Upcoming Movies

[F-toIu5JscE[/media]eature=relmfu"]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-toIu5JscE
eature=relmfu]([media=youtube)

[quote=“The Dunph, post: 315139”]

About time.

A couple of points which i will keep to this post:

• How can they be considering a Scarface remake. Is there nothing sacred.

• That Dredd film looks like the biggest load of shit ever.

• I am a big fan of Gary Oldman, he is a fine actor.

• I downloaded and watched Hunger Games last night. It was fairly meh, was expecting more from it. 4/10.[/quote]

Im more pissed off that they going to remake robocop and to a lesser extent starship troopers. 2 fine verhoeven films

The dredd film looks infinitely better than the stallone film and more faithful to the comics

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzmuvtREnnw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0AJv-oKcLc

Is this an episode of ‘Deadliest Catch’ or a ‘Superman’ trailer? :strokechin:

Remaking Oldboy :shakefist: :shakefist: :shakefist: :shakefist: :shakefist: :shakefist:

I suppose it was inevitable. At least it’s not Will Smith and Senor Spielbergo as was mooted a couple of years ago.

‘Stand Up Guys’ featuring Al Pacino, Christopher Walken, Alan Arkin, and Mark Margolis of Breaking Bad fame

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Drm7lTx08ro

I watched Taken last night and though it was excellent. I’ve just heard now that Taken 2 is out next month.

Two of my favourite actors are starring in “Broken City” - really looking forward to it.

[url=" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3HgYu1atOo ]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3HgYu1atOo
/url]

It’s meant to be shite though.

the new robcop

I am not looking forward to the new Tarantino movie, Django. It’s going to be another load of absolute shit by the most overrated filmmaker of all time who has made nothing good since Pulp Fiction (in fairness I haven’t seen Jackie Browne so maybe that was good). Not only that but it is going to be a western so now he’s going to ruin one of the great film genres and rip off a bunch of scenes from classics and I will probably have to listen to rakes of deluded eejits spouting on about him being a genius.

Not a fucking grease nipple in sight ffs. :shakefist:

How the fuck will they keep him going?

Disney is buying Lucasfilm, the company behind the Star Wars films, from its chairman and founder George Lucas for $4.05bn (£2.5bn).

Mr Lucas said: “It’s now time for me to pass Star Wars on to a new generation of film-makers.”

In a statement announcing the purchase, Disney said it planned to release a new Star Wars film, episode seven, in 2015.

That will be followed by episodes eight and nine and then one new movie every two or three years, the company said.

The last Star Wars film was 2005’s Revenge of the Sith, and Disney said it believed there was “substantial pent-up demand”.

Disney will pay about half in cash and half in stock, issuing 40 million Disney shares in the transaction.

The deal follows Disney’s acquisitions of Pixar studios for $7.4bn in 2006 and Marvel comics for $4.2bn in 2009.

“Our valuation of Lucasfilm is roughly comparable to the value we placed on Marvel when we announced that acquisition in 2009,” Disney said, adding that the valuation was almost entirely driven by the Star Wars franchise.

Transition
George Lucas launched Lucasfilm in 1971 and the first Star Wars film was released in 1977.

“For the past 35 years, one of my greatest pleasures has been to see Star Wars passed from one generation to the next,” Mr Lucas said.

“I’ve always believed that Star Wars could live beyond me, and I thought it was important to set up the transition during my lifetime.”

Mr Lucas will continue as a creative consultant.

Kathleen Kennedy, currently co-chairman of Lucasfilm, will become president of the firm and will be the executive producer on the new Star Wars films.

Lucasfilm is also the production company behind the Indiana Jones franchise, and fantasy films Willow and Labyrinth.

Michael Corty, analyst at Morning Star, said Disney’s deal was clearly part of a pattern in buying new franchises.

“Pixar was the first big one, then Marvel, and now this one here,” he said.

“Because Lucas is private, I would assume most investors would be surprised.”

Can’t agree with that at all.

All movies are a homage to past movies… Tarintino is just more obvious. I personally find his movies very entertaining and always enjoy his scripts and soundtracks. His movies have delivered some cracking scenes over the years and I think this is what makes his movies so popular. So what if he steals a few ideas, he delivers entertainment, and I have yet to be bored watching any of his movies.

Farmer, CM, I know I’m generally in a minority in this, but a lot of others also feel the same.

Pulp Fiction was very cool. Reservoir Dogs was good. True Romance was good, but probably better because he didn’t direct it. Kill Bill bored me from start to finish. Big fan of martial arts movies but it just annoyed me all the way through. Inglorious even more so, if the Simpsons were to do a parody of a Tarantino film they’d probably come up with the same thing. Those last two films were more a homage to himself than anything else. If he had cut 45 minutes from each they might have been ok, he’s far too clearly in love with himself to do that though and it oozed off the screen.

Also, some references can be nice, but not all movies are a homage to past movies. What Tarantino has gone to doing now though is ripping off entire scenes, characters and dialogue and slapping them into his movies. Eg the best part of inglorious lifted wholesale from where eagles dare -that really isn’t clever or entertaining.

[quote=“myboyblue, post: 315153”]Disney is buying Lucasfilm, the company behind the Star Wars films, from its chairman and founder George Lucas for $4.05bn (£2.5bn).

Mr Lucas said: “It’s now time for me to pass Star Wars on to a new generation of film-makers.”

In a statement announcing the purchase, Disney said it planned to release a new Star Wars film, episode seven, in 2015.

That will be followed by episodes eight and nine and then one new movie every two or three years, the company said.

The last Star Wars film was 2005’s Revenge of the Sith, and Disney said it believed there was “substantial pent-up demand”.

Disney will pay about half in cash and half in stock, issuing 40 million Disney shares in the transaction.

The deal follows Disney’s acquisitions of Pixar studios for $7.4bn in 2006 and Marvel comics for $4.2bn in 2009.

“Our valuation of Lucasfilm is roughly comparable to the value we placed on Marvel when we announced that acquisition in 2009,” Disney said, adding that the valuation was almost entirely driven by the Star Wars franchise.

Transition
George Lucas launched Lucasfilm in 1971 and the first Star Wars film was released in 1977.

“For the past 35 years, one of my greatest pleasures has been to see Star Wars passed from one generation to the next,” Mr Lucas said.

“I’ve always believed that Star Wars could live beyond me, and I thought it was important to set up the transition during my lifetime.”

Mr Lucas will continue as a creative consultant.

Kathleen Kennedy, currently co-chairman of Lucasfilm, will become president of the firm and will be the executive producer on the new Star Wars films.

Lucasfilm is also the production company behind the Indiana Jones franchise, and fantasy films Willow and Labyrinth.

Michael Corty, analyst at Morning Star, said Disney’s deal was clearly part of a pattern in buying new franchises.

“Pixar was the first big one, then Marvel, and now this one here,” he said.

“Because Lucas is private, I would assume most investors would be surprised.”[/quote]

WTF!??

Disney can’t do any worse anyway. Aparently there is some Clone Wars cartoon at the moment that the youngsters love, if they made any decent fist of it Disney would make that 4 billion back after 3 movies if you think of merchandising etc.

A Joss Whedon directed Star Wars?

So I was majorly looking forward to Skyfall and unbelieveably disappointed. A good opening sequence and rubbish from there on out. They have now completely undone the all the good work that they did with relaunching the franchise with the decent Casino Royale. Shame. :mad:

All the Bond movies from Pierce Brosnan onwards have been shit if you ask me mate.