Heās just brought in his business partner who appears to be deaf. Theo has offered the full money for 30%. The others laughed him off the stage.
I think itās more a case of difference between the two societies mate. At the weekend, two sportspeople were attacked on the field of play by fans. Over there, the fan is in jail this morning and will be for the next 4 months. Over here, the fan is a local hero and the guards will give him a lift home from the pub because heāll be so pissed from all the free drink he was bought. Itās a colonial hang up but I wouldnāt worry too much about it-tis all just a bit of craic anyway.
When did Paxman stop wearing a tie? Looks weird. Perhaps the new editor is in favour of a more lax dress code.
It looks like heās sick or something. Itās a bit like when Malcom got fired and showed up wearing a cardigan in The Thick of It.
Part of the problem is that he has the top two buttons open. Itās bad enough that a guy hosting a current affairs show doesnāt wear a tie, but opening the second button is a fucking abomination.
Ties are shit. Fuck ties.
The open necked shirt look doesnāt suit scrawny men like Paxman.
I think itās a good point. Panorama didnāt hold back with their documentary at all, even named the BBC execs who refused to appear on the show and gave the BBC cover-up part of the story a very good airing.
i wish i sorted out my tv in timeā¦i miss itā¦
Itās impossible to take a man in a professional (fuck off Fagan) capacity seriously unless they are wearing a tie. The only thing worse than not wearing a tie is wearing some kind of a novelty tie.
The cynic in me says they did it to save face as they knew it was all going to come out anyway but at least they did it.
RTE are in their own little world. All about protecting themselves and patting each other on the back. For a national broadcaster their disconnect from Irish society is immense. I canāt understand how they justify some of the salaries they pay out -they hardly even have competitors!
I think youāre missing the point which is rather than hold their hands up and admit wrongdoing and even investigate it, give it airtime and name the people that screwed up, RTE would prefer to put their heads in the sand and hope it all dies down.
I get the point alright but I donāt think RTE should be held up as a comparative to any establishment that wants to be taken seriously-it is a jokeshop where half the programmes entail interviewing people who work for RTE to get their viewpoint/life story.
anyone watching the all stars.
I thought the standard of the +1s was down this year! one or two heavy heifers in the audience.
Martyās brown nosing of Shefflim must have been tough for the clare folk. asking shefflin to play with clare when he is 44. cringeworthy
It was shocking. Bad every year but especially so this time round. The players looked disinterested and barely cracked a smile. The crowd generally looked like they just wanted the whole thing over ASAP so they could go on the piss.
That horrendous Cheryl Cole music then which accompanied every player as they walked up to collect the award. Awful.
Poor auld TJ Reid had a tough time getting up those steps, a complete nomark like Des Cahill taking the piss out of him hardly helped either.
The Shefflin brown nosing from RTE must be embarrassing for the player himself at this stage.
It was farcicalā¦
Selection was a bit farcical too. Hayes and Moore v lucky to have got awardsā¦ David Burke too for that matter.
Not worth a fcuk unless you have a medal to go with it anyway I guess.
Agree about Burke being lucky KP, thought Richie Hogan deserved that spot.
Hayes & Moore deserved their awards though i thought, nice to see Bugler get 1 too.
The producer of the whole show should be shot with pig shit though, OāSe & Daly were cringe worthy at the start and that Alien Marty was brutal throughout as usual.
The Dessie attempt at humour towards TJ Reid was embarrasing. How long more are this trio of Lyster, Cahill & Marty going to be wheeled out? You could see Shefflin was embarrassed with the line of questioning.
overall it wasnt as bad as previous years though!