Turkey v Ireland 23rd of March

Lovely turn of phrase is that an English saying?

Its not the first time this week, Iā€™m shocked at him.

The grand slam has knocked the stuffing out if him

Heā€™s right here, but heā€™s a bigger fool tor pursuing it given the protagonists.

@the_man_himself made a fool out of himself imagining things that were said when the evidence was black and white in front of him, @Cicero_Dandi tickled his belly for a while but it was a very very odd situation apparently caused by a lack of ā€œquotation marksā€

The timeline is remarkably similar.

Itā€™s a West British thing

Ah kev. Youā€™ve just turned forty I believe. So between the ages of 2 and 12 you were an avid follower and superb analyst of English football and went to many of the games? Wow. Fair play.

Frank Stapleton was a fine player, a regular starter for two of the best teams in England, football was a different game, would either have thrived in the others era?

Iā€™d suggest both would be in the 2nd tier or lower top tier at best

Iā€™m going to skip the Robbie Keane ā€œdebateā€ because anyone with any interest in or understanding of football knows how good Keane was for us.

But I wouldnā€™t have thought Christie could be a centre back at all. Heā€™s not strong in the air and doesnā€™t seem like a brilliant defender. Out of any of our full backs Ward is probably most suitable to playing in a back 3 but heā€™s not fast and doesnā€™t offer anything positive there really.

Iā€™d like to see us try it sometimes though.

Nobody denied Keane was very good, no need for the superior attitude, whatā€™s your specific expertise in football that entitles you to that sniffy attitude?
That ā€˜debateā€™ was sparked by my scoffing at the notion relayed by a so called expert that we could never again hope for a better centre forward than Robbie, I would suggest that if we put out an all time 11 he would probably be there but would be the least complete footballer on the pitch, we just havenā€™t had many great centre forwards

Ah not this Robbie Keane was overrated craic, 68 goals in 146 games for fucking Ireland! Be a long long time before any player touches that record and certainly not in any of our lifetimes.

Robbie thrived in the ultra professional era ā€¦ the rest thrived in an era where smoking and drinking were widely accepted as part of soccer cultureā€¦Youā€™re earlier argument about the eras is a bit ridiculous ā€“ But if you were able to put Robbie in his primes into a time machine and go back to the 60s/70s/80s, heā€™d fucking destroy the part time drinkers and smokers.

Robbie was much more than just a poacher. He was more of a creator for Spurs but we played such shite football for most of his time with Ireland that he didnā€™t show it much for us

I didnā€™t bring up the era thing, just nodded at it cause somebody else did, very hard to judge players outside of their own but a world class player will thrive in any, Robbie wouldnā€™t have had the same protection and access to sport science etc, pointless.

The thing about Robbie was, he was a street footballer, and relied on his instincts. Heā€™d have thrived in any era. Heā€™s not a product of the modern era of coaching/s&c. He may have benefited from it, but then so did Glen Whelan, didnā€™t make him Irelands greatest ever player.

Lookit, weā€™ve been through it, he was a fine player, a decent EPL striker when that was a much bigger deal than in previous eras,
But he was never a world class player, I wouldnā€™t be surprised if thereā€™s better centre forwards coming through right now, itā€™s the only point I made