Red in midfield purely because we only have one midfielder whoâs anywhere close to intercounty standard. He fielded well enough for a small fella on Sunday. I just canât watch Boccy any more. Itâs cringeworthy at times. There was a time himself and Bradley were going for the same ball on Sunday and Iâd say 500 people mustâve told him to get the fook out of Bradleys way. You could argue that the reason we play that stupid 2 man full forward line is just to compensate for having him on the team cos heâs really gone backwards from the player that won man of the match against Down in 2008
Iâve been reliably informed that hurling is âdeadâ in Wexford, and that rugby is taking over - true or not? (genuine answer now ye pricks)
Its just by the Cork airport apparently, just outside the city. The Cork/Galway game is on the Sunday at 7, presuming Clare/Wexford is at 5.
I know they were seriously considering Red a midfield last year anyway Mac. As a kind of roving link player. Bandage is probably right though, Bradley and himself would be too attack minded and mightnât track back. Not that i saw Bocy tackle anyone on Sunday mind you. Iâd go for something like below; even though I reckon we might have to play a sweeper/extra defender against the Dubs (Malone?) and use a two man full forward line
Masterson
Walsh, Molloy, Wadding
Malone, Murphy, Murphy
Bradley, Boccy
Roche/Deeley, Red, Morrissey
Banville, Forde, Lyng
Wexford lads:
Sunday 25th April 2010
PĂĄirc Liam Mac CĂĄrthaigh
Ballygarvan
Senior Inter-county Hurling
Cork v Wexford
To mark the 125th anniversary and to celebrate the momentous event, Ballygarvan GAA Club are hosting an inter-county senior hurling game between Cork and Wexford.
The match gets underway at 6.30pm.
For more details, please check: www.ballygarvangaa.ie
Ye are entering Gods country there now lads. This is my auld fellas club, and as well as being the home of that super All-Star footballer Ger Spillane, it is certainly not a place for the faint hearted is Ballygarvan. A lovely pitch though, and in summer a great place to pass away an hour watching hurling.
Brendan âScoopâ Furlongâs match report in The Wexford People - I take it Alan Aherneâs on holidays given the lack of editing. Superb report though. Superb.
Win over Antrim not enough
WEXFORD 1-11 ANTRIM 0-12
Wednesday April 14 2010
A TWO-POINT win over Antrim on a day when Wexford bowed out of the league was still gratifying as they gave one of their best displays of the campaign in a thoroughly deserved victory in this Allianz National Football League Division 3 final round game at Wexford Park on Sunday afternoon last.
Wexfordâs eventual destination was always going to come down to mathematics for Sligo as expected defeated Roscommon, leaving the Model county on ten points along with Antrim and Sligo. Antrim with a superior scoring aggregate had already qualified, with Sligo edging out Wexford by plus five points.
The performance in this game was always going to be central to Wexfordâs prospects in the championship. The net result is that Wexford on a dry sod, with the ball moving fast, gave one of their most composed displays of the league campaign, suggesting that things are coming right at the opportune time.
Both sides were serious about winning given the amount they put into the game. But it was Wexford who looked sharper and slicker, with their key players coming to the forefront as they battened down the hatches when the northerners sprung at them during the second period, responding with positive attacks of their own to kick the two winning points, while holding their opponents scoreless for the closing 12 minutes.
With Anthony Masterson superb in goal, very much in the thick of the action in the second period, David Murphy superb at centre-back while Brian Malone had an amazing opening 35 minutes. Brendan Doyle had one of his best games in midfield, while both CiarĂĄn Lyng and Red Barry were back to their best form.
Wexford enjoyed the ideal start. Ben Brosnan pointed a second minute free, before they scored a superb goal two minutes later. Wing-back Brian Malone made some 60 metres through the Antrim side from his own half of the pitch in an amazing run, before laying off to midfielder Eric Bradley who crashed home a superb goal from an acute angle leaving them leading 1-1 to 0-0.
While Wexford had the better start, Antrim showed the progress they have made, kicking four unanswered points through Tommy OâNeill, Michael McCann, TomĂĄs McCann and Gerard OâBoyle to level 1-1 to 0-4 after 14 minutes.
By the 23rd minute Wexford after an impressive spell of flowing football responded with points from CiarĂĄn Lyng, free, Ben Brosnan with a beautifully struck â45â, and Lyng once again from a free, to move into a three point, 1-4 to 0-4, lead.
