Venezuela

That is utter bollix.

I’m not going to defend the US’s actions in the past. It is very possible to criticise one and also hold the position that Venezuala needs fresh elections. FYI though, the coups in Venezuala were not all US led.

What is the end game of your point here? If you do not have free and fair elections then how is a country asserting its sovereignty? The elections were widely criticized as a sham, so we should just along with it?

It seems as though Iraq resulted in totally illogical viewpoints on this. The West was split on Iraq, they are not split here. People are literally gobbling up a regime’s propoganda with China and Russia leading the charge. The sensible people who might have supported Venezuala in the past have called out this sham, others have too large an ego to admit what is going on.

The economic collapse in Venezuela has nothing to do with the US or any outside influence, and all to do with disastrous policies by the Chazez/Maduro government. If you did any research you would agree with that. Venezuela is in the midst of a humanitarian crisis, are you saying other countries shouldn’t intervene? The US is currently sending aid to Venezuela and Colombia, where Venezuelans have fled. Should they stop?

No no dumbass, we were taking about Latin American, and what you said is that mass murder and crimes against humanity are grand as long you are committed to capitalism. And now you’ve added that totalitarian states are grand as long as they are committed to capitalism.

You really are some gobshite.

Of course they were because the opposition refused to take part! For what its worth i think the best course of action would be fresh elections.

Do you think that venezuela poses an “unusual and extraordinary threat" to the united states? And if so in what way?

I haven’t said any of that you utter simpleton. Latin America is well capable of mass murder and crimes against humanity with no US or any foreign interference. It’s the most violent region of the world, you would know that if you knew anything about the region which you obviously don’t. The murder rate in Venezuela has recently surpassed Honduras, which is 82 per 100,000 per year. Of the 20 countries with the highest murder rate in the world, 17 of the are in Latin America.

But it’s all the fault of the US.
Simpleton.

Source please. Not doubting you btw. Just can’t find anything to back that up

cc @anon7035031. This is where you supported mass murder as long as it props up capitalism.

You complete gobshite.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2018/04/25/latin-america-is-the-worlds-most-violent-region-a-new-report-investigates-why/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.76b5a315f226

A left wing source even.

What mass murders in Latin America has the US supported? Are you suggesting none of the civil wars etc. would have happened without the US involved? The US has certainly taken sides in conflicts, but they are hardly responsible for the conflicts themselves. You simply know nothing about the region, you jackass.

The Washington Post is not left-wing.

The only reason one would think that is if they’re a raving right-wing lunatic.

Which you are.

I dont know the numbers but id say you could be wrong on the murder rate numbers. Id say there are more than 3 countries in Africa with higher rates, also some in Asia as well.

If you go to the website that article is referencing it actually states;

When measured by homicide rate, 14 of the 20 most dangerous countries in the world are located in Latin America and the Caribbean.

To be fair I think the Washington Post might be referencing the previous version of the study. Still ridiculously high but it’s more like 10 Latin American countries in the top twenty than 17. If you drill down deeper again you’ll see that it’s an incomplete data set. Likely the countries where you can’t get data will be pretty high up the list of murders.

Anyway I’m not arguing just thought the number seemed very high.

Three US cities in the top 50 most dangerous cities in the World to live in. Fucking socialism eh. :joy:

I see Mexico is in the top 4 countries for murder in the World. But wait…aren’t they a capitalist country :thinking:

Why don’t you go away and Google the regimes the US has supported in Latin America and the mass murders they committed. All grand according to you because it was in support of capitalism.

Gobshite.

Why don’t you give us an example of a conflict in Latin America, tell us who the good guys and bad guys were, how many each side killed, and who the US supported.

You braying jackass.

No need for that, you specifically said so.

Gobshite.

Where did I mention a link between a country’s murder rate and whether it is socialist or capitalist? You’ve jumped off on a tangent there. Countries, cities, etc. have high murder rates where violent crime is rampant and life is not valued.

The discussion regarding capitalism versus socialism has more to do with state sponsored murder, I think you’ll find the socialists/communists win that one handily.

“On the right side of history”

You’re the one who has linked the US supporting Latin American dictators (which they undoubtedly have) to the support of mass murder and crimes against humanity. Up to you to provide evidence for that, gobshite.

While you’re at it, point out where I have indicated support for any foreign intervention by the US.

“On the right side of history”

Deaths 500,000[2]:3 to 3,000,000[3][4

Jesus wept.