Venezuela

He declared himself president you eejit

He didn’t. The National Assembly appointed him as interim President, in accordance with the constitution.

All the democracies in the region, the greatest democracy in the world, and the great democracies of Europe support his appointment. Yet you find yourself on the side of Russia, China and Turkey, those great bastions of democracy and freedom. Have a think about that.

Er, yes he is. Read what the title is.

No. His office of President of the National Assembly comes from the majority poeition of the party. The declaration of him being President of the country comes from an interpretation of the constitution no doubt with the assistance of US lawyers. Maduro was actually elected as President of the country in an election. You and the US may not like that and it’s obvious that the US will do allit can to get access to Venezuela’s oil so Maduro and the Venezuelan people are ging to suffer even more than they have done already at the hands of the US 's imposition of sanctions.

It’s constitutionally murky at best

This is what you were responding to.

TBS, any organization with credibility has called out those elections a sham.

The united states have been trying to enact regime change in venezuela since chavez came to power. Along with the elites in venezuela they have been happy to support attempted coups since then and after that tactic failed they have have slapped a load of sanctions on the country to try starve the people so that they would push for change. They havent even tried hide it. Guiado is a puppet. No more no less. No matter your politics the blatant political interference to suit the US agenda (read oil interests) is sinister but not surprising. It should give any right thinking person pause for thought.

Oh yes, another one who watched the Revolution Will Not Be Televised.

True or false the US have being trying to overthrow the Government in Venezuela for decades?

There are no elites left in Venezuela, anyone with a bit of ambition has fled the country. The decline of Venezuela from being the richest democracy in south America to an impoverished shithole is all down to another revolutionary socialist movement that promised free stuff to everyone and delivered poverty to everyone. The economic policies of Chavez and Maduro are what have led to the state the country is in, not anything the US has done. The US remained Venezuela’s major trading partner throughout the Chavez and Maduro years, there were no economic sanctions, sanctions against individuals yes.

An election similar to how Putin was elected. Is that why you find it credible?

At least they’re not hideously fat like the Americans.

In fairness the Americans don’t mind elections like that when it suits them.

The US would like to see democracy restored in Venezuela, and it’s people freed from totalitarianism. Leftists in Ireland would prefer to see everyone starve, because socialism is good by definition.

Which Government?

Again, can we stick to the here and now? Every single reputable agency called those elections a sham. Any country worth their salt has called out this situation.

Apparently we are back in the Reagan years or Neocon ones. No matter that the world has spent 2 years raising against Trump and Russia, the fact that they are diametrically opposed here is irrelevant.

The reason why Venezuala has failed is because they failed as a country to build a balanced economy. Chavez and Co destroyed the oil industry there. Venezuala had more than enough resources and still does, the country is fucked because of chronic mismanagement.

Lads here now siding with Russia (when in the Trump context he is evil incarnate) and China (who are trying to build soft power all over the globe).

Lots of this is true. But Maduro is batshit mental also. My nextdoor neighbour married a Venezuelan lady. She used to run a succesful publication. Until the government knocked in one day and took it off her hands. She left. A few years later her parents(both doctors) left because the place had gone to shit. Their wages, dezpite being worse than most, were worth fuckall. They moved to spain. Your country is obviously going down the tubes if all your doctors and nurses are leaving…*

Cc @tallback

The US doesn’t give a fuck what the government is in Venezuela as long as they open the gates for the oil companies to come in.

You couldn’t make it up. The US bad, Russia and China good. Meanwhile sipping on their lattes in Starbucks. Simpletons.

The US has tried to bring down this government and Castro’s. They are facts. Maybe you think they are right to do so and that’s fine. But suggesting they haven’t is nonsense

Indeed. 40% of Venezualan exports but yes it’s all “sanctions”.