Tour De France 2011

Any of ye lads ever go to a few stages of this, purely as spectators?
Myself and tony dorigo are heading over for the lourdes and saint gauden stages. Is there much craic to be had at the stage finishes?

I got the 25a bus to one once. No craic but if you’re really lucky you might find a discarded syringe and a vial of EPO.

Just like a walk down Talbot street so

I was at the finish in Paris in 2001. Jeroen Blijlevens won the sprint.
I’d say doing a mountain stage would be great craic but serious prep would have to go into it.
You need radio/tv/internet coverage to keep you informed, you don’t see very much for very long when they go past.

I remember the Nissan Classic passing by grandparents house years ago.
We waited for hours for them to arrive, there was one fella way out in the front, then the pelathon came and that was it, all over. I was amazed by the speed there was travelling at but it was fairly anti climactic at the same time.

The Tour is a bit better because you’ve a lengthy caravan of sponsors vehicles/floats in front of it handing out free stuff etc.
You need to be somewhere where there’ll be a bit of atmosphere and the riders will be struggling like a section of cobbles or a mountain pass, otherwise you may as well just walk down on to North Strand Road and watch people cycling to work in the morning.

Saw a bit of it back in '98 when it was up in Dublin. Saw the Prologue and saw off the start the next day. Followed the Nissan for a day for a couple of the years back in the day too, saw it going up Patricks Hill back then. Didn’t do it recently though. Never over in France though. If I were to I would pick a mountain stage, maybe a final climb around half or 3/4’s way up where the barriers aren’t in effect. Obviously I’d dress up in a Donald Duck costume and run alongside the riders. See below for image though I’d be on a mountain stage in the TdeF and I don’t wear glasses…

http://www.skyrocketonlinemarketing.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/peters-donald-duck-costume.jpg

Thanks for posting the article Rocko. Hadn’t realised Millar was writing a book but reckon it could be a good read. I see Nico has retained the team leadership of AG2R but Gadret is riding as well. First stage over the Passage Du Gois will be tasty. I think it is shit or bust for the Schlecks and the overall this year. Very little TT kms this year will help Andy. If they ride smart Andy could win but I reckon they are brainless and that Contador will win it again. Cadel Evans not up to it. Belgian guy den Broeck rode a good Dauphine and he could do a good race.

1987 was the year to follow the Tour. A number of lads from the club at home went over for the last two weeks. They enjoyed themselves immensely. I was too young unfortunately. A time time stage wouldn’t be too bad to view either. at least you would get a good look at individuals. In the good old days used to watch the finish of the Nissan in Limerick in front of the Royal George and then down to Cork for Paddy’s hill.

I fucking love Paul Kimmage

In a packed room at the media centre in Le Herbiers, Sunday Times journalist and former professional Paul Kimmage lead the string of questions. He suggested that every team Contador has ever raced with has been implicated or associated with doping. He suggested Contador would be racing under a cloud at this year’s Tour de France.

Guardian’s interactive guide to the race is a decent resource for the route and the profiles of the various stages all on one flash page. (Click the stage number to see the profile and read a sentence or two on the stage).

Might take the 21st and 22nd of July off.

Tour De France 2011
198 riders from 22 teams will set out on a route that covers 3,430 km. After a lengthy inspection it is clear that the ASO have gone for a parcours that favours the climbers over the time trial specialists . There is plenty of variety in the three weeks with finishes to suit nearly every type of rider. Most encouragingly I am glad that the ASO didn’t fall into the trap that the RCS fell into in this years Giro which was so brutal it eliminated a lot of racing and nullified the attacking instincts of too many. Attacking racing will be rewarded and don’t think for a moment that this Tour is anything but a huge test. In fact there are 23 major climbs with several finishes that go way uphill. Despite the lack of time trial km’s (the first time trial of 42km comes on the penultimate day) like all tours, if you are poor against the clock you are going to have to make up serious time in the mountains to be a gc contender. This race will be ridden at higher intensity and speed than any other.
While last years event celebrated the centenary of the Pyrenees this years marks the centenary of the first time the race covered the Alps. For the second time in 40 odd years the Tour starts with a stage as opposed to a prologue/ time trial. After the team time trial on stage two Mark Cavendish will be looking to get off the mark on stage three in Redon. The variety continues on stage four where we will get a first look at who won’t win the tour and it is a stage ideally suited to Phillipe Gilbert. The sprinters will be battling it out in the next few coastline stages before the uphill finish at Super Besse where the time differences between main contenders will likely be in seconds if at all. There are a couple of lumpy stages that are ideal for breakaways either side of the rest day on Monday the 11th of July in Catal.
With no time trial in the second week there are two transitional stages before we get to the Pyrenees where we will get real shake up in the gc. While temptation to switch off until then is understandable with crosswinds, crashes and anxious riders there is likely to be plenty of action even before we get there.
Key stages in the Pyrenees:
Stage 12 – Thursday July 14th. Cugnauz-Luz Ardiden
40km of brutal climbing culminates in the summit finish of Luz Ardiden. Due to the timing of stage gc contenders may go conservatively for fear of blowing later in race. Any stage that has Tourmalet (penultimate climb of day) in it should be a belter though

