Twitter (Part 1)

I unfollowed the great Shane Warne on Twitter about 15 minutes ago. The sheer amount of his soppy tweets about going for walks with Elizabeth Hurley was getting too much.

Last one was: “Seriously how good is an open fire - It’s Vodka o clock time & snuggling up to EH - i feel a nice night coming up x”

FFS. Coincidentally friend of the forum Barry Glenndenning has just taken the piss out of him:

“So let me get this straight, @warne888 is tweeting @ElizabethHurley while sat on a rug in front of the fire with her?”

The “Activity” button has gone again, get following Porn stars again lads.

Something ironic about Colm Parkinsons last 3 tweets this morning.

Incredibly

Woolie doesnt give a fook :clap:

Colm Parkinson presents The Woolies, his own GAA award show

12 minutes ago

More exciting than the Oscars, more controversial than the Golden Globes, we present the Woolies, Colm Parkinson’s very own GAA awards.
Former Laois star Colm Parkinson is easily one of the most entertaining Irish tweeters and he pulls no punches, especially on matters GAA.
In just the last week he has criticised the GPA for not doing enough to protect amateur players from the ridiculous demands of modern training and put forward his own plan for the Championship that would create three All-Ireland champions each year. You may agree or disagree with him but @Woolberto is a must follow for any GAA fan.
And to cap off a fine week on the Tweet machine, Parkinson decided to give out some awards. They started out in very complimentary fashion, as he listed his favourite past and present players.
http://www.joe.ie/uploads/story/17860/Wollie%20Fav%201.jpg
http://www.joe.ie/uploads/story/17860/Woolie%20fav%202.jpg
http://www.joe.ie/uploads/story/17860/Woolie%20Fav%203.jpg
Very few arguments with these we think, (Nuxer Buckley is Kildare’s Niall Buckley) but then Woolberto unleashed his least favourite, and these are bound to go down not so well in certain dressing rooms around the country.
http://www.joe.ie/uploads/story/17860/Wollie%20least%20fav.jpg
Parkinson is brave enough to stand over his claims but can he expect a reaction from the six he selects as his least favourite?

He’s entitled to his opinion, and takes plenty of abuse himself and in true Woolie fashion would agree with about 90% of it to your face. If you’re being honest with yourself, its hard to argue with his least favourite ones ( EDIT McManaus apart who always struck me as an alright sort). And anyway, these are his favourite and least favourite, so what about it anyway?

The hashtags he uses are what I was talking about. Not surprised you’d be the first in to fight his corner.

also the fact he is a paid by newstalk to do match commentaries would surely put him in trouble with these comments. calling andriu macloughlin a knobhead, and then having to commentate on a Kildare game wont go together too well.

The comments he made about his own contribution to the Intl Rules series were self deprecating and amusing.

Anyone who thinks Woolie would be liked by Kildare ppl anyway dont know much about him or Kildare. As for interviewing woolies never interviewed anyone in his life and doubt he ever would have to in his role with newstalk. The hashtags are the worst part of it but quite harmless really.

Any chance the clown could end up playing against Ciaran McManus in a club game or other game anytime? Wouldn’t mind seeing how that one would finish up.

dont think anyone said he would be liked by Kildare people.

Also dont think anyone said he would be interviewing with newstalk. he is a co commentator. it seems to me a bit odd that a man with a job as a co commentator would be calling players useless and knobheads. if Pat spillane called someone a knobhead, he might be right, but its just something you dont say in public. using a bit of cop on really.

harmless it may be, but its also quite foolish.

I’m sure if newstalk have an issue with it they’ll tell him where to go, but you don’t hire someone like Parkinson and laugh and joke at him saying as bad on the radio on a Saturday afternoon and then criticise or punish him for being himself. I get the feeling newstalk don’t view themselves in the vein as the national broadcaster. Woolie’s Woolie, simple as that, he’ll make no apologies for that and expect none either. He’s dead right about McLoughlin though, the shit he goes on with borders is just weird, ask any intercounty corner forward.

As for McManus coming up against Woolie Mac, pretty unlikely at this stage I’d imagine given Nobber’s status although they’re not the worst sorts nor is Ciaran and I’d like to see them get the big one in Offaly. Keleghan would be more of a possibility given his status with Rhode but I think they’ve had a few run in’s in the past and that tweet is highly unlikely to change it.

Surprised with his high opinion of Nuxer, a fine footballer, but wouldnt be that high for me, and also Nuxer absolutely pounded Woolie with a shoulder into the Hogan one day if memory serves me correctly. Typical Woolie though, hard as you try to nail the wirey little fucker, he bounces back up every time as he did on that occasion.

Wonder what Parkinson’s nickname is?
Agree with mbb here the likes of him is a breath of fresh air among the non stop boring hoors in the gaa. He was a properly mad bastard in his younger years not sure what he’s like now.

Parky

[quote=“sid waddell, post: 334384”]
Parky[/quote]

It’s actually Jim Jim. Very witty stuff indeed. It’s because of the former breakfast DJ duo Colm and Jim Jim.

As an aside, a lot of these GAA players on Twitter are dickheads. Wexford footballers are far from world beaters but I predict that the sooner of 1) Jason Ryan leaving or 2) any two of David Murphy, Colm Morris and Redmond Barry retiring that our team will go to absolute shit again. I feel that the players coming behind these respected veterans count a large amount of arseholes in their number.

I think I’m going to unfiollow all of Parnells’ overseas contingent. I’m finding some of the Dublin players’ contributions to be quite annoying too.

Disease.

This is fairly pathetic attention seeking by Parkinson trying to raise his profile. Shock horror - former inter county player dislikes/doesn’t rate other inter county players.

It is far more manly than what we do though in that he’s putting his name to it. Numerous people are called a lot worse on fora on regular basis by nameless people they’ve never even met. I’d imagine Parky is basing his views on what he’s come across rather than what he’s apparently heard too.

Fairly pathetic “I know Wooly and he doesn’t give a fuck” by MBB too.