Nsis.
Ah here.
Mackey was catching the ball as an u14 in the 1920s ffs. He’d take off on a solo run then, with everyone calling for a free. Mackey changed the game from sticky sticky pull on it shite to the greatest game in the world.
Magic Mick Mackey.
What is your favourite Mick Mackey under-14 performance?
28th May, 1961 when Galway hammered us below in Nenagh. I moved across the border in protest and joined the fledgling Nogra. It turned out to be the only game Galway won in Munster, but I don’t regret it.
He could, be up there alright
A fuck it lads. Is it the end of April or the end of November? Dungeon this shite til the clocks go back.
Lads forget how good a forward Ken was as he ended up centre back. Loved watching him play. Real off the cuff player. While not the greatest one of my favourite to see play. Which reminds me …John Troy … the greatest wrists that ever graced a hurling field
Wtf?
Have you ever seen his hurl? It’s displayed in one of the Flannerys pubs in Limerick. I believe I posted it up here a few years ago and it turned Limerick’s hurling fortunes around.
DJ Carey is by a distance the best stick stick player I’ve ever seen
Kilkenny are my second favourite team
The benchmark
I had Kelly and jj and was mulling over shefflin or canning but went for my County man, bias yes, a great yes
He destroyed Treaty Gaels on his own inside in the Markets Field in a Féile Semi Final. He could catch ball with either hand and solo with either hand on top of the hurley. A magician.
Which AI final was it again that Tyrell had Tipp so rattled that they had Lar Corbett chasing around after Tommy Walsh out of fear in Croke Park? Epic meltdown in fairness. He gets the nod due to that alone.
A great
Yet Limerick didn’t even pick him for the Tony Forristal
He had dirty hands
Never happened
He was hurling Minor at 14 years of age ffs, you couldn’t bring him down to the Forristal, he’d ate lads
Correct, it was an AI semi-final.