased to announce a series of Symposia, Workshops, Demonstrations and Colloquium for those seeking serenity and escape next weekend as the so called Mother of All Derbies unfolds like a trough of depressing weather.

As the ancient clubs of Munster and Leinster, (The Salts and The Toffs, The Dockers and The Doctors call them what you will) those feuding tribes whose derbies have of course been a central feature of Irish life since pre-famine times, join once more in battle why not join us, your fellow backwoods people and some invited inbreds, ingrates and relics of the past, people too vulgar to be spoken of, except in ridicule, by the degenerate dandies of the day, on a weekend retreat. Rugby, What Rugby is proud to offer a haven of learning and contemplation away from the hectoring of the RT rugby panel.

Our Aran Islands venue shall be alive with the old traditional pastimes about which Archbishop Croke wrote so lovingly in his letter. Leaping in various ways, wrestling, handy-grips, top-pegging, leap-frog, rounders, tip-in-the-hat, and all such favourite exercises and amusements amongst men and boys plus some other stuff which outsiders dont need to know about. Guests will be able to choose also from the following lectures and workshops. Vaccines, Immunity and Wellbeing Workshop. When iodine tablets just arent enough: George Hook. Is he contagious?

What to do if you suspect that you have come into contact with Hook or a carrier. The workshop shall begin with an open discussion led by pioneers in the area of immune response to BOD and associated Hubermans.

If you find yourself becoming inordinately drawn to BOD or Hubermans this forum cant offer a cure but can help prevent you making others catatonic with boredom.

Also natural, discreet and non-invasive remedies for those who suffer from the embarrassment of Popey Intervention Strategies and Behaviour Modification.

What to do if a loved one or a work colleague comes out to you about an unnatural interest in ROGs kicking stats or if without warning he or she starts wearing a Munster jersey causing distress and embarrassment to you and your family. Is an intervention enough? Especially in case where the victim hasnt even gone to college? Are exorcisms effective long-term treatment or is there a responsibility to compassionately shoot a loved one who is clearly not the person he or she once was. (We say she because tragically rugby affects women too.)

Cognitive Limitations to The Understanding of Tom McGurk.

Details to be announced but the session, the first in our Scorn Not His Simplicity Series, includes rigorous comparative analysis with the life and works of Billo and Dessie plus detailed research findings from anthropologists who have pinpointed how and when rugby made it socially and morally permissible for presenters, panellists and commentators to simultaneously achieve orgasm while on air during rugby games.

Foam Hands and Leprechauns, the Mark of Maturity? As a nation we endured the cos ar bolg, the tyranny, the plantations and Simon Cowell for many centuries before rugby lost patience and intervened to mature us. Our epoch-making game of rugby against England in Croke Park gave a nation the chance to grow up by means of making an obscenely big deal out of treating the entire thing as absolutely no big deal, thats correct, NO big deal whatsoever. For this we are all grateful.

Yet there are those of us in Irish society who have been left behind. We sad few who still dont feel as grown up as everybody else are outsiders in a land where giving out about the Brits is no longer popular or profitable, a land where big green foam hands and men dressed as leprechauns is considered sophisticated.

Starting with a reading by an actual foam-handed leprechaun of Come Out Ye Gentle Black and Tans the symposium shall invite challenges to the prevailing orthodoxy.

Moderator: Oliver Cromwell.

Fourth!!! Restoring Geographical Parameters in an Ovoid World: Our keynote speaker Vasco da Gama will present first hand and credible testimony as to the actual size of the world from people who have been there and bought keyrings. Mr da Gama will present evidence which will put into challenging perspective the news that Ireland is now fourth in the world at rugby. Many RWR members have sought advice on mannerly ways of dealing with the news that Ireland has attained such a standing and have said they no longer feel comfortable with the traditional shrug of the shoulders, the rolling of the eyes and merely asking is that fourth place counting that unfortunate Uruguayan team who had to eat each other and slipped to fifth? Cartographers will explain about the small fragment of Europe which tries to play the game and the three Southern Hemisphere countries who are actually good at it.

Advanced students with a special interest in this field are invited to an evening time colloquium, Swallowing the Heino, at which speakers and contributors will informally consider the hitherto unchallenged notion that winning the Heino makes you European champions. Convincing evidence will be heard that the The Council of Europe has 47 member states. Six of these states put teams into the Heino. Teams from three of these six countries have won the Heino. Six countries.

That means the Heino isnt refreshing the parts that others sports reach. Champions of 8 per cent of Europe. The European weightlifting championships in Bucharest some weeks ago drew representatives from 24 countries. The European beach volleyball tour (118 million viewers last season) has reps of 20 European countries. Dont go there with the hoops and the ice hockey.

Tectonic Plate Shifts in Global History. Did Rugby Really Make Them Happen? From the greatest ever day in Irish sport to the greatest ever recital of The Fields of Athenry . From the miracle of the maturation of an entire nation to the sweeping awfulness of Irelands Call, from the crucifixion of Jesus to 9/11, academics and media experts now believe that in its own quiet way rugby has been the driving force of world history. Especially Irish rugby. Munster rugby. Limerick rugby.

