Tottenham Hotspur

Dreadful start

Yer man Frank will be managing Denmark by the time Ireland play them in the playoff final

MVDV saving more embarrassment

There’s a real bang of Keir Starmer going about his job off Coach Frank. He looked an utterly beaten man going towards the tunnel there at half time.

Ye’re some crowd to round on managers. Coach Frank had an inconspicuous start at Brentford too before his methods really took hold. Ye could be in the very same situation with Iraola or Glassner this time next year. It’s tricky enough without Kulusevski and Maddison’s creativity.

Sure they ran Conte and he a winner everywhere else he’s been

A great league manager. He has an appalling record in Europe though.

Be God they ran a man who won them a European competition so that shouldn’t be an issue.

I think he should get a decent shot at it. As I’ve said many times, the squad is utter rubbish, not far off relegation standard with three of the better players Kulusevski, Maddison and Solanke out all season. The atmosphere is so toxic around the club last few years, any manger would struggle to make a fist of it.

I have had concerns from the time of appointment though that two of the shrewdest soccer types on the forum @Bandage and @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy said he was nothing but a hammer thrower.

Styles makes fights & certain clubs demand a certain type of manager.

A club like Spurs has a rich history of attacking football, even if it may not always have earned trophies.

When you trace the club’s history from the Blanchflower double winning side through to Greaves & Mackay, Ardiles & Villa onto Hoodle & Waddle & then Gascoigne & Lineker, through to Klinsmann, Sheringham & Ginola, Keane & Berbatov, Bale & Kane.

Spurs are about daring & doing. I see this guy as a bad cultural fit. He’s a reactive manager who seems to be suited to a smaller club where he can set teams up to stifle & frustrate.

At the same time, himself was missing Van Der Ven, Udogie, Romero and that idiot keeper for big chunks of last season. At heart, Harry Kane should have been the first million pound a week player for what he meant to that team.

I’d agree with you on Frank, I never thought he was a fit for what Spurs like on the basis that Conte wasn’t and Frank aspires to Conte. I believe I said it in the Super Cup thread after I saw how he set up.

Footballistically, I think Rogers might be a possibility. Footballistically.

That sums it up well. It just feels like a re-run of Nuno. Nuno good manager as well, but not a Spurs type a manger.

Spurs is a tough tough job.

Spurs were a solid almost perennial Top 6 side for a good 15 years going back to Martin Jol and a good few Top 4 finishes in there as well. Harry Kane almost single handed was keeping us up there for the last few years he was here. The wheels have come off in a big way last few seasons. The standard of player we currently have is just awful. It’s mid 1990’s all over again and even then we had Juergen Klinsmamm for a while and David Ginola for a bit of swagger.

I’d say get Carlo Ancelloti after the World Cup. He would attract fabulous players and if they aren’t they’d be fabulous looking. Spurs isn’t a club for an idealogue of any sort I’ve come to realise, bar there clearly must be style. I’d say bar the Arsenal Invincibles, Chelsea 2010 played the most beautiful football I’ve seen in England. I’d say the answer is Ancelloti. I think the big thing is not to be caught with a Kieran McKenna type who will spend a fortune and is unproven and of questionable substance. Maddison used to kill smaller teams and is a massive loss. i think Spurs might move for Jack Grealish this summer which would be wonderful all round.

Brendan Rodgers is made for the bright lights of London

Great post,
Simpletons pining for the return of that prick Conte would do well to download it

Yeah it would have been awful had he taken them to league success but not European success.

He’s won the league with everyone he’s managed for about 20 years (if you include Serie B titles) except for Spurs. His methods unquestionably work.

Conte did a good job getting Spurs to 4th in his first season. Ultimately he threw the toys out of the pram, as the chequebook wasn’t anywhere near large enough for his liking. He had some sort of a breakdown then, took a few months off to recuperate mid-season in Italy was having swipes at everyone and anybody at the club just asking to be sacked.

Maybe the swipes were justified?

Like he knows what it takes to win, whereas Spurs, with the greatest respect, don’t. I think there are too many in Spurs comfortable with what they have (big stadium, profit, etc)

You have to wonder when the crying over Conte will end, any spurs fan will say good riddance but there’s a weird obsession from some, he’s gone two and a half years, he wasn’t successful, he threw his toys out of the pram, and he had a head like a rat,
mental stuff