Venezuela

Stalin’s Russia weren’t and modern China aren’t great on the aul workers rights crack .

Which is why Karl Marx’s critique of it is more relevant than it has ever been - and it has always been relevant.

And?

And make of it what you will .

I never advocated either - no extreme works and currently we have extreme capitalism.

Capitalism thrives on innovation mate. You’re confusing capitalism with corporatism, governments controlled by special interests and picking winners and losers, when the government’s role should be protecting it’s citizens from special interests.

You’ve been ranting about “socialist Europe” for the whole time you’ve been on this forum.

You’ve repeatedly referred to France as “socialist”.

If all countries were like France it wouldn’t be such a bad world.

Instead of just bitching at each other how about a few of ye go in to some detail to back up your arguments. I think both systems have their merits. The problem is people are greedy cunts and never follow the rules.

The trappings of extreme capitalism is what’s leading to corruption, mate - unless the narrative is changed then that won’t change. I’ve alread agreed numerous times that capitalism is probably the system that works best - but we need a regulated form - a capitalist-socialsim.

Wrong again. Where did I claim that? Once again you are arguing a point that I didn’t make. (the definition of a straw man argument).

And there you go again with your other usual tactic of trying to define words to suit yourself. Not use them in the way everyone understands them or anything. More shite.

It really is hopeless engaging with you at all.

That’s a clamping.

Four legs good two legs bad

You don’t make any points, except for the earlier paragraph you copied from Wiki. What do you mean “the way everyone understand them?”. You could ask 100 people what socialism is, 90 wouldn’t have a clue (including yourself seemingly), and the other 10 each have a different definition. The latter 10 at least have some leg to stand on, as there are several varieties of socialism.

Fucking hell, insane stuff, :joy: I was bored of the continued mention of your typo and tried to clear it up, thought I was doing you a bit of a favour.
You’ve been drinking??

All animals are equal but some animals are more equal than others.

The success of western Europe and the US etc. in the post war period was to a huge extent because of the alternative on offer in the communist bloc and the popularity of socialist ideals which resulted in social democracy with the welfare state, nationalised industry etc. These things are inherently socialist by nature.

The robber baron version of capitalism was tried before. It was extremism, it failed grotesquely, and was a huge driver on the road to the second world war.

Since the emergence of Thatcherism/Reaganism in the late 1970s, and particularly since 1989, the robber baron version of capitalism has made a big comeback, and we now see that once again it has been a massive failure.

Those on the right such as the Tories and Republicans still push this version of capitalism which has proven to be such a spectacular failure.They continue to be extremists for their quasi-religious mumbo-jumbo. But then again they are the ones to directly benefit from it, so why on earth would they change?

Ah stop :grin::grin:

I have no idea what happened, I thought me and that chap were mates by proxy due to a common enemy, :astonished: he fucked all that away now and he’ll be pissed off with himself in the morning :confused:

If I’m don’t make any points then where is the claim you say I made that I didn’t make? You really make no sense at all.

Many types of socialism, well done. The most sensible thing you’ve said tonight. Goodnight pal.

Why was this model such a failure?