Tottenham Hotspur, the Ryan Mason variant

If the signs were there, you were quiet about pointing them out at 2-0. Very easy after the event. You didn’t want Conte, you didn’t want Jose, what exactly do you want? Southgate or some other British coach probably. They won’t sack Ange.

I’ve been saying for months that Big Ange is out of his depth. That’s patently obviously from even a cursory look at a few Spurs matches. In fairness the likes of @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy and @Bandage had it well signposted.

You’ve bigged him up from the off. You even had him pegged down to take over from Guardiola at half time today.

I’m confused. You ordinarily name who they are playing in their full title and say they are playing at a ground they haven’t played in for decades. I assume you have been hacked

He will be in the shake up for the City job as his philosophy is similar to Pep’s, it is just that Pep has a better quality of player to execute it. Look at Arsenal now, the coach implemented a clear style from the off, they backed him and now they are reaping the benefits. This is early year two, he is doing as well as Conte and Jose minus Harry Kane and playing a much better brand of football.

Do they need to defend leads better? Absolutely, but it is night and day in terms of structure compared to the shambles at Old Trafford, or even Newcastle who had absolutely no idea how to break down Everton last night. What Ange is coaching is actually the more difficult side of the game. Get some more quality players in and they will be able to sustain control of games better, but the basic structure of what they are doing is very good, especially in attack.

You’re entitled to your opinion of course, but I disagree, I don’t think anyone attainable could do any better with that squad of players. The much lauded Brighton coach shipped 5 last week. He is supposed to be the best young coach in Europe. That’s the way it has gone.

He can’t organise a team to defend and his teams are not able to wrestle back momentum when they lose it or ship a goal against the run of play. Those are two glaring weaknesses in any manager.

He looked like a lost child every time the camera cut to up after Spurs went 3-2 down. The ‘that’s just the way we play mate’ is grand at Glasgow Celtic as if you ship 3 at St Johnstone or Kilmarnock, you’ll probably score 5 or 6 at the other end. Doesn’t work like that in the English Premier League though.

You are right, they do overcommit forward and struggle to regain control of games in adversity, that is true. I went out at 2-0, the pace/tempo they were playing at 2-0 was ridiculous when they should have been looking to slow the game down. When a team strikes back at them, they have put so much in, there is nothing left.

To me, what they need to address that with is to find an absolutely world class defensive midfielder who has the quality to slow the game down and speed it up as needed. All of their midfielders are way too aggressive in the selection of passes which leads to helter skelter games. It’s constant risky, vertical passes when all they need to do is hold on to the ball. They need to get someone in like Declan Rice and he should’ve addressed that in the summer. He could also move away from having just the 2 centre halves back when they go a goal up, but inverting the fullbacks up the pitch is what gives them the overloads to create chances. To me, he needs to adapt slightly when ahead, like Klopp did with his press, but I don’t know is he a man to compromise.

I think they will still have an excellent season.

They had won 5 on the trot before today :muscle:
It’s never easy to go to the Goldstone Ground

You’ll explode poor @ChairmanDan’s head with that much tactical nuance.
Keep it in simple terms; British/English=good, Carlos Kickaball/Johnny Foreigner=bad. Also something something Woolwich etc

You really are fair weather suporter, denegrate the current incumbent, but you provide no solution or no path to a solution. Have you provided evidence of how it can be improved, or are u just one of those who just jump in and criticize at a whim. Abit of a dick it appears to me you are , very consistent with the current Tottenham fan base who are very easily dissatisfied.

The manager employing a defensive coach, changing his mantra that we don’t practice set pieces and a bit more flexibility and less of the ‘this is the way we play mate’ would go a long way to providing a few solutions.

Again , just listening soundbites , no constructrive criticism, no solutions

Are you hard of reading? I have offered a solution to one of the most glaring problems - Big Ange hires a specialist defensive coach in his backroom team.

So its the coach and not the players , or is it the defensive midfielders or is it the front players not defending. Very harsh to single out the defeas defending stzrts at the front.

Poor aul Ange, he’s doing his best but the spurs always comes through

Impostercoglu when asked why he didn’t make substitutions when the game was going away from them said they are irrelevant because he doesn’t want to be falsely rewarded by enforcing them …

I love this guy more than Ten Haag. Next up is his cup final

He didn’t make a substitution until 13 minutes after the 3rd goal was conceded.

Who is this Kippur lads ye signed @ChairmanDan

This is a must win game at home to West Ham. Really should be winning it as West Ham are having a very poor season as well after the folly of letting Moysie go. It is West Ham’s Cup Final, their biggest game of the season, so they’ll be well up for it.

Haven’t West Ham won an actual cup final more recently than Spurs :man_shrugging:

Couldn’t tell you. I don’t pay too much attention to the fortunes of West Ham.