But very few in the media do, in fact the vast majority are extremely deferential. Cooper is the only other one off the top of my head whoâs any use in that way in the broadcast media. The rest are a dead loss.
He calls bullshit when he sees it and is independent to the point of financial ruin. Compare him with that utter bollocks Sam Smyth who is only too happy to play the game with them, or Anton Savage who asks five minute long questions and spends the rest of the time laughing raucously at the even faintest attempt at a joke. Most of the journalists are far too interested in âpoliticsâ which is ultimately a game and only relatively serious. They are glorified entertainment columnists. Few of them seriously discuss policy and the few that do are the only ones of any worth.
Didnt Browne try to get on the FG ticket at one stage. He can be entertaining but the last time I was at home Pat Rabbitte fairly put him back in his box. Better than Prime Time anyway. Any decent interviewer would make bits of Brian Lenihan and the shite he came out with on a RTE player clip I watched yesterday. Miriam OâCallaghan was pretty embarrassing.
This is exactly what I mean. He is always harping on about the ministerial cars. I would say it get a mention in every episode. He has these âpetâ topics that he loves to keep going on about.
The country is going down the swanny and he is going on about ministerial cars.
His interview of Brian Lenihan was cringeworthy. Lenihan tore him a new one, and in the end he throws out a comment about Seanie Fitz being Lenihanâs mate. Lenihan took him up on it, saying he had never even met Fitzpatrick to which Browne apologised.
Cruelly exposed as the one trick cantankerous old fuck that he is.
I didnât see anyone pin down Cowen or Lenihan around the time of that interview. I listened to them both run rings around Matt Cooper who is probably the best interviewer in the country. Pat Kenny fared no better. There are lots of reasons for this, not least the fact that Fianna Fail control the dept of finance and consequently the evidence that is released to the media, making it difficult for anyone else understand our economic status beyond their depiction of it. I donât find Browne to be a sophisticated interviewer either but if failing to pin down Lenihan at that stage of the crisis is the charge then everyone else in the country is useless as well.
A fair point but Browneâs interview techniques versus Lenihan made him look like a fool. Cooper may not have pinned them down either but looked less of an idiot in doing so.
I would have Cooper far ahead of Browne as an interviewer. The likes of OâCallaghan is a joke. Kenny is too fond of interrupting even when the interviewee is trying to answer the question.
Cooper is the best in the country if you ask me.
Brian Dobson is a cracking interviewer imo.
Never heard of him.
Bryan Dobson is pretty good though.
Browne is funny and a refreshing change from some of the other mundane stuff but itâs hard to take him that seriously. Mrs Rock attended his radio show once and Browne was âhelpedâ to his chair by staff as he was âtired and emotional.â Bit of a character, great viewing, voice of protest (no harm) but heâs not in the same league as Cooper alright.
Pity Cooper does some crappy quizes and stuff on his show. Heâs easily the best political interviewer when he does it. I may have posted this on here before but I was listening to him in the car one day interviewing Cooper-Flynn and he was excellent.
âBeverly, why is An Taoiseach [Bertie] so hard on you?â
âI donât know Matt.â
âHeâs had his problems with money obviously. Youâd think heâd have some sympathy with your plightâŚâ
âI know.â
âDo you think itâs that youâre not from Dublin?â
âIâd say it played a role alright.â
Buttered her up for ages and pretended to be her best friend. Not doing it justice there but she ended up hanging herself and Bertie in her answers when she was still a government supporter.
I remember you telling me that - didnât he ask her about how she thought FF had treated her âpoor fatherâ?
Reminds me of Gay Byrne interviewing Padraig on the infamous Late Late episode. Flynn started listing off where his three houses were. Byrne laughed and said âwell done, youâve certainly done well for yourself. I suppose you need the three houses do you?â
He gave Flynn the rope to hang himself with.
Byrne, while obnoxious at the best of times. was a great interviewer.
Browne is very much of the Dunphy vintage alright.
The anti-west Limerick bias from Farmer here is sickening.
Keep the small country man down attitude from the city folk such as Farmer and BandageâŚ
Yeah I knew I was leaving something out. Played the sympathy card for Padraig too to get her onside and pretended to be fully supportive of Padraig just so Bev would agree that Bertie is a hypocrite for condemning others when he has his own dodgy past. It was great listening.
Byrne was great at stuff like that too. A fucking fool now though.
Vincent had a guy on last night who was interim director for communications for I think the Dublin Arch Diocese back when the âCardinal Sinsâ documentary came out in 2002. Vince must have asked the guy easily 15 times whether he asked the Archbishop the question did the abuses take place, he never answered. VB was getting quite vexed
Vinny not handling Peter Power well. Got badly flustered.
He should have held his cool and finished the cunt.
Justine would get one.
I hear Vincent is being taken off air for the next two Mondays to allow the showing of 'Iâm a CelebrityâŚGet me out of here".
Sean Munsanje says people need a break from reality so itâs ok.
http://www.herald.ie/multimedia/archive/00380/1208_xposurewinner__380450t.jpg
SS** in the studio with Vincent tonightâŚ
SS** is hardly that foppish
This âIndependent Banking Expertâ dude that Vinny has on every now and again is a bizarre guest. Nobody knows who the fuck he is.