TV Rights, best avoided

Are you talking about a Davy Tweed type?

How do the player numbers between GAA and NFL in the UK stack up?

How would Qatar measure up to your high standards of equality and diversity?

Dont be so anti islamic all the time mate

Not all it’s cracked up to be, mate.

That’ll always be the conversation ender

I actually don’t know but I’m sure they’ll catch up.

GGA: tinpot stadium in London attracting no support
Sky Sports drops it

NFL: 4-5 sold out games a year
Premium position on the Sky Sports schedule and lots of FTA coverage

The US is one of the most insular places in the world and just look at how baseball (at the time the most popular game) spread during the war.

Irish missionaries and church orders had more success spreading rugby than GGA.

The pitch size for GAA is a fairly big hindrance for it to be played in any of the large or medium sized stadia in London

All creeds and political positions are welcome.

GGA members ostracised a man for joining the PSNI and didn’t care when he was disabled by a sectarian attack. It’s a nakedly politically and sectarian organisation, many members are uncomfortable with it to varying degrees. I’d accept that historically that Northern members have been the big issue there.

Paedos are welcome? Jesus fucking christ

Irrelevant. There have been Irish emigrants there for generations. It has had more than enough capability to build facilities there.

When emigrants go there, most lose interest. Same as Irish emigrants elsewhere.

Paedos are a societal problem, booted out when discovered by any sport. Including with him.

Politically and religions is key, the GGA is a cold house for those types.

Fuckin eejits :rofl:

Is there correct terminology regarding a footix version of a NFL supporter in the UK. There is very little grassroots NFL activity here and zero infrastructure. The GAA has more than London’s ground and massive activity across the mainland

There are now 68 senior American football teams and 28k players. The real push only started from 2007 in the U.K. and there is demonstrably strong growth there YoY.

There are of course bandwagoners, but that’s not the point.

The GGA has failed to grow outside of a core group of emigrants everywhere it has gone. Most emigrants forget about it themselves.

It’s the fastest growing sport in the world… Just a few leagues below…
Australia - https://www.gridiron.org.au/
Ireland - Home - American Football Ireland
UK - https://www.britishamericanfootball.org/
Germany - http://gfl.info/
Japan - X-League (Japan) - Wikipedia
Mexico - https://ligafam.mx/
China - China: CNFL emerges as king of the hill, expands to 33 teams for the 2022 season

Basketball and American football are the only sports who have really managed to grow grassroots level support via top down “marketing”.

Other sports have historically grown via emigrant communities and things like the military.

The GGA failed on this front. They’ve attempted the top down marketing push but that has failed commercially and at grassroots level.

I was at the Deutsche Bowl in Berlin a few years ago. Great craic. See below a pic of the ground it was held in. I would say it was around half full. Oct 2015 was when I was there.

The GAA need to ramp up their half time show. Richie Kavanagh and Sinead O’Connor having a kiss mid performance. Denise Chaila and Blind bag boat head bringing the O61 to the world.

My first proper (I suppose) experience with GAA go today. Was a bit meh. No replays (not that is a bad thing sometimes with fast restarts). Limited camera angles, shite commentary. Analysis non existant. You had a load of people cc Michael Duignan giving out about Sky but at least they delivered a decent product. They may have shown 2 games today and done them some sort of service. I cannot understand why RTE couldn’t have secured rights to at least 1 game today. Even RTE News now. It promises to be one almighty damp squib of summer championship action if it continues in this vein. Galway and Roscommon in the Hyde tomorrow. Jesus Wept.