Stage 13 – Friday July 15th. Pau-Lourdes
Long descent after Col d’Aubisque will likely mean largeish group of gc contenders arriving together. No doubt few will be out the back though. Samuel Sanchez to attack on the downhill?
Stage 14 – Saturday July 16th Saint Gaudens-Plateau de Beille
The remaining riders will take on six climbs in this absolute belter of a stage. Final climb is 15.8km and averages 7.9%. Bloody tough. Winner here could well be in yellow in Paris. Time differences in the minutes rather than the seconds
The sprinters who have survived the Pyrenees will hope to get a victory on stage 15th. Ideally suited to Cavendish on paper. Following this sprinters stage are two lumpy stages.

Key stages in the Alps:
Stage 18 Thursday July 21st. Pinerolo – Col du Galiber
The 2,645m summit of the Galiber will be the Tour’s highest ever finish. This beast is proceeded by two other HC category climbs the Agnel and d’Izoard. The sheer distance of Galiber will mean those who are suffering won’t have anywhere to hide. A gradient to suit a power climber more so than a pure lightweight.
Stage 19 Friday July 22nd. Modanne Valfrejus – Alpe d-Huez
We climb the Galiber again today (after the riders have been warmed up by the Col du Telegraphe) but it is when riders get to Alpe d’Huez where the ultimate showdown will happen. Climbers will be looking to gain every possible second before time trial tomorrow.
Time Trial Stage:
Stage 20 Saturday July 23rd. Grenoble-Grenoble
42.5km of time trialing comes the day before we get to Paris. Stage ideally suited to Wiggins and he came third on exact same course in this years Dauphine. Starts off with small incline but only those who are excellent against the clock will do well here.

GC Contenders:
Alberto Contador
Contador rode superbly in the Giro and got better as three weeks went on. To complete Giro and Tour double though is so rare that Contador cannot be guaranteed anything. Add in fact that this years Giro was perhaps toughest ever, his average looking team and fact that Contador is man under pressure and it ain’t going to be easy for sure. It was so clear today in the presentations how much hostility there is to Contador in France. He looked very uncomfortable out there. The knowledgeable French cycling public have made their mind up about him and in a way it is refreshing to see such hostility to doping (Can you imagine a Wimbeldon crowd reacting same way to Nadal for instance!). Will be fascinating to see how he does.

Andy Schleck
As per usual Schleck hasn’t shown anything of real note in lead up to the Tour. His form in Tour Of California was at best sporadic. He usually does peak well though and he has backing of majority of fans behind him after chaingate last year. This is a route that suits him and he looks to have assembled a good squad at Leopard Trek (though they have been distinctly average so far this year). I’d question his tactical awareness. Comments like race not starting until second week are exactly what I wouldn’t want to hear if I were a Lëtzebuerger. He needs to put Contador and his team working from the off and making him pay for his decision to ride Giro.

Bradley Wiggins
Arriving at roughly same weight as last year (70 kgish) but looks to have bit more power in his legs. Will treat each mountain stage like a time trial and not try and follow attacks. He will go in confident but I don’t think he can improve on his best grand tour performance of 4th. Talk of Sky being one of best teams out there is a bit premature yet after their horror show last year too.

Robert Gessink
Gessink has reportedly being working hard on his tt skills but had disappointing performance in the Dauphine in exact same course as penultimate stage. He has strong team behind him and can definitely climb. Has done it on odd grand tour stage but putting three weeks together is another matter.

Frank Schleck
Despite lot of talk about how talented Frank is the reality is he hasn’t finished better than 5th at a grand tour. He will be a good help to his brother if he can get it right tactically. Problem is I don’t think he will get it right tactically and his poor ability against the clock will mean he’ll struggle to get podium place

Ivan Basso
Last years Giro winner skipped this years edition to focus on the Tour. Crash in training has hampered his preparations. Had a horrible Dauphine but may have just gone in under cooked. Is a better time trialist than several of his rivals (though only decent in the discipline). I suspect his best days are behind him

Cadel Evans
Evans has impressed this season and unusually has come into tour after light enough schedule. He looks bit more relaxed at presentation today than in previous years and I think he will certainly improve on his last two disastrous showings (29th and 26th). Bit light on tt’s though for him to win it.

