Tour De France 2011

Route for next year’s tour announced today. Will suit a climber, six mountain stages including four summits and including Alpe D’Huez and Luz Ardiden. That cunting Team TT is back. No prologue just 40 odd km of individual TT. That will suit Nico.

Stage 1
Jul 2, 2011
Passage du Gois La Barre-de-Monts - Mont des Alouettes Les Herbiers
191 km
Stage 2
Jul 3, 2011
Les Essarts (TTT)
23 km
Stage 3
Jul 4, 2011
Olonne-sur-Mer - Redon
198 km
Stage 4
Jul 5, 2011
Lorient - Mûr-de-Bretagne
172 km
Stage 5
Jul 6, 2011
Carhaix - Cap Fréhel
158 km
Stage 6
Jul 7, 2011
Dinan - Lisieux
226 km
Stage 7
Jul 8, 2011
Le Mans - Châteauroux
215 km
Stage 8
Jul 9, 2011
Aigurande - Super-Besse Sancy
190 km
Stage 9
Jul 10, 2011
Issoire - Saint-Flour
208 km
Rest Day 1
Jul 11, 2011

Stage 10
Jul 12, 2011
Aurillac - Carmaux
161 km
Stage 11
Jul 13, 2011
Blaye-les-Mines - Lavaur
168 km
Stage 12
Jul 14, 2011
Cugnaux - Luz-Ardiden
209 km
Stage 13
Jul 15, 2011
Pau - Lourdes
156 km
Stage 14
Jul 16, 2011
Saint-Gaudens - Plateau de Beille
168 km
Stage 15
Jul 17, 2011
Limoux - Montpellier
187 km
Rest Day 2
Jul 18, 2011

Stage 16
Jul 19, 2011
Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux - Gap
163 km
Stage 17
Jul 20, 2011
Gap - Pinerolo
179 km
Stage 18
Jul 21, 2011
Pinerolo - Galibier Serre-Chevalier
189 km
Stage 19
Jul 22, 2011
Modane - Alpe-d’Huez
109 km
Stage 20
Jul 23, 2011
Grenoble (ITT)
41 km
Stage 21
Jul 24, 2011
Créteil - Paris Champs-Élysées
160 km

Yeah looks like a route ideally suited to A Schleck as opposed to Evans or Menchov and I think the tour route has overly suited timetrialers in recent past with possible exception of this year so good to see that redressed. Roche can be pleased with this too. His AG2R team have had mixed results in ttt’s but there doesn’t look to be any one dominant team out there unlike previous years.

Mountain stage profiles:
http://cdn.media.cyclingnews.com//2010/10/19/2/stage_12_profile_600.gif

http://cdn.media.cyclingnews.com//2010/10/19/2/stage_13_profile_600.gif

http://cdn.media.cyclingnews.com//2010/10/19/2/stage_14_profile_600.gif

http://cdn.media.cyclingnews.com//2010/10/19/2/stage_17_profile_600.gif

http://cdn.media.cyclingnews.com//2010/10/19/2/stage_18_profile_600.gif

http://cdn.media.cyclingnews.com//2010/10/19/2/stage_19_profile_600.gif

Luz Ardiden is a great mountain top finish, my favourite in the Pyrenees. They used to go up it most years when Roche and Kelly were at their peak in the late 80’s . First time up it since 2003 I think.

The Alps look pretty good with a finish on top of the Galibier. They go up it again the next day and up the Alpe but this stage looks too short at only 109 km.

Yeah, think I remember Lemond doing a great ride up it around 1990. Looks like a very good route.

I fucking hate climbing when I’m out cycling. But it has to be done of course. Took on a cunt of a hill last weekend after a few weeks off the bike, nearly died, had to get off around 3/4 way up. Pissed off with the whole day, went too far and was fucked for the rest of the weekend. Great sport though!

Cycling into the wind on an uphill incline is horrible.

Climbing is brutally tough alright. One of the most infuriating things you can do to yourself but it’s very rewarding when you get to the top. Larryduff did some of the Giro di Lombardia route when in Italy recently. Followed him in a car and it was a struggle in first gear for some of it. I’m alright at rolling hills and stuff but a million miles from tackling an Alpine slope.

