Plain facts are like kryptonite to someone having a hysteric meltdown.
As is demonstrated when the fact that the Irish fella is legally in the US is pointed out.
Gas cunts
Ah, great to know he has a valid visa. The paedo-nazi media must have missed this.
He will be grand so.
He has a valid work permit and therefore has a right to be there.
A plain, unvarnished fact.
Bootlickers of paedo-Nazis hate facts.
Now fuck off and lick Putinâs hole.
Wrong.
Donât let facts stop you behaving like a spastic having a fit.
I completely disagree. I think at the very beginning, 99% of people thought â oh fuck, what a horrendous story, the poor bastardâ. I certainly did. And it gave us a bit of a view into what can happen in ice detention. I wouldnt really give a fuck about the small time drug dealing. Although when i heard it i thought â this lad is a bit thick knowing that and still getting the missus on liveline about it⌠although it was possibly his only roll of the diceâ
When i heard about the kids i thought⌠âhe has to be a bit of a cunt to leave 2 kids over a small enough drug chargeâ.
I also think that when the state decides whether to go to bat for one of its citizens in this way, that the fact that he skipped a warrant and his family is a matter to be considered.
I wouldnât consider any of these thoughts to be odd, unnatural or pro rape/paedo nazism.
You are echoing my thoughts exactly.
He should have kept himself out of the media knowing his own past.
The far right accounts on Twitter digging up his dads mass cards is a bit cunty too all the same.
Whats that about? Not on twitter.
Just to be clear on one thing
I have never and will never use the paedo Nazi line so please donât refer to it in response to my posts,
I wasnât referring to you when I mentioned certain posters even though the reply was to you
I dunno tbh but I just seen them posting it.
They were highlighting him and his brother being mentioned as the two sons.
Your response was to me though? Do you still think people were out to get this fella from the start?
In fairness, i do think itâs quite obvious to all that the paedo nazi bit wasnât in response to youâŚ
I agree with all your points here.
It seems that you are wrong here, according to the paper of record.
Premium
Eilis OâHanlon: God loves a trier, but ICE detainee Seamus Culleton took one chance too many
Call for the Taoiseach to take up the Kilkenny manâs case with Donald Trump are deluded
Eilis OâHanlon
February 15 2026 05:30 AM
Alarm bells should have rung when Seamus Culleton said he was being held in a âmodern day concentration campâ.
The ÂIrishman was detained by US Immigration and Customs ÂEnforcement (ICE) agents last ÂSeptember and sent to a Âfacility in El Paso, Texas, while he fights Âdeportation.
Speaking on Liveline last week, he reported that the toilets and showers there are filthy and the portion sizes of the meals served to detainees are more suitable for children.
Unpleasant, no doubt. You certainly wouldnât be giving the place a five-star review on Tripadvisor.
Read More
- âA pending Green Card and work authorisation does not give someone legal status to be in our countryâ â US official says Irish manâs ICE detention claims are false
- Catherine Prasifka: If we really want to punch above our weight this St Patrickâs Day, we should cancel White House visit
- Declan Lynch: Saving Private Ryan â Tubridyâs media operation starting to resemble the D-Day landings
Historians of the Nazi period, however, have tended to place the fact that the jacks could have done with a squirt of Toilet Duck at the lower end of the scale of offences in Auschwitz.
Nor were inmates offered a free flight home and $3,500 (âŹ2,950) in cash to leave, which Culleton turned down. As a result, US authorities deny he is being detained at all, since he could leave at any time.
ADVERTISEMENT
Kieran Cuddihy, the new presenter of Liveline, did not challenge Culleton very vigorously on this, of course.
The new kid on the block had a coup, having bagged an exclusive interview with an Irish victim of the ICE crackdown that has radicalised anti-ÂTrump voices around the world.
So, when Culleton said his conditions amounted to âpsychological and physical tortureâ, Cuddihy clearly saw his role as that of a sympathetic ear, rather like a solicitous hairdresser as the client moans about their unhappy love life during a colour and cut.
In due course, it turned out that Culleton had other reasons for worrying about returning home.
Sleuths on social media dug up the inconvenient fact that, back in 2009, the Kilkenny native had failed to appear in court on various charges, including the unlawful possession of drugs for sale and supply.
A warrant was issued for his arrest. Now, it could be there is a perfectly innocent explanation for the drugs he allegedly had in his possession all those years ago. Had he chosen to go to court at the time, we might have heard it.
Kilkenny native Seamus Culleton with his wife Tiffany Smyth
Of course, even if he was guilty, it hardly makes him a master criminal. People make mistakes. One can, as such, feel sorry for this man â and his blameless American wife Tiffany â on a human level. He had since Âacquired a valid work permit in the US and had applied for a Green Card. He has no criminal record in his adopted Âhomeland.
