Top 3 hurlers of all time

Keher? How fucking auld are you @Locke??

Henry was cleaned out by Brendan Maher. Paidi was on Power

Hogan but no TJ?

It’s like choosing between DJ or Shefflin, DJ every time.

I’ve 8 hours left to kill on this shift so I’ll give this a go

1. Eoin Murphy
  2. Paul Murphy
  3. Noel Hickey
  4. Jackie Tyrrell
  5. Tommy Walsh
  6. Brian Hogan
  7. JJ Delaney
  8. Michael Fennelly
  9. Richie Hogan
  10. Eoin Larkin
  11. Henry Shefflin
  12. TJ Reid
  13. Eddie Brennan
  14. Richie Power
  15. DJ Carey

Ye’ve had a few handy hurlers in fairness

It’s a good thread this. I think lots are confusing the best hurlers they ever saw with the most enjoyable. By enjoyable I mean that you want the ball to be near them for anything was possible to happen then.

JJ is by a mile the best I ever saw. I honestly couldn’t narrow it down to name 2 others.

As for the enjoyable lads who wouldn’t be near the best ever. Big Dan, Paul Shelly, Lar, Mike O Brien ( He was capable of anything. He soloed straight out over the end line in Thurles one day under no pressure), John Troy, McGonigle although I only saw him twice, Cloonan, Leahy. Not too many lads like these in the modern game. Bubbles and Glynn maybe.

A much better set of parameters to be working off. Shefflin would undoubtedly fall into the top 3 but I dunno would I ever have thought of him as really exciting.

@anon32894817 letting himself down with the Callanan bashing.

Callanan comprehensively beat JJ Delaney in '14 particularly the first day which was definitely the worst roasting JJ ever got. It was no surprise JJ retired afterwards.

Callanan was far from poor in nowlan park in 2013 either. Nothing special but scored a few points in a low scoring game.

The '15 semi final performance was phenomenal on a team that was beaten in the 14 other positions.

When Drom Inch needed leadership to win their 1st and only ever county title, Callanan scored 3 from play in the last 15 minutes.

A top, top player.

The great players are judged at key moments in the big games. Three times 09, 14 and 16 Callanan was found to be goal gazing. It cost them 3 all Ireland’s. He was totally cleaned my Richie mc, daithi Burke and jj Delaney. Callanan was a flat track bully.

I would pick Mick Kavanagh ahead of Paul Murphy

case for Martin Comerford over Richie Power?

Callanan cleaned Richie for 2-2 from play in '15

When was he cleaned by JJ? Their only head to head was in 2014 and Callanan comprehensively beat him over 2 games.

2009 he was taken out early on by Tyrell but recovered to score 3 points in the second half.

2015 was his finest hour. An incredible performance of defiance.

2016, he was well held by Daithi Burke alright but didn’t do too bad in the final scoring 9 (nine) points from play.

That was one of the worst limerick team displays ever and Richie was useless that year.

True.

Callanan is top class though imo.

Henry might have his all Irelands, and Eoin Kelly was great over a longer period but neither player could hold a candle to Callinan between 14 and 16. I’ve never seen a forward as lethal. Fuck me he was frightening.

He is as tough as an oul boot also.

1. Doggie :dog2:
  2. Froggie :frog:
  3. Hoggie🐗