Always found I was tackling most climbs in too tough a gear. There’s a temptation to make it tough enough at the outset in the knowledge you can always make it handier as you go but that’s not much use when you’re fucked a bit of the way up. Maintaining a steady cadence seems to be the key. Just keep rotating at the same speed if you can and use the gears to get you out of a hole. If you have to push the pedals you’ll kill yourself.

Larry, as a matter of interest what kind of gears did you have to use on the Lombardy climbs?

I don’t want to step on Larry’s toes but I can assure you that he won’t know the answer to that question. I’ve yet to meet a keen cyclist with less knowledge of his machine than Larry.

He actually did it on a rented hybrid which was beyond impressive to be honest. I passed lads in full gear really struggling and many abandoned the Madonna del Ghisallo climb. There were a couple of Italian teams training on it as well.

I’d say to climb one of the tour type hills would be unreal. The one I went up has been compared to Patricks Hill in the city on boards.ie. Having only driven and walked up Patricks Hill I’d say the comparison would be around right. One thing when I got off the bike to rest/cry/drink water/cry some more I noticed I was in 2nd gear and not first. I cried some more after that.

Balbec as rocko said my technical knowledge of gearing and bikes in general is pretty shocking. Love the sport but mechanics would put my glass eye to sleep. Meaning to educate myself on it all and will one day. Hybrid I had in Italy was heavy and only had eight gears in all so easy big ring and easy small ring!

Find mountain climbing to be hugely enjoyable. Struggled to keep fit up until couple of years ago when I took it up. Hugely satisfying and because it is so enjoyable it is much easier to keep fit as motivational levels are high.
Weight and gearing are very important factors. Carrying extra weight up big climbs has massive effect and while big guys can be very powerful on the flat once the road goes up they tend to get backwards. As rocko says best to maintain a steady cadence (around 100 turns a min) and if in doubt best to start off in easy gear. Can go into harder gear as it goes on.
There aren’t really any climbs in Ireland that are comparable to those used in the grand tours but some of the climbs have high % gradient though they tend to be short and sharp. What one were you on Locke?
Rocko any plans for a tfk cycling jersey?

Had a similar enough experience once on a small hill (Howth or somewhere) that was challenging for me anyway. Thought I was in my easiest gear and gutted to learn afterwards there was another one available. That’s heartbreaking stuff.

Thanks Larry. I wouldn’t be too technical with the bikes either. Have used 42 and 52 chain rings for years, probably would need 39 for big climbs. Love mountain climbing as well, being lightish is an advantage of course. Something like Patricks hill in Cork is a power climb that a horse like Sean Kelly could manage but a 30 click bastard on a hot day a different story. Remember one year the Nissan went up Patricks hill and some of the team cars got stuck, you could smell the burning oil, remember some riders got held up including Robert Millar, he just leaned over and held onto the crowd barrier and was laughing his head off.

Something like one of these?

Last one looks smart. Throw up a few different colour variations of the last one if possible please.

[quote=“larryduff, post: 529032”]
Carrying extra weight up big climbs has massive effect and while big guys can be very powerful on the flat once the road goes up they tend to get backwards. [/quote]
This is my problem. With all the cycling you’d be fit and probably toned up but with the amount of food I eat I’m still the same fat bastard weight. Grand on the flat but any hill or head wind or hill against a head wind I’m fucked.

As rocko says best to maintain a steady cadence (around 100 turns a min) and if in doubt best to start off in easy gear. Can go into harder gear as it goes on.
There aren’t really any climbs in Ireland that are comparable to those used in the grand tours but some of the climbs have high % gradient though they tend to be short and sharp. What one were you on Locke?
Rocko any plans for a tfk cycling jersey?

Its a back road from Carrigaline to Douglas, just off the Ringaskiddy road. I’d say its proabably around a km long, maybe more but it is a brute. There are quite a few short, sharp hills around the city that are testing, you could spend the day going up and down them.

In Dublin, the climb from the bottom of Coliemore Road opposite Dalkey Island, up Vico Road to the pub near the top of Killiney Hill is a tough one if you’re out of practice. Fantastic place to be on a sunny evening though and I’d try and get up there two or three times every summer even though I live out the far end of the city which usually means a 50 km round trip. Howth Hill is the other obvious one in Dublin.

A lot depends on the road surface on hills. A less than smooth surface can make cycling uphill a nightmare.

bumping this. Tour starts this weekend. Comments welcome

Larry is writing a preview I am assured.