If youd like to hear an alternative view from a man who politely declines to adjure his nationality, who refuses to clap hands for joy at the sight of the Union Jack, and wont place Englands bloody red exultingly above the green apply online for tickets immediately.[/QUOTE]

Most of that is utter horseshit. I’m no great lover of plenty of aspects of rugby but it’s a cracking sport and should be judged on its own merits. The narrowmindedness of a GAA supporter suggesting that rugby has limited appeal throughout Europe is foolish beyond belief.`

It’s a particularly Irish and post-colonial obsession to seek justification and praise for our achievements overseas. Well the truth is that rugby isn’t weighlifting and no direct comparison can or should be made. It’s not the most widely played sport in Ireland (much of that is the administrators’ fault) but it is a relatively important part of the Irish sporting culture and 82,000 people at Croke Park confirms that.

I don’t see Munster’s or Ireland’s performances in Europe in anything other than a rugby context. Everyone knows who plays rugby and everyone knows who has been successful at it in recent years. Just as the lack of competitive hurling in Dublin in the last few years doesn’t dull how great Kilkenny hurling has been over that period, likewise the absence of a great Romanian rugby side is no reflection on how good a rugby team Munster currently are.

[quote=“therock67”]Most of that is utter horseshit. I’m no great lover of plenty of aspects of rugby but it’s a cracking sport and should be judged on its own merits. The narrowmindedness of a GAA supporter suggesting that rugby has limited appeal throughout Europe is foolish beyond belief.`

It’s a particularly Irish and post-colonial obsession to seek justification and praise for our achievements overseas. Well the truth is that rugby isn’t weighlifting and no direct comparison can or should be made. It’s not the most widely played sport in Ireland (much of that is the administrators’ fault) but it is a relatively important part of the Irish sporting culture and 82,000 people at Croke Park confirms that.

I don’t see Munster’s or Ireland’s performances in Europe in anything other than a rugby context. Everyone knows who plays rugby and everyone knows who has been successful at it in recent years. Just as the lack of competitive hurling in Dublin in the last few years doesn’t dull how great Kilkenny hurling has been over that period, likewise the absence of a great Romanian rugby side is no reflection on how good a rugby team Munster currently are.[/quote]

great post but one glaring mistake

[quote=“therock67”]Most of that is utter horseshit. I’m no great lover of plenty of aspects of rugby but it’s a cracking sport and should be judged on its own merits. The narrowmindedness of a GAA supporter suggesting that rugby has limited appeal throughout Europe is foolish beyond belief.`

I don’t see Munster’s or Ireland’s performances in Europe in anything other than a rugby context. Everyone knows who plays rugby and everyone knows who has been successful at it in recent years. Just as the lack of competitive hurling in Dublin in the last few years doesn’t dull how great Kilkenny hurling has been over that period, likewise the absence of a great Romanian rugby side is no reflection on how good a rugby team Munster currently are.[/quote]

Attaboy Rocko.

By the way, take a look at the comments here, cracking turns of phrase from the “goys”

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0427/1224245446069.html

[quote=“scumpot”]bollo*…its a game for hardy bast*rds who want to be a professional athlete and make a few quid…You’d have to have massive respect for the players…
Its some the fans and the tossers who cling onto rugby clubs in general that i find hard to stomach…[/quote]

They get too much respect imo. They win a 6 team competition for the first time in about 10 years of playing together. I actually think the Irish side has gone backwards. There a few years ago the likes of BOD and Darcy would run through the likes of Scotland easily. Only against France this year did the Irish side look really threatening. Back then there was also Humphries who could be relied upon to come on and change games, Horgan was a great player for Ireland too, Murphy was at the peak of his powers etc. The players who have replaced them are not of the same quality imo but the side is harder to beat.

John Hayes is a professional athlete. :eek:

The skill levels in rugby are shocking. In the British Isles anyway. BOD is the greatest Irish player ever but cant kick the ball properly. Frankie Sheehan is a professional athlete but yet cant throw the ball straight from a line out. TOL’s ability or lack of the pass the ball correctly is well documented. What do these guys do all day that they cant even perform basic functions.

When they pull together for Ireland I support them but then I remember being drunk a couple of years ago and supporting our cricket team. For our international soccer team to qualify for a major championships is a far greater accolade as its far far more competitive.

[quote=“KIB man”]They get too much respect imo. They win a 6 team competition for the first time in about 10 years of playing together. I actually think the Irish side has gone backwards. There a few years ago the likes of BOD and Darcy would run through the likes of Scotland easily. Only against France this year did the Irish side look really threatening. Back then there was also Humphries who could be relied upon to come on and change games, Horgan was a great player for Ireland too, Murphy was at the peak of his powers etc. The players who have replaced them are not of the same quality imo but the side is harder to beat.

The skill levels in rugby are shocking. In the British Isles anyway. BOD is the greatest Irish player ever but cant kick the ball properly. Frankie Sheehan is a professional athlete but yet cant throw the ball straight from a line out. TOL’s ability or lack of the pass the ball correctly is well documented. What do these guys do all day that they cant even perform basic functions.

