Tullamore

I’m home with the family on Saturday for a few days, and am hoping to head over for the hurling on Sunday. If I do,I’ll have the snappers. We’d be happy to park and walk a mile or two if it avoided significant traffic headed from/to Galway.
Any advice on what would be the best approach, where to park, and where to get tickets and for which bit of the ground?
Haven’t asked herself yet, so no guarantee.

Tullamore Hospital is right beside the ground, on the other side of it to the town. If coming from Galway, that’ll be on your way in actually.

Park in there, pay a fiver or so when you come back to the car, the best option. The car park is circled in the pic.

The stand is your safest bet, the terrace is great there, but if you’ve kids, go to the stand just in case.

Tickets are sold right outside the entrance from the ticket office, on the Arden Rd.

there is a hotel near the stadium that does a grand bit food also and is very family friendly on a sunday

Don’t put the wrong fuel type into the car

@flattythehurdler, that’s a very helpful post from @myboyblue. Despite my legacy issues with the county of (and people from) Offaly I really like Tullamore as a “provincial town venue”. The town itself is actually grand. That big long Main Street is to the left of the picture and is full of pubs, cafes etc. I’d say @mickee321 is referring to The Bridge House Hotel which is just off the Main Street about 5-10 minutes walk from the ground.

Tullamore is a grand town and O’Connor Park is a lovely ground. The last time I was at a match there they were serving tea and sandwiches under the main stand. Id go for the stand as well. Grand view.

i think @Bandage it was the tullamore court hotel we were in
fine big spot with good catering space
you could also head out to Charleville Castle
its called after a lad called lord charleville, he seemed a right hun cunt and has the trees in the garden of the castle planted in the shape of the butchers apron
dunno what he was doing in offaly, he has a town called after him in cork, well it was part of limerick for years i believe before they redrew the border
its haunted as well as his daughter fell down a flight of stairs there , right creepy old place

@Fagan_ODowd
would you have any memories of the Oireactas hurling tournament?
i found this nice account of the final game earlier when i was online
i thought you might appreciate it
http://www.independent.ie/sport/peaceful-final-resting-place-for-oireachtas-26101316.html

I went to school with one of the huttonburys who run charleville castle. A fine, if very shy, lass.

They also have castlepalooza there which was great craic.

I had a noble vindaloo in Cafe India last night and got to see Michael Duignan and Daithi Regan make complete tools of themselves this morning at an under 21 hurling match.

Tullamore is a grand little town