Waterford Wedgwood

Gone into receivership.

Not sure what the impact will be on their 800 or so Irish employees yet.

The receiver’s going to try to sell it as a going concern and it’s going to continue trading for now at least.

So, glass half full or glass half empty?

Thought it was just receivership? Or has administration just been announced?

Apologies Mac, it is indeed receivership. I shall edit my initial post just to make things crystal clear.

According to RTE its receivership and adminstration so your half correct. Deleted my original post to check it out.

receivership in Ireland and administration in the UK. Interesting. That would indicate they feel it is salvageable in the UK but not here.

WW is fooked. Anto has been dumping cash into it for years to no avail. Trying to sell luxury goods in this market with the US and UK economies as they are is going to be a fools errand. Pity, its a great brand

Whats Cian O’Connor going to call his horse now?

Smackhead?

The sad thing is this is just the start of it. Most of those jobs will go.
I’ve got 2 jobs in the last 2 months that have both been pulled before i was due to start. There is now 7 less recruitment agencies or sub offices in Cork than there was in October. Now there was too many anyway and most of them are useless, but its an indication of whats going on.

Waterford Glass is sadly fooked. Has been for some time.

Hope they at least manage to sell as a going concern and keep the showroom and tourist bit going in Waterford.

I remember looking at the share price of this place a few months back. Ouch.

Recruitment agencies are nothing but a shower of cunts. I hope they all go under. I’ve dealt with numerous recruiters around Dublin and words they all have in common are “incompetent”, “retarded”, “braindead” and of course, “cunts”.

Surely they’re an unnecessary expense for most companies anyway. 10k plus to advertise a job and read a few CVs. What the fook do HR departments do these days apart from make a mess of the payroll every month?

The cunts in my place made an arse of mine anyway, the cunts told me today that I still owed them 780 quid for 2008’s travel card. Arseholes, it’s not as if they’ve much to do except this kind of thing.

[quote=“HangBlaa”]Waterford Glass is sadly fooked. Has been for some time.

Did they ever really get over the recession in the 80’s?

Had a big strike in the late 80’s and it has been slowly downhill from there. The dollar last year knocked the shite out of them though.

Martin Cullen was on the news last night and was asked if the State will be ploughing money into it in order to save it as it is one of the recognised Irish brands?

He said that there will be an attempt to sell it to a private investor first but that it will be an option they would look at.

Don’t agree with that myself. The State can’t go around saving every business particularly when they are borrowing to cover day to day costs.

Laissez faire.

[quote=“Jugs”]Recruitment agencies are nothing but a shower of cunts. I hope they all go under. I’ve dealt with numerous recruiters around Dublin and words they all have in common are “incompetent”, “retarded”, “braindead” and of course, “cunts”.

Surely they’re an unnecessary expense for most companies anyway. 10k plus to advertise a job and read a few CVs. What the fook do HR departments do these days apart from make a mess of the payroll every month?[/quote]

I agree, and i believe there is a push for companies to do alot of their own hiring again. I dealt with them and most were absolutely brutal. Put you forward for jobs that didn’t suit you, put you forward without asking, not telling you about interviews, not telling you that you weren’t going forward etc etc. I did meet a couple of excellent people though, but they were absolutely in the very small minority.
The most annoying thing is when they get you in to “meet” and then they try and get you to work for the recruitment agency themselves, crazy.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I agree, and i believe there is a push for companies to do alot of their own hiring again. I dealt with them and most were absolutely brutal. Put you forward for jobs that didn’t suit you, put you forward without asking, not telling you about interviews, not telling you that you weren’t going forward etc etc. I did meet a couple of excellent people though, but they were absolutely in the very small minority.
The most annoying thing is when they get you in to “meet” and then they try and get you to work for the recruitment agency themselves, crazy.[/quote]

I have dealt with them as well recently and some are good and some are not. You get a good vibe off one group because one of the people there seems good only for some other cunt from the same agency to start hassling you and telling you that you need to lower your expectations. Fuck right off.

Don’t want to sound too negative as there are definitely some good recruiters out there. The last dude I dealt with barely rang me only to let me know about interviews and how I got on in interviews. He also didn’t go on the job specs that he (and every other recruiter) had on his desk he rang around a bit with people he would have dealt with before. A good guy.

It’s all on the person, not the actual agency.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Martin Cullen was on the news last night and was asked if the State will be ploughing money into it in order to save it as it is one of the recognised Irish brands?

He said that there will be an attempt to sell it to a private investor first but that it will be an option they would look at.

Dont agree with that myself. The State cant go around saving every business particularly when they are borrowing to cover day to day costs.

Laissez faire.[/quote]

I would agree with you farmer…I believe the government already put in money a few years ago along with Sir Anthony…It would be a big enough blow to waterford, I would say there would be an goo number of staff that have been with waterford wedgewood for donkey’s years

Cullen the local politician will say anything, like Willie ODea in Limerick, the cunts will say any old thing to buy themselves time when they have fuck all answers.

The government propping up this loss making company however is a big no no. Where would that craic stop? every small town chicken feed baggers getting baled out?

Finally, would it be fair to say the unions have fucked Waterford Crystal?