Top three sporting events you have attended (cc: of Ewan MacKenna)

Didn’t think mayo dublin was all that… .The buzz for about 5 mins after the warm up row was great but apart from that it was Two average enough teams… Dubs raced ahead and then lost their way…

Feck it, going to have look at it later on now.

Limerick FC Cup final v Bohs 1982

Limerick v Wexford in football 2011

All Ireland Rugby game 1993 : St Mary’s College v Young Munster

Dublin-Derry 1993 and Dublin-Armagh 2002 were both genuine classic semi-finals which are often overlooked in these sorts of lists. Derry and Armagh went on to win the finals too.

Jesus it was a thrilling match even as a neutral watching on telly. Fierce amount of twists and turns and drama tight to the end with mcdonalds point and Vaughans free.

Messi (4) v arsenal 1. One of the greatest ever displays by the greatest player of all time.
Dublin v kerry 2011. A neutral but was up for Dublin. Sensational drama.
Dunne v cordoba in the point. Farcically electric atmosphere with a full house of fairly rough clientele all twisted drunk after being out all day watching ireland win the rugby grand slam. Almost comically rockyesque drama in the fight itself too.

This thread is serious like-bait

1. Monaghan v Galway 2018
  2. Ireland v Italy 2016
  3. Aston Villa v Coventry 2001

With semi-finals a lot of how they are viewed later is dependent on the final. If you take Dublin v Mayo 2006 as a stand alone game it was great but historically speaking it lacks that real significance because Mayo were thrashed in the final. Donegal beating Dublin in 2014 is another in this category because Donegal conspired to lose the final to an inferior Kerry team after doing the hard part and beating Dublin. With those two games they’re viewed more through the lens of being significant because Dublin lost them rather than who won them.

That was the sickest I was ever after a Wexford match. 4 points up, a man up and the game nearly over and we still managed to lose. The ref ruling a perfectly good point wide at the very end didn’t help. Fook.

Football: Wexford Meath, the come back game
Hurling Wexford Offaly 1996 Leinster Final
Soccer: Kevin Moran Ireland selection v National Lottery Premier League selection, 1994

Jaysus twas a big night in the town. Several big nights.

Probably definitely the biggest night in GAA circumstances.

I went to Arsenal Barcelona back at the start of the decade when Barca were at their pomp and it was class. Barca were incredible first half but somehow Arsenal scored two goals somewhat against the run of play in the second half to win it. To see Barca’s movement and slick interplay in person was class and Laurent Kosielney of all the players gave an absolute tour de france especially in the first half when Barca were rampant. It was probably the best quality soccer matchI have attended in person

Some occasion . The smallish crowd really engaged though .

Was that the first leg of the game messi scored 4? Bendtner opened the scoring in the second leg but messi had a hat trick by half time

Did your radiator boil over?

Barca won through. I have no recollection of the second leg

Yeah I’ve no recollection of the first leg of my game. I think they played them a couple of years around then.

The night Jack Wilshire ran the show?

He was centre midfield. It was Koscielneys performance I still recall to this day though. Theo Walcott’s ineptitude was also a standout

It wasn’t mine in the first case but the Cork pilot was fairly seething.