In the meantime here’s an interview with David Millar from the Guardian. Haven’t read it yet but Donald McRae is a smashing writer:

[indent]David Millar: I’d be surprised if Bradley Wiggins made Tour top 10

David Millar has a terrible hangover. On a sunlit morning in Soho, just after 10, not too many hours have passed since he collapsed on a hotel bed after the launch of his riveting book about cheating, doping and his return as a clean professional cyclist. The tall and angular Millar, wearing a dark jacket and thickly framed glasses, walks gingerly through a boutique hotel and groans.

“I got so drunk last night,” he says, his quiet voice muffled further by a dry mouth and bad head.

Millar slumps in a chair and guzzles the first of many bottles of water in an attempt to quench his raging dehydration. A desire to celebrate a book which might emerge as the best sporting read of the year is understandable. Few sportsmen even read their autobiographies, let alone write them with Millar’s gritty lucidity, but the 34-year-old loves books as well as bikes. “Just before I started writing, I read JG Ballard’s autobiography, Miracles of Life,” Millar says. “I was enchanted by that book, by its simplicity and the way it retold such a complicated life.”

Racing Through The Dark opens with Millar in a prison cell in Biarritz, seven years ago this week, at the outset of the interrogation which exposed him forever. Now, in the midst of his second life, with his mind turning towards the start of the Tour de France on Saturday, Millar talks with raw feeling. And his weary eyes glitter when he is asked a question he does not really answer in his book. He might write about “the epiphany of confession” – but would he have admitted doping if he had not been caught?

“No, no, no,” he murmurs, the mumbled reply offset by his echoing emphasis. “It required that judicial intervention in those extreme circumstances for me to confess. It was so wrong I didn’t feel it was humanely possible to own up to it. So when they forced it out of me it was an epiphany of sorts. I thought, ‘I can do it. I can confess. I can escape this lie.’”

Millar outlines a chilling alternative to his confession and two-year ban for taking EPO (erythropoietin). “It would’ve been a descending spiral. I would have become more and more self-destructive. I would probably have ended up, a couple of years down the line, ODing. It could have gone that far. No doubt. It could’ve killed me. Look at José María Jiménez and Marco Pantani [two tainted cyclists who died with cocaine in their system]. They destroyed themselves. That could’ve been me.”

Millar succumbed to doping in a sport riddled with cheating. “I reached a point where it was easier to give in, to let go, than to keep fighting. I did not have one single person telling me to keep myself clean – and so, when it happened, I just said, ‘OK, that’s it. I’m one of them now.’”

He kept the syringes which helped him win the World Time Trial Championship in 2003 as “a poignant souvenir” of his drug-taking, hiding them away in a bookcase that was torn apart by the police. It seems strange to keep a memento of shame. “The poignancy comes from the fact it represented a certain phase in my life,” Millar says. “Subconsciously I just planted them there.”

An amateur psychologist might suggest that, deep down, Millar wanted to get caught. “It’s all amateur psychology,” he says with a shrug.

In contrast to far more reluctant confessors like Floyd Landis, Millar has voiced his guilt and a desire to help a tarnished sport escape systematic doping. “I’ve just been purging myself – and emptying it all out. I wanted to stay in this game and help the sport. What Landis has done is quite irresponsible. I think any doper who is caught has a duty to assume responsibility for speaking out against it. This should be part of the rehabilitation process. It’s only right we should be considered first as ex-dopers. We should be border-line vigilantes when it comes to education against doping.”

In the book there is a telling photograph where anger and disdain etch Lance Armstrong’s face as Millar “lectures” him for seven minutes on cycling’s dirty trade. “Lance is very powerful,” Millar says. “But I was so consumed I thought I could get through to him. In the photo you can see he’s thinking: ‘Do I have to listen to this…’”

More accusations now surround Armstrong – with the most damaging revelations apparently made by a widely respected cyclist in George Hincapie. It has been alleged that Hincapie has informed a Federal Investigation that he and Armstrong gave each other EPO. “It just keeps going,” Millar says. “It would’ve gone on forever but for the fact this Federal Investigation might give us some closure.”

The supposed Hincapie revelation, if true, would underline Armstrong’s guilt. “Mmm,” Millar nods, “that’s what it points towards. But there’s no hard evidence yet.”

