Darkness Into Light is largely a load of self-centered bollocks. There are of course some genuine and decent people involved but it is largely a platform for these narcissistic cunts on Instagram to pretend they have a heart for a couple of hours so they can post a few selfies and get that sweet sweet double tap fix.
The whole thing really rubs me the wrong way. Thereās a gang of them Iād know of from way back who do it every year. Back in school days the bullied the shit out of a classmate, who ended up having an awful bout of depression and ended up taking her own life not long after. And every year without fail those cunts are all smiles with shite like āyou are not aloneā plastered all over the gaff. Iām not saying people canāt change, especially after doing stuff at kids but these fuckers are in it for the claps on the back and not for the genuine cause. Same women wouldnāt piss on you if you were roaring in flames.
Maybe my own personal bias is too strong here, but Iāve shared this opinion in real life too and Iāve heard similar stories. I guess it is another symptom of the fakeness of social media and āinfluenzarsā but I canāt bring myself to get involved in another DIL after all the selfies and fakeness I saw when I did go to an early one.
Pretty much all public participation is a performance, mate.
Sure look at the self-proclaimed āreal journalistsā who get widely eulogised on here, who are the biggest shower of crooks, chancers and con men you could ever meet.
Did it myself this morning & for the most part the majority that turn up have been touched by suicide at some point in their lives and make the effort to honour the people they lost.
But thereās always the snaky cunts in sheepās clothing ā¦