Wexford GAA 2008

Seems to be good mates with Hearty though. Had a big embrace for him at the end and referenced him as Paul in the interview.

Anyone think it is shite that it’s most probably going to be Dublin Wexford and Cork Kerry again? I think its time that the GAA did away with round robin system of provincial winners, particularly with the back door…

not saying he wasn’t injured, just that it was being overstated, because there is no way that first half mattie would have put over some of the point in the second half or moved around as much

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Fair fucks to ye.

Forde - cometh the hour cometh the man.[/quote]

Fair play farmer.

Matty is injured for quite a while now. I thought it was fairly noticeable anyway that he couldn’t really turn much plus he couldn’t get much of a run on Francie. He can still kick the oul points though alright. Thought it was a bit unfair that Matty got all the plaudits. He scored 1-5 I know but Eric Bradley had a savage game.
And it was some point by Red.

It was funny enough at half time yesterday in that we had done some of the things you simply can’t do against teams like Armagh such as soloing the ball into contact and coughing up possession. But equally we were doing lots of other things well, especially winning the midfield battle, and it showed we had the ability to beat them if we could maintain our workrate and improve our composure and decision making.

The spare defender tactic worked excellently in the last two games but credit goes to the lads out the field like Banville and Barry who have literally covered every blade of grass to make up for only having 5 forwards. Eric Bradley had a superb game and Bocky Doyle was very good alongside him.

PJ Banville worked tremendously hard and constantly ran at them and took on his man. Redmond Barry is an outstanding footballer and that picturebook point near the end from 45 yards with the outside of his foot is the kind of score that Wexford football supporters will remember for a long time.

Matty was brilliant in the second half and took his goal beautifully. I love that sound in Croke Park when the crowd on the other side of the ground let you know a shot’s sailing over the bar while the ball’s still travelling through the air. That’s the way it was for his points at the end. Class. Ciarn Lyng was a great foil for him too and was superb on the frees.

It was such a cracking win and a superb achievement by all the lads. I just hope Jason Ryan gets their feet back on the ground before the semi-final. In retrospect, we lost the run of ourselves a bit in the month before the Leinster Final. The lads were going around like celebrities opening supermarkets, art festivals and other types of crap. We’ll probably be playing Dublin again and we need to give a true account of ourselves against them. When you get to a semi-final you deserve to be there and there’s no point stopping there either.

Great stuff Wexford!

Kudos, fair fucks to ye lads. Imagine if Mattie has two legs…

We were discussing after the game yesterday which Wexford players would merit all star nominations - Matty is obviously going to get an All Star anyway and looks like he could finish top scorer in the championship again. Think that Red Barry and Eric Bradley should be nominated at least as well. David Murphy has also had one of his best seasons in a Wexford shirt and deserves one as well. What yez think lads?

I would like to extend my congratulations to my Wexford friends.

Yeah all those players will get nominated-I’d say Banville might get a shout and maybe Lynger and Colm Morris. Think the full forward line of Matty, PJ and Lyng have scored something like 4-45 in the championship. I’m a point or 2 out there but it’s some scoring.

Typically great editing by RTE for The Sunday Game. Was looking forward to see Matty’s points at the end again and they only showed one of them. Instead they showed an Armagh wide from the first half for example.

I think Redmond Barry is close to an All Star. Not sure David Murphy will get noticed by non-Wexicans. Colm Morris might get a nomination and Banville deserves one too. It depends on how our lads do in their next two games though.

Here’s a great picture - Georgie O’Connor after the 1996 All Ireland final:

http://www.askaboutireland.ie/image_large?asset_id=4345

[quote=“Bandage”]Here’s a great picture - Georgie O’Connor after the 1996 All Ireland final:

http://www.askaboutireland.ie/image_large?asset_id=4345[/quote]

no doubt you joined him to give greatful thanks.

Savage win, suppose yourself and Art will be hitting PV and AFR with wellyloads.

Can I ask what Coppers was like on Saturday without it turning into a diary of a a leaving cert student?

http://dynimg.rte.ie/0001a5fb15e.jpg

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]no doubt you joined him to give greatful thanks.

Savage win, suppose yourself and Art will be hitting PV and AFR with wellyloads.

Can I ask what Coppers was like on Saturday without it turning into a diary of a a leaving cert student?[/quote]

Carnage, utter utter carnage

Forde wears a red and white gumshield as they’re the colours of Kilanerin, his club. I think Farmer asked me about this once (it could have been someone else) so maybe others have wondered about this too. If none of you have then that’s your prerogative.

Slightly related to that Bandage - when the team stopped off in Gorey on Saturday evening the entire panel were dressed in Wexford tracksuits and tee-shirts but Mattie wore jeans and a different tee-shirt. Is this because of his deal with adidas and that he cant wear O’Neills gear? From the photo below as well he seems to have different gloves from the rest of the team as well. most wear those green o’neills one but his are red. A nothing question really but just curious!

http://www.tshirtireland.net/w/tshirt_gallery/Wexico-08.jpg

Greatest t-shirt on the net

http://www.tshirtireland.net/w/index.php

There are lots of other footballers that wear red and white gumshields I have noticed. Is it a case of Mattie specifically requiring such colours or just coincidence athat his gumshield matches his club colours?

Is there any need for a footballer to wear a gumshield anyway?

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]
Is there any need for a footballer to wear a gumshield anyway?[/quote]

Depends on who and what county you’re playing.

[quote=“Chicken George”]http://www.tshirtireland.net/w/tshirt_gallery/Wexico-08.jpg

Greatest t-shirt on the net[/quote]

Better than this one George?!

http://www.tshirtireland.net/w/tshirt_gallery/Eoin-Kelly.jpg