He had the nickname “Hacksaw Jim Duggan”
The thing with Mackey lads is we have to go with the people who played with and watched him. Undoubtedly a great and worthy of this thread ffs
Correct, it was the same game where Podrick Maher amputated Michael Rice’s eye*
Not the first time a Tipperary player did that to a Kilkenny player in Croke Park
*May have been a thumb
Twas a semi. Tyrell marked the shite out of Corbett in 11
You could make the same argument about Cuchullain
You could but that would be silly
Not far off the same level as those arguing for Mackey
Old stick stick was shite
Have a look at some clips from All-Ireland finals from the 1960s
1964 and 1966 etc
The skills were rudimentary and half the players looked like they’d just staggered out of a pub
Same with Gah
I’d have Nicholas English over Eoin Kelly tbh.
Ah stop. Much rougher, tough grounds heavier balls. Was Mackey one of the 1st to bring the soloing skill to the game? Seriously though we have to go by what the experts from then tell us.
I just dipped into a random point of this for the craic
12:42
Lolzers
A shit sideline cut
A shit attempt at a point which falls short
Shit goalkeeping, batting the ball out when he could easily have caught the ball
Defender can’t pick the ball up and knocks it over his own endline for a 65
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=779&v=d3iD7rOHiJI
Me too
And I d says Babs would agree with us!
Fox was clutch
The Tipp goalie had some puc off a ball. The first score could have been scored in any era. Quick touch, handpass, monster point by Cleere.
It’s easy pick out a few isolated incidents in a game in any era of any sport to use it to moan about the skill set. Especially a final.
There were some lovely exhibitions of skill in that Sid.
Watched a few minutes there it’s actually entertaining enough fare for an older era. You’d get some air off the ground with the longer, narrower sticks. Much closer to haggis-hockey.
You’d want some strength wielding those hurleys the length of them. You could hook a lad a few yards away
Old stick stick was shite
Pull, miss, scuff, pull again, whack, repeat ad nausuem
The earliest game I’ve seen in full was the 1968 final and it was shit too
The 1970s was the first era where some players didn’t look like they had suddenly staggered out of a pub to play
No, Eoin Kelly for me. Between 03-08 when Tipp were fairly useless he would keep them competitive in games on his own. Some man to take a point heading away from goals
was there some rule that you couldn’t place the ball for a free ? lad just strolled up and struck them without placing them