Samuel Sanchez
Sanchez was third-best climber last year so will be pleased with the offering this year. Hasn’t showed much this year to date. Has shown in last couple of years he can do better than some of more fancied riders but talk of him getting top place in podium are foolhardy considering he will lose time in both the team time trial and the time trial itself

Jurgen Van Den Broeck
Was bit of a surprise package last year and his value on UCI’s scores of suspicion may go some way to explaining why. He can climb very well, has shown good tactical awareness and looks to be improving. I think he could have an excellent tour especially if he has the backing of Gilbert. I think Gilbert could surprise a few people too. Is in form of his life.

Radioshack Contenders:
Brajkovic is only Radioshack challenger who isn’t on wrong side of thirty who as aspirations for a podium place. Slovenian was superb in last years Dauphine and can do tt and climb very well. Has yet to do it in three week race however. Chris Horner won Tour Of California for first time this year at age of 38. He credits his improved form with losing 10 pounds of weight and deliberately arrived to Europe late so as he could control his diet better! Lance will be cheering for him anyway. Leipheimer is arriving off the back of his best win in his career to date in the Tour Of Switzerland. Won’t have enough here though in my view while Kloden too will fall short of a top five placing despite his early season form.

Irish Interest
Garmin’s decision to go all out to win team time trial has meant Nicolas Roche won’t be joined by his cousin Dan Martin. Roche has had a turbulent season and he hasn’t had as much racing as I would have liked. He looks confident and I was surprised to see he is as high as 7/1 to get a top ten placing. Perhaps in a way his crash in Dauphine may help him as he had heavy enough schedule last year culminating in a highly impressive 7th placing at the Vuelta. He should get better as race goes on but how ready he is for this remains a question.

The lack of TT kms might help Roche but I don’t think he has the form to make a big impression in the Tour this year. Pity Martin is not riding. He might be better off in another team if all they care about is the TTT. I reckon Gilbert could be a top 10 rider if he wanted to. Basso could be a dark horse but he isn’t the rider he was before :smiley: The lack off TT kms will work against Leipheimer. Kloden probably too old. Potential stage winners: Cavendish (of course), O’Grady, Voeckler or Chavanel. Gilbert, Millar, Gesink, Gerrans, Gadret,Petacchi, Pineau.

I think it will be a great race this year, really looking forward to it.

I think Martin might be better off riding Vuelta anyway balbec. He hasn’t performed yet in a grand tour and less stress in Vuelta coupled with friendlier profile for him could be better for him in long run. Garmin are very well run team and you only need to look at performances of Wiggins when he was there along with Vande Velde and Ryder Hesjedal to see Vaughters knows how to get best out of riders.
Basso will probably flop in my opinion.
Cavendish will target green more than in previous years and is helped with new points structure. Reckon he will pick up four/five wins. Finishes don’t suit Petacchi as much as in previous years so reckon he could go home empty handed. Gadret is there supposedly to work for Roche. Will believe it when I see it.

Larry could you summarise that long post of yours into a single line where you declare the best bet in your opinion?

I am going to wait until stage four to go heavy on gc betting in but so far I like look of Cavendish to win green jersey at 6/4 (can bet on that now though I think he is more likely to pick up points on stage three rather than stage one so perhaps best to wait til then), Roche top ten 8/1 and Van Den Broeck to podium at 6/1.

Cheers Larry

Good preview Lawrence.

Some decent youtube clips on the Guardian today.

Gino Bartali and Fausto Coppi rivalry:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQdYvmNZdt0

Cancellara descent:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxXqQqAc2pA

Eddy Merckx being caught and passed by Bernard Thévenet on what turned out to be the last ever day in yellow for Merckx (1975 at Pra-Loup)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7oAypajngk

I’m looking forward to the Tour this year. I suppose I’m cycling more now so the interest is there. I’m only getting up to speed with the riders and the teams so I can’t offer any advice on the betting though thanks to all for the tips. I’ve watched anything on Eurosport’s cycling coverage since the Giro and I find that I’m paying particular attention in no order to:

1. the bikes
  2. Technique (flat, hill climbing, decending etc)
  3. Gear (Helmets, shoes, style of the team kit)
  4. Tactics (as to when to real in a break away group, when to attack on the climbs)
  5. Kelly’s commentary (legend)

You are talking about looking at an hour long highlights show and when you don’t know the outcome there is a bit of watching to do before say the last 7km or so. If I have it Sky+'d then I just ff to the last 7km usually but still note the above.

I always enjoy the last 20 km or so of the flat stages interesting to see how the teams position the sprinters and if the invevitable breakaway stays away.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQz-CZvkY8k