Does Millar expect Armstrong to be exposed as a proven cheat? “I have no gut feel. He could get off scot-free or he could be charged with everything he’s been accused of. At least a decision will be made.”

Millar skewers Bradley Wiggins’ character unflinchingly and yet his appraisal of Armstrong is ambivalent. He acknowledges the discrepancy and admits his judgment has been compromised. “Lance always treated me with enormous respect – and care. He was one of the few people who called me up during my ban and worried about me. When I was a kid he wanted to put me on his team. He’s been like a big brother to me at some points. He’s also quite loyal – and that seems incongruous. It’s not what you expect from Armstrong and that makes it still more attractive. I’ve always thought of him as being more complex than he appears.”

Wiggins, in contrast, is flayed. Why does Millar feel such anger towards his fellow Briton? “We [the Garmin team in 2009] made him. We basically rode him into that fourth place finish in the Tour de France. It was not a one-man show. Itwas a team effort. He wouldn’t have hit the top 10 if he’d been on any other team so that’s why I was so pissed off with him. He never once gave us the respect we deserved. Mark Cavendish understands the game – Brad doesn’t. He’s a natural-born leader, Cav, whereas Brad has no leadership skills. The way Cav is with his team-mates helps make him an incredible rider.”

This interview takes place before Wiggins’s notable victory in the Critérium du Dauphiné but Millar’s caustic perspective bears repeating. Asked if Wiggins will make the top 10 in the Tour next month, after his humbling 24th place last year, Millar is unequivocal. “No. I’ll be very surprised if he made the top 10 of the Tour again. Very surprised.”

This past weekend Wiggins won again, in the British national road race championships, but enduring questions about his leadership of Team Sky remain. “They’re locked in a four year mega-buck deal with Brad,” Millar says. “It always causes background noise in the team when riders are being paid zillions and then do fuck all. It causes bad blood.”

So where does this leave Sky – especially when, earlier this year, Dave Brailsford, general manager of the team, admitted that Wiggins is not a leader? “They’re pretty fucked there. Yeah. They’re going to have to find a solution.”

Wiggins’ improved form suggests a solution might be found. Yet, after their disastrous debut, Sky also need to be much less grandiose in their ambitions. Millar, despite his closeness to Brailsford, sums up last year’s derision towards Sky.

“That was the opinion of them in the peloton. They came across as big-headed and disrespectful. They held the rest of us in disdain for our methods and they belittled us. We didn’t like that. But they had a humbling Tour and made a huge realisation that they had to fit in. They also learnt you can’t reinvent the wheel.”

Millar’s criticism is coloured by acute disappointment that he cannot ride for Sky. He could never be offered a contract from a team which makes much of its “zero tolerance” towards doping. “I would have loved [racing for Sky]. It hurts when I see that team staying in the same hotel as me, seeing people I’ve known for years. It’s my world. Those are riders I should be alongside. But I’m banned.”

Such contradictory emotions epitomise Millar’s tangled relationship with cycling. But in last month’s Giro d’Italia he proved himself a leader of the peloton. During the third stage, which saw Millar retain his lead, a Belgian cyclist, Wouter Weylandt, died after a dizzying descent ended in a grotesque crash.

Millar set the tone for the peloton’s reaction to Weyland’s death by refusing to wear the pink jersey of the race leader and by orchestrating a united reaction fusing anger with sorrow.

“The Giro is not a race I like very much. It feels like we’re treated as circus animals. And this year they went too far. It’s crazy. We’re trying to get rid of doping but they make this one of the hardest races there’s ever been.”

Millar returns to the Tour bolstered by the way he withstood such pain in the race last year. “I’ve never suffered more. I don’t know how I managed to survive it. There was so much pain. Five days after the race I went to hospital and they found three broken ribs – two were completely sheared at the back and another was cracked at the front.What the fuck? I’d been cycling with that for three weeks. That explains the fever I had two days after I broke them. I also had a groin strain and one day I couldn’t even get on the bus. It was horrible.”

Millar laughs now, the memory convincing him that a hangover is nothing. He no longer looks quite so shattered. “I’m excited about my final years in cycling,” he says. “I feel stronger than I’ve ever been – both mentally and physically. I’m racing as well as I’ve ever done. My stature in the peloton is secured. I’m respected. And so, yes, I have a good time out on the road.”[/indent]