US Politics II. Trump’s extreme regime

Mehole has decreed that it is so. It won’t be Mehole’s son going off to fight in dubious wars, though Cork footballers might improve a little if he did

Working on the floor in a pharma manufacturing plant in Ireland is fairly lucrative id have thought with shift work etc

Manufacturing is a pretty broad term in fairness. And pharma is relatively high margin and clean. Most of the hard work would be in cleaning and change overs.

Big difference compared to textiles or a foundry

Would much more than 25pc say they’d be better off (not sure if that means richer or happier?) if they worked in a factory? But most would obviously say it’s better to have more manufacturing

It’s a services economy bro. Framing everything through the prism of goods is deliberately misleading. Billy Bob in Wyoming should learn telesales

What do you mean?

Manufacturing accounts for less than 10% of US economic output is the point

They want to bring back the manufacturing but they don’t want to work in the manufacturing. I wonder where they could get people to work these industries for them and make them loads of money. Did they have a solution to that in the past?

I spent a morning in a Ford factory in Dearborn, Michigan a few years ago observing the assembly line. It was fascinating to watch and hypnotic in a way but my jaysus I’d say it was soul crushing for the workers, turning the one screw all day every day.

My point was that that graph was being used to laugh at American for being stupid and brainwashed when the stats would be same in Ireland. (They are stupid and brainwashed btw)

Of course Jon Stewart didn’t think Trump would turn authoritarian because like the rest of the smug American liberal class he’s asleep.

Look at these Commie bastard’s

How about these commie motherfuckers……

Trump’s D.C. U.S. attorney pick appeared on Russian state media over 150 times

Nominee Ed Martin did not disclose his RT and Sputnik appearances from 2016 to 2024 to the Senate. The State Department has said the networks act like arms of Russian intelligence.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/dc-md-va/2025/04/16/ed-martin-rt-sputnik-usattorney/

Things on the ground must be fair shit for the average American that Trump has been able to install himself as dictator with pretty large support. Him and his cronies are openly doing things that would have had you ran from office in a heartbeat a few decades ago.

You have MAGA heads in massive pickup trucks acting as security guards to TESLA dealership. It’s complete bonkers.

I think I posted something about this before but America has always had a pretty sizeable proportion of people in favour of fascism. The 1930s America first fascist movement had lots of support (still find it insane trump borrowed the title of policy directly from a fascist movement). They had McCarthyism. They had segregation and no civil rights for black people to the late 60s. They have fascist police forces running around shooting black people with impunity up to the present day. Further back the country was founded on slavery and then ethnic cleansing of the natives and colonising of their land, which the Americans call their “manifest destiny”. They see this as “a good thing” in the same way the Brits see the empire. That’s before you ever get to their actions abroad. It’s not that far of a hop skip and jump to full on fascist authoritarianism.

It’s fuck all to do with the lot of the average American. It’s entirely to do with the relentless avalanche of fascist bullshit that is the media and social media.

Fascist bullshit is the very air Americans breathe.

I heard that waffler mehole talking shite w TDS PK this morning

You think the Chinese government are a great bunch of lads?

Ehhhh…

You really aren’t qualified to talk about common sense.