How have these lads fared so far? Bandage-any background information for us?
I can’t see the site in work so I’ve no idea how they’re doing. Never like these teams that have sold their name to a sponsor though. It’s like TNS in Wales, Red Bull Salzburg, PSV in the Netherlands and Bayer Leverkusen in Austria. Now Simply Mortgages in Ireland joining the bandwagon.
They have won 2 and lost 1.
Their loss was in their first game, 6-0, against Agger’s Angels. AA’s are the side who play in balck t-shirts who lost 11-8 in their second game to UBS Titans, the side we drew 4-4 with in our first game. 6-0 is the scoreline given when a team fails to turn up and I have a feeling AA’s were left waiting at 8pm on the first night when we were coming off.
So they may have won their 2 games played. There’s no need for concern though. The two wins were 6-4 against Ian Paisley’s Dream and 10-7 against AC Corleone. These two teams have been taking kickings against everyone in their first few games as the table below shows. If we play with DISCIPLINE, conviction and style then we should take them and begin our ascent back up the table:
POS TEAM P W D L F A +/- PTS
1 Athletico De Merrion 3 3 0 0 42 13 29 9
2 Aggers Angels 3 2 0 1 20 10 10 6
3 Simply MOrtgages 3 2 0 1 16 17 -1 6
4 UBS Titans 3 1 1 1 21 21 0 4
5 Digi-Beat Ya 3 1 1 1 16 17 -1 4
6 thefreekick.com 3 1 1 1 13 14 -1 4
7 Ian Paisleys Dream Team 3 0 1 2 15 21 -6 1
8 AC CORLEONE 2 0 0 2 11 20 -9 0
Just emerged from a selection meeting. The team for tomorrow’s game is:
Rocko
Farmer
Tinnion
Jugs
Fats
Kylo
Smelly
Clarkey
Let’s go out and hammer these brokers.
I felt like Seanie Flood in 1996 when I had to admit my defeat against this knee problem.
I just hope you all were as moved by my emotional words as the Wexford lads were in the All Ireland Final.
I have waited my whole life to play in a game like tomorrow and to miss out is something I don’t think I’ll ever overcome. Think of how much I want to be out there when you’re out on that pitch and win it for me.
Stirring words Bandage. The acid test tomorrow will be whether we can look you in the eye next week and say, “Yes sir, I gave my all for the team.”
Just make sure you give your glvoes to Jugs.
Oh, I’ll be there rocko. I’ll be there indeed.
Great news Bandage.
Still hopeful the jerseys will be with us tomorrow. Should be the making of us.
**** JERSEYS HAVE ARRIVED *****
Barring any mishaps I shall be driving to Fingal pre-match to collect the new kit.
Belting news about the jerseys. It should add to the intimidatory factor.
This should go up here too. So, what we gonna do?
Al Pacino’s speech from Any Given Sunday:
I don’t know what to say really. Three minutes to the biggest battle of our professional lives all comes down to today. Either we heal as a team or we are going to rumble. Inch by inch play by play till we’re finished. We are in hell right now, gentlemen believe me and we can stay here and get the shit kicked out of us or we can fight our way back into the light. We can climb out of hell. One inch, at a time. Now I can’t do it for you. I’m too old. I look around and I see these young faces and I think I mean I made every wrong choice a middle age man could make. I uh… I pissed away all my money believe it or not. I chased off anyone who has ever loved me. And lately, I can’t even stand the face I see in the mirror.
You know when you get old in life things get taken from you. That’s, that’s part of life. But, you only learn that when you start losing stuff. You find out that life is just a game of inches. So is football. Because in either game life or football the margin for error is so small. I mean one half step too late or to early you don’t quite make it. One half second too slow or too fast and you don’t quite catch it. The inches we need are everywhere around us. They are in ever break of the game every minute, every second.
On this team, we fight for that inch. On this team, we tear ourselves, and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We CLAW with our finger nails for that inch. Cause we know when we add up all those inches that’s going to make the fucking difference between WINNING and LOSING between LIVING and DYING. I’ll tell you this in any fight it is the guy who is willing to die who is going to win that inch. And I know if I am going to have any life anymore it is because, I am still willing to fight, and die for that inch because that is what LIVING is. The six inches in front of your face.
Now I can’t make you do it. You gotta look at the guy next to you. Look into his eyes. Now I think you are going to see a guy who will go that inch with you. You are going to see a guy who will sacrifice himself for this team because he knows when it comes down to it, you are gonna do the same thing for him. That’s a team, gentlemen and either we heal now, as a team, or we will die as individuals. That’s football guys. That’s all it is.
Now, whattaya gonna do??
Only when you have seen true darkness can you really appreciate the light.
Let’s go out and kick seven shades of scheidt out of these brokers.
Match report on the front page bhoys.
Funny flashback from the freekick celebrations in that new niteclub Copper Face Jack’s after the game the other night.
We’re all locked downstairs and Jugs spots a lad he used to go to school with.
Shouting a little more loudly than intended he goes, ‘Ah there’s fat Paddy G$%^’.
Yer man hears, walks over and gets right up in Jugsy’s face and replies, ‘Next time I’m fat Paddy G$%^ you’ll be Jugs No Teeth’.
Jugsy pooed a little.