It was nip and tuck through the first-half as Antrimâs Paddy Cunningham kicked two points, one free, with a further effort from Brendan Herron to leave the sides level for a second time, 1-4 to 0-7.
Five minutes before the break Antrim edged in front for the first time through a Paddy Cunningham pointed free, but two Lyng pointed frees in the lead up to the break, left the home side with a single point lead, 1-6 to 0-8, at the interval.
This was by no means a run-of-the-mill league game as both sides battled for the initiative on the resumption. Antrim had a series of early second-half attacks, but their only reward was a Paddy Cunningham 37th minute pointed free.
But with Redmond Barry winning a lot of ball out around midfield, it was the St. Anneâs clubman who lofted over a superb lead point, but still Antrim refused to buckle bouncing back for points from Brendan Herron and James Loughrey to lead 0-11 to 1-7, after 51 minutes.
Lyng managed to stifle the Antrim challenge with a pointed free just ten metres in off the sideline, while on 56 minute he added a further pointed free, to give his side a 1-9 to 0-11 cushion.
After Michael McCann had reduced the deficit to the minimum, it was then the turn of keeper Anthony Masterson to save superbly from TomĂĄs McCann who had created a clear goal opportunity.
While the save inspired Wexford it seemed to take the heat out of the Antrim challenge for it was the home side who finished strongly.
Substitute Colm Morris picked out CiarĂĄn Lyng with a great crossfield ball and the St. Martinâs player lofted over a superb lead point three minutes from the end.
With the clock ticking down it was a Shane Roche pointed free that ensured victory, giving Wexford the ideal boost going into the championship.
A lovely habit of randomly using âforâ in the middle of sentences. Iâm going to the bathroom for I have to take a shit.
[b]Hurlers seeking final spot
Wexford needing a win against Antrim[/b]
Wednesday April 14 2010
WEXFORD hurling likes nothing more than a challenge which makes their meeting with Antrim in a crucial Allianz National Hurling League Division 2 final round game at Wexford Park on Sunday next all the more intriguing.
Itâs still all to play for as to who will accompany Clare into the Division 2 final to secure promotion to Division 1, but manager Colm Bonnar has some huge concerns ahead of this showdown.
With Willie Doran already ruled out with a dislocated elbow, Jim Berry is now unavailable after suffering a broken arm and there is growing concern regarding the fitness of full-back Paul Roche, along with his clubmate and centre-back Darren Stamp.
Stamp is suffering from a knee problem which he took into the Laois game, while Roche has a groin injury, with neither player having trained since their last round victory.
'Both players are a huge concern at the moment. Stamp is having a scan on the knee so weâll know more about that this week, while weâll be leaving Roche until later in the week when he will be asked to prove his fitness.
âItâs a huge concern for if the duo were absent it would take the centre out of defence, while they would also be missing on on crucial hurling time ahead of the championship,â said Bonnar.
Wexford are well aware of their recent league record against Antrim, having lost to the northerners over the last two years on visits to Casement Park, a factor which will knock any complaceny out of the side.
'We are well aware of what happened in our last two meetings. We went up down last year thinking we were well prepared but they pulled one over on us.
âThereâs no doubt but that this is a make or break game. Defeat and we are out for Carlow play Laois, with the winners leapfrogging over us into the final. But right now we are taking one game at a time, thinking no further than Sunday. This will be tense and close for the first half-hour, similiar to the Laois game, but itâs important for us to take the initiative as early as possible. Our hurling is improving, coming with the bright evenings and more hurling. Itâs moving in the right direction, so hopefully we can take it another step on Sunday,â added Bonnar.
Now itâs up to the Wexford players to live with the weight of expectation and deliver a victory and qualification for the Division 2 final.
From Wexford GAA
Wexford and Antrim meet in Wexford Park on Sunday next 18th April in the last league group game encounter of 2010. This game goes ahead at 2.30 pm.
The teamshows two changes from their last outing versus Laois. Eoin Quigley, St. Martins makes his first start of the year at centre forward where he replaces the injured Buffers Alley man,Willie Doran. Malachy Travers also returns in place of Darren Stamp. Otherwise, the team is unchanged as Wexford attempt to qualify for the Div. 2 Allianz League Final with a victory over Antrim.
- Noel Carton,
- Paul Roche
- Keith Rossitter
- Eoin Doyle
- Ritchie Kehoe
- Ciaran Kenny
- Malachy Travers
- Mark Molloy
- Colin Farrell
10.Andrew Shore
11.