Tom Humphries on the Grand Slam

donā€™t know if its been posted alreadyā€¦couldnā€™t be arsed checking but Big Reggie C turns the knife on leinster people who canā€™t relate to ā€˜the goysā€™ā€¦

[B]PROVINCEā€™S HUGE SUCCESS CREATES A STRANGE HYBRID FAN
The Munster bandwagon is full of expectant Leinster folk looking for vicarious victory - the ā€˜Lunstersā€™ by Reggie Corrigan

Iā€™ll never forget the hype and the mania and the scramble for tickets before the Leinster v Munster semi-final three years agoā€¦ There was talk back then that if only the GAA would open up Croke Park , weā€™d have had no trouble filling it. Well, three years on, and itā€™s actually happened - and there still arent enough tickets. Iā€™ve been scrounging around same as everyone else. Itā€™s a pain, but itā€™s also wonderful. The rivalry between two great teams and two fantastic groups of supporters is at the heart of what has made Irish rugby great. Thereā€™s just one problem.
Munster 's fantastic success in the past few years has spawned a mutant breed of rugby fan - the Lunsters. They are born, bred, living and working in Leinster but they have turned their back on their own and decided to support the men in red.
I can hear already their yelps of self-satisfaction: Everyone is entitled to support the team of their choice. Yes, but only within reason. Of all the arguments Iā€™ve had with these people over the years - and Iā€™ve had plenty, believe me- Iā€™ve never been convinced.
Whenever Iā€™ve questioned their lack of loyalty to their province their response has always been the same. Munster are more passionate than Leinster . Youā€™re all soft up there in D4. Leinster the Ladyboys. And so on. This is their belief and they cling to it for dear life. The only problem is it isnt remotely based on fact.
For starters, if theyā€™d any real knowledge of the current Leinster squad, theyā€™d know that itā€™s only relationship to Dublin 4 is the location of the stadium. Bernard Jackman comes from Carlow, Shane Horgan and Devin Toner come from Meath, Jamie Heaslipā€™s from Kildare. Gordon Dā€™Arcyā€™s from Wexford. Rob Kearney 's from Louth, Leo Cullen and Luke Fitzgerald from Wicklow. Brian Oā€™Driscollā€™s a northsider but weā€™ll forgive him that. Then, along with the scattering of imports there are Dubs like Shane Jennings, Girvan Dempsey and Malcolm Oā€™Kelly - none of whom come from D4.
And you want to talk about passion? Who had the more passion in 2001 when we beat Munster in the first Celtic League final, despite playing most of the game with 14 men? Who had it in Musgrave and the RDS last season? Who had it on New Yearā€™s Eve 2005? And dont tell me these victories dont count just because they were ā€˜onlyā€™ the Magners League.
Whatever excuse they make for themselves, the basic truth about Lunsters is that theyā€™ve hopped on the Munster bandwagon simply because they want to follow a winning side - just like those Manchester United from four or five years ago who were soon seen wearing Chelsea jerseys when it suited them. I know their existence galls the many thousands of true blue Leinster supporters, whoā€™ll make themselves seen and heard at Croker next Saturday. And the Lunster should know that they also gall the genuine Munster fans. The cling-ons bolster crowds and jersey sales but they also deny the real supporters tickets for marvellous occasions like this one.
Iā€™ve come to the conclusion that Lunsters are basically cowardly. They dont have the courage to stand up and shout for their own province because theyā€™re terrified of being branded soft by association with Leinster . But better, I say, to suffer the possibility of indignity and still be able to look at yourself in the mirror.
Hereā€™s another way of looking at it. just say Leinster achieved a Munster-like success over the next five years. Can you imagine some fella in Bruff sitting on a bar stool in a blue jersey shouting ā€˜Gwan Dricoā€™? Only if he had a death wish.
The game itself? It will be epic, a brilliant day for Irish rugby. Munster will be favourites, and rightly so. Just a word of warning for their followers both genuine and blow-in - remember the value of the underdog tag. As I see it the game will be all about pace and tempo. The way Leinster dogged out a result in Harlequins was very impressive - and disproved all the Ladyboy stuff once again. But they wont beat Munster in a war of attrition. Munster are too good at that. But Leinster need to have a go.
Itā€™s not as if theyā€™re short on attacking talent. Look at that backline and all those Lions. With all that ability, itā€™s almost criminal to ask Leinster backs to spend their day just kicking, chasing and tackling. They need to produce some of the old magic. This will be a close game in all likelihood, probably decided by something special. Why shouldnā€™t it come from Leinster ?
While Leinster back themselves to go toe-to-toe with Munster , I hope they also back their game-breakers and give them a chance. Even if it doesnt work out at least theyā€™ll know they had a cut. That way, they can give their supporters something of which to be proud.
As for the Lunsters, I just wish someone with style and talent would design you a special jersey for the occasion, half-red and half-blueā€¦ Then whenever the television cameras alight, you could turn to one side and shout for whoever is winning. [/B]

that letter has DCs uncle tom hands all over it

Probably wrote it while eating a panini, the cunt!

