US Masters Golf from Augusta National Golf Club

Boxing too

https://twitter.com/pgatuor/status/1777386187474231400?s=46&t=PYj9bwbGq9x8mR3JFzN-5Q

The Saudis are waving their dicks thinking people in the west will be impressed. But people aren’t impressed.

But in a way paying billions to ruin golf must give the Saudis a weird sense of power. Maybe that’s what it’s ultimately about. Using power to break other people’s things rather than make things.

I don’t think they have much understanding of sport in general. They have the World Cup in 2034 and they have the team formerly known as Newcastle United, and they can probably increase their influence in things like Formula One and UFC and maybe very rich sports like Yachting, they might try to win the America’s Cup or something, but I don’t know what they can do beyond that. These are all niche sports, and golf and boxing are niche sports. Boxing’s impact on the global consciousness now is a drop in the ocean compared to what it was 40 years ago.

There aren’t that many sports that impact on a global scale where a takeover will make the world sit up and take notice. There’s football and that’s about it and even signing the 100 best players in the world to play in Saudi Arabia isn’t going to make people watch. The NFL would probably be second in terms of geopolitical impact of taking control of a sport. Maybe that might be their next target, to try to buy the Dallas Cowboys and move them to Jeddah or somewhere, but I’m not sure how that would work either.

If the Saudis have ruined golf they can’t be all bad.

Golf is not sport.

Ruining golf and united, Jaysus they’re great lads I’d say

Interesting both a few previews I’ve read fancied shane Lowry to go well.

I was listening to the no laying up podcast just there and only three players have been above average in all the strokes gained categories in the last five years.

Jon rahm, will zakatoris and shane Lowry.

Will you be tuning in on Sunday night as the tournament begins on the back 9?

I don’t think so, CD.

My viewing habits have changed in recent years. I no longer watch any of the following on Sunday nights:

The Sunday Game
Match of the Day 2
The back 9 of a major golf championship

Instead I prioritise sleep, health & wellbeing. A good & proper Sunday night sleep really allows you to attack the week ahead, as Bressie says.

I’d possibly only make an exception these days if it was a Ryder Cup Sunday on American soil with a tense & tight singles battle.

Do you watch American football?

Possibly the third & fourth quarter of the 6pm fixture. I might delve into the start of a 9pm or 9.25pm game but fairly rarely. I actually forgot about gridiron when making my sweeping statement earlier. I admit that there have been occasions when I’ve used Sky Go to watch my beloved Eagles on my phone when I’m meant to be sleeping.

Thank you for your full and frank disclosure. I presume if you cross reference matches you stayed up for with fun runs you did in the following days you’ll see a pattern emerging.

It’s more likely I stayed up late the nights of a proper fun run race. You know when the cup of post event adrenaline is overflowing. Like footballers who can’t fall asleep until 4am after playing an evening kick off under lights. Please cross reference my insightful play by play posting on NFL threads to my Strava account & revert back to me.

I’m not on strava mate.

https://twitter.com/dpworldtour/status/1778132505649881437?s=46&t=YOfhVM10W0bcyIiYSLI3Wg

All fun bets but have went for the following based on instinct, loyalty and listening to a few of those podcasts.

-Matsuyama (main bet)
-Lowry, Finau, Reed, Hadwin, Mickleson & Pavlon with (small fun bets)

Not really bothered by all those smaller markets.

Hopefully get value out of them above and it’s not a procession for Scottie/Rahm etc.

I think the only value golf betting wise is…

• big priced players in field to make Top 20 or Top 10

• Sunday bets. You see the leaderboard and can still get decent value on players making up 5 shot plus deficits on leaders.

I think it’s just all in the bookies favour backing anything e/w in golf unless you get massively lucky. No value unless a player places on his own in top 3

Will ye fuck off over to the golf betting thread with this bullshit and leave this thread for discussion of one of the top sporting events of the spring?

Cc @myboyblue @Bandage

I wouldn’t be big into crunching the numbers on my golf betting, just a bit of craic for the majors. Had Phil EW and Bubba the first year he won so Augusta has been a happy hunting ground overall.

Brooks just wins.