When they pull together for Ireland I support them but then I remember being drunk a couple of years ago and supporting our cricket team. For our international soccer team to qualify for a major championships is a far greater accolade as its far far more competitive.[/quote]

[quote=“KIB man”]They get too much respect imo. They win a 6 team competition for the first time in about 10 years of playing together. I actually think the Irish side has gone backwards. There a few years ago the likes of BOD and Darcy would run through the likes of Scotland easily. Only against France this year did the Irish side look really threatening. Back then there was also Humphries who could be relied upon to come on and change games, Horgan was a great player for Ireland too, Murphy was at the peak of his powers etc. The players who have replaced them are not of the same quality imo but the side is harder to beat.

When they pull together for Ireland I support them but then I remember being drunk a couple of years ago and supporting our cricket team. For our international soccer team to qualify for a major championships is a far greater accolade as its far far more competitive.[/quote]

The Clare football championship is also far less competitive than lets say the Kerry, Galway or Dublin championships, yet i don’t think it means any less to you lot.
Obviously ladyball is a far bigger sport in a global sense, but so are more sports compared to my prefered sports, Hurling and Football, doesn’t bother me.
Basically you point is pretty irrelivant.

Id say Toms relentless ‘I hate Rugby’ campaign is working a treat for the IRFU.
Id say he’s on the inside.

Not a bad post but I hate sweeping statements like the one highlighted. What were Irish pre-colonial obsessions like? I can think of one which was to free our native land. In all the horsehit of Humphreys post his final paragraph rings true in this regard certainly.

Also 82,000 in Croke Park is a fine achievement by the IRFU and their marketing people. That’s something that rugby is very good at - selling themselves. However the end product for me is just not great and there is a distinct element of falseness about it. I was at the Heinken Cup final last year and the atmosphere which I thought would be spine tingling was flat and just plain shite. 82,000 in Croke Park for me is as much to do with being seen there and to be able to say you were there rather than actually being a part of Irish sporting culture. In many ways, I see the sudden phenomen of rugby as linked to something like the Eircom floatation or owning a second house.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]The Clare football championship is also far less competitive than lets say the Kerry, Galway or Dublin championships, yet i don’t think it means any less to you lot.
Obviously ladyball is a far bigger sport in a global sense, but so are more sports compared to my prefered sports, Hurling and Football, doesn’t bother me.
Basically you point is pretty irrelivant.[/quote]

The Clare football championship is a pile of shit. Its Croke Park or nothing this year :stuck_out_tongue:

The World Cup is a truly global event. Its brilliant when Ireland are involved and giving our best. Do you think people in Paraguay or Togo have heard of Ireland? Its great when we are there on a world stage competing and winning. Thats what will always sadden me about what happened in Saipan or the current Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid situation. People dont realise how great it is to be part of a World Cup and I think as a small nation we should do our utmost to pull together and show our best.

[quote=“KIB man”]The Clare football championship is a pile of shit. Its Croke Park or nothing this year :stuck_out_tongue:

The World Cup is a truly global event. Its brilliant when Ireland are involved and giving our best. Do you think people in Paraguay or Togo have heard of Ireland? Its great when we are there on a world stage competing and winning. Thats what will always sadden me about what happened in Saipan or the current Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid situation. People dont realise how great it is to be part of a World Cup and I think as a small nation we should do our utmost to pull together and show our best.[/quote]

On the one hand you are arguing that we should all pull together and get behind our country. On the other hand you think your native GAA club championship is a pile of shit and then presumably you wont support it. You also went along to a Heineken Cup final, presumably to jump on the bandwagon, was disappointed with the atmosphere and have therefore written off rugby as a spectacle.

I dont think we should listen to you.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]On the one hand you are arguing that we should all pull together and get behind our country. On the other hand you think your native GAA club championship is a pile of shit and then presumably you wont support it. You also went along to a Heineken Cup final, presumably to jump on the bandwagon, was disappointed with the atmosphere and have therefore written off rugby as a spectacle.

I dont think we should listen to you.[/quote]

Well done sir although you should have realised this a long time ago.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]On the one hand you are arguing that we should all pull together and get behind our country. On the other hand you think your native GAA club championship is a pile of shit and then presumably you wont support it. You also went along to a Heineken Cup final, presumably to jump on the bandwagon, was disappointed with the atmosphere and have therefore written off rugby as a spectacle.

I dont think we should listen to you.[/quote]

Where did I say, I wouldnt support the Clare championship? For a side with KIB’s quality winning a sub standard local championship is still to be applauded and celebrated but the eye needs to be on the bigger picture. The Iberian blood in our players needs to feel the air of Croke Park in the Spring. Croke Park or nothing it is.

Yep was given a free ticket and a lift down to see what all the fuss was about. Lesson learned. EBay from now on with those.

What do you hate? You don’t believe in any of the sociological studies on postcolonialism and the effects they have on the national psyche’s inferiority complex and struggle for recognition, particularly from their former colonists?

Would you care to put forward an alternative theory?

We were rightly concerned with freeing our native land (and indeed some of us still are). Are you suggesting that Irish attitudes to nationality and patriotism have not changed since the 26 counties gained independence?