ADVERTISEMENT
Donald Trump pledged that ICE would target âthe worst of the worstâ among illegal immigrants, such as rapists, child abusers and violent gang members. Untold numbers of these degenerates have indeed been rounded up and deported, which anyone whose mind has not been addled by toxic progressivism would welcome.
At the same time, a wider range of people have been caught in the net, as happens when trawling the deep sea rather than fishing for a catch with a rod and line.
All the same, Culleton has little cause for complaint. Had they known about the drugs charges at the time, he would not have been allowed into the US in the first place. Immigration desks at US airports are not famed for their happy-go-lucky attitude, after all.
He went to the US on a visa waiver programme, which allows tourists to stay for up to 90 days. No extensions are permitted, and work or study is forbidden. The rules are clear. By playing hide and seek with the authorities, Culleton got a generous portion of Âextra years in the States.
Let he who is without sin cast the first stone at the Kilkenny man for chancing his arm. God loves a trier. But consequences finally caught up with him, as consequences generally do. Itâs a classic case of what experts call Fafo â f**k around, find out.
Culleton found out.
We canât interfere in another countryâs immigrations laws
Faced with a man who turned out to be a victim of nothing other than his own bad choices, we are apparently meant to wring our hands and rend our clothes and demand that ÂSomething Must Be Done.
ADVERTISEMENT
Something is being done in ÂCulletonâs case. He has received âdue processâ. An immigration judge last September said he must leave.
As Foreign Minister Helen McEntee told reporters in Brussels on Wednesday: âWe canât interfere in another countryâs immigrations laws.â
Precisely. We deport people who are here illegally too (albeit nowhere near enough for many votersâ liking).
For MicheĂĄl Martin to use his visit to the White House on St Patrickâs Day to unfurl a âFree Seamusâ banner â as many seemingly want the Taoiseach to do â would be the height of hypocrisy, not to mention a waste of a rare opportunity to raise matters of far greater urgency to the Irish people.
Illegal Irish immigrants are Âsimply experiencing what Mexicans and others have experienced for years â something from which they had largely been spared because of the powerful voices in the States lobbying on Irelandâs behalf.
The real reason for the hue and cry over Culleton, of course, is that the latest deportations by ICE are Âhappening under Trump.
Ryan Tubridy appeared on âThe Assembly Irelandâ on Monday night. Photo: Virgin Media
Barack Obama deported more Âillegals than any other US president before him. In 2022, Ricky Pellecchia, a 38-year-old Dundalk native, was deported after overstaying his tourist visa, but that was under Joe Biden, so did not cause much of a fuss either.
ADVERTISEMENT
This furore is not about humanitarianism. Itâs just politics, and itâs all rather tiresome and predictable.
It is just another example of the increasing phenomenon of out-of-touch Irish media and politicos demanding we be outraged about certain things, while most people have better things to obsess about.
The shameless PR campaign to prepare the way for Ryan Tubridyâs Âreturn to RTĂ is another case in point.
The latest JNLR figures suggest he was not greatly missed by listeners and there was clearly no great scramble for his services in commercial broadcasting, either here or in the UK.
There he is, nonetheless, gurning out from the front cover of last weekâs RTĂ Guide and popping up on TV and radio more often than that ad reminding you that you might not like paying the licence fee, but itâs the law.
People who do pay the licence fee must be baffled by this fixation with foisting Tubridy on them again.
Think of it as a reminder that ÂOfficial Ireland is just one big club, and youâre not part of it. Membership depends on holding certain beliefs: that men are women if they say they are, even when they carry out mass shootings; that mass immigration is all sunshine and roses, and only a bigot would say otherwise; that Tubridy is anything more than a bog-average broadcaster who got lucky, only to fall foul of Fafo as well.
ADVERTISEMENT
Read More
- âA pending Green Card and work authorisation does not give someone legal status to be in our countryâ â US official says Irish manâs ICE detention claims are false
- Catherine Prasifka: If we really want to punch above our weight this St Patrickâs Day, we should cancel White House visit
- Declan Lynch: Saving Private Ryan â Tubridyâs media operation starting to resemble the D-Day landings
There is no evidence that people in the real world actually believe these things, but saying them is the price you pay for entry to the inner circle.
Do you want to share your opinion on the issues raised in this article? Email sunday.letters@independent.ie to submit a response of up to 300 words to be considered for publication in our letters section
Why you can Trust the Irish Independent: Learn about Editorial Guidelines and AI Use