took twenty minutes off from his job of repossesing peoples homes to write it:mad:

Itā€™s ciabattas these days. I can imagine the caviar dribbling down Reggieā€™s fat quivering chins as he wrote that. The bourgeoise are starting to crack, thereā€™s no doubting it.

[quote=ā€œGeorgy Comerfordā€]http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/letters/2009/0430/1224245681053.html

Madam, Some of your readers may be familiar with a creature often to be found on internet forums, the Wind-Up Merchant (WUM). The WUM takes great pleasure in making deliberately provocative statements with a view to stimulating an angry response. They are unfortunately all too prevalent in cyberspace.

It seems, however, that this odious species has spread its wings and is now appearing in more traditional media outlets. I have noticed, for instance, that one of the occasionally more amusing sports writers of your parish, Mr Tom Humphries, has been replaced by Tom Humphries (WUM), someone given to making snide observations about rugby football, while at the same time extolling the admittedly innumerable virtues of those practising the indigenous sporting pursuits of our island.

Perhaps, whatever steps are necessary could be taken to reinstate the original Mr Humphries in place of Tom Humphries (WUM). I realise, of course, that my D4 address automatically disqualifies me from being taken seriously in this or any other matter, but I suspect Im not the only rugby supporter who feels like this. Yours, etc,

PETER OSULLIVAN,

Cranmer Place,

Ballsbridge,

Dublin 4.[/quote]

Thats Garda Sean Hogan iā€™d say, the yous etc is a give away.

all very contrived from leinster. ridiculous to see them wheel out former players to drum up a bit of passion in the leinster support.

what with the ā€œWe will be checking all leinster seats for red clothingā€ fiasco and now this crap youd have to say they would be better off giving leinster people a genuine reason to support the team instead of telling them to and threatening them to.

The sheer fury with the art of the WUM makes the puke a more probable candidate .

I never wummed in my life:pā€¦NCC can verify this

Article from Reggie is spot on.

i can vouch for this

its all a load of tripe- our west brits are better than your west brits

Itā€™s more a case of how dare our bandwagoners jump on a different bandwagon. If it wasnā€™t for the existence of bandwagoners yeā€™d have about 100 people at yeā€™re matches Reggie. Now shut up like a good lad.

Not reallyā€¦in Dublin the uppercrustā€™s wanted the game for themselvesā€¦So they got it for themselvesā€¦But now they wonder why the masses can relate to Munster moreā€¦ thats bollox imhoā€¦

exact same in munster but the average munster muldoon is more suseptible(sic??) to heinekens marketing than us worldly Dubs

Ah heā€™s right though, there are planty of them just success chasers. The D4 thing comes from the Schools, while alot of the Dā€™Arcys of this world arenā€™t from D4 its the schools that give out that impression. Blackrock old boys and all that. Ok they may have been born in another part of town (BOā€™D), but heā€™s more D4 than anything, same as Dā€™Arcy. Its a cultural thing. Iā€™m sure Dā€™Arcy shouts for Wexford etc, but heā€™s much more like the D4 crowd than he is a wexican.

Note - Iā€™m not sure where they all actually went to school, but the majority were fee-paying Leinster Schools Cup playing institutions.

Leinsterā€™s a little bit like Catalonia in terms of our uniqueness, our culture, heritage, way of life, music, art etc. Someone from Leinster turning their back on the province and openly supporting Munster deserves to be gutted. How can someone, as a Leinster person, not feel an emotional attachment to our province when they breathe in that Eastern Seaboard air? Instead, these clowns apparently feel more affinity with backward boggers with poor hygiene and smelly breath. Reggie Corrigan has some fair points in that sense and Leinster is better off without them.

Bandage needs a new tune.

Bandage does his own thing.

Bandage can defend himself.