I hope they never win another Co Championship for going to see those utter cunts.
Iām hearing rumblings that Peter Queally is gone. The writing was on the wall really with those developments last week.
A grand two year stop gap for someone like Pat Ryan or Brendan Cummins
Pat Ryan was very close to taking Waterford job previously. Canāt quite recall what player power push that was after. Iāve heard his name mentioned again already. Likes of Darragh OāSullivan and Jason Ryan probably be eyeing it up too.
I think it was ill health stopped him.
That was the public excuse. The reason was that he didnāt want to be interviewed by the players.
As I said last week, there was a delegation of 3 players who met the some of the County Board Executive for an end of season discussion.
Presumably the players will be looking to conduct the interviews and do the hiring again this time around.
Darragh O Sullivan has the minor gig again next year and Jason Ryan would be stone mad to leave the gig heās in probably on more money now anyway. Tony Browne gone with Joxer. I heard last week Duck was trying to conduct a back room team with Pat Ryan to go for itā¦
Queally has stepped down.
Thankfully,
He got his chance and I suppose he deserved it for being in and around set ups and giving his services for so long,
He gave it his all but he wasnāt up to it at any stage in my opinion.
Queally had 2 years. Performances werenāt too bad on the whole but itās a results business and wins were thin on the ground.
They won the first round robin match against Clare last year, then didnāt win any of the other 7. There were 2 failures from 2 to advance from round Robin and league relegation as well.
He was Number 2 to Davy as well in 2023 and 2024 when it was a near identical record of 2 failures from 2 to advance from round Robin and league relegation.
Players have a short enough shelf life. If they feel a manager canāt get the team to deliver, theyāll be agitating. Mind you, the players delegation that met with the County Board last week could maybe focus a bit on their level of contribution and performance on the pitch.
Thereās a culture of player power in Waterford going back to the removal of Justin McCarthy in early 2008. Justin didnāt do too badly at all delivering 3 Munster titles (first since 1963) and a league title (also first since 1963) in his 6 and a bit years at the helm from 2002. Waterford have only won 1 Munster and 2 leagues since then.
Time for Derek to return?
![]()
Ah noooo
I doubt it. Derek wouldnāt be a big favourite of the County Board.
This is the first time in the bones of 30 years Waterford donāt have top players.
Queally can bow out with his head held high. He did his best and had his teams well prepared but was a bit of an unlucky general.
Iād be surprised if Pat Ryan wanted to get back involved so soon, but its been good to see him on Newstalk lately and maybe he feels a bit of loyalty to Ducky.
Cummins would be a very good shout for it. Heās much maligned but heās pragmatic and with Hurling now effectively a mathematical equation heād be perfect. It was funny during the build up on Sunday, the language he was talking while out on the pitch - ā8 v 6sā, ā3 v 2sā etc and of course the obligatory āwan on wanā inside. It drives lads demented but its exactly what Hurling has become now thanks to the laptop men.
The timing is wrong for Jason Ryan. You canāt leave Ballygunner in the lurch when they are going to be supplying 25-30% of a Waterford panel.
I wouldnāt totally rule Derek out although he does seem to have an intense loyalty to Doon.
Bit of a nonsense point there, youāre better than that.
And a bit out of his depth general too. He was the weakest manager and had the weakest management set up in Munster. He brought duck on board this year but he seemed to pay little if any heed to him. Regardless of the players it seems his whole set up was walking away.
Ultimately the county board have to have a look at things. The last 2 appointments (and 3 of the last 4 really) have been huge disappointments. Davy and Davylite can only motivate you so far these days.
He had 2 years in the last set up and 2 years running things and he leaves us having being competitive for the most part in Munster this year. So itās is definitely time for a new man.
Letās be honest here. Queally was a dud and cheap appointment for a county board that had been ripped off for a second time by Davy.
I thought Queally had ye competing the best ye had in a long time and with a weaker set of players than the rest. Seems to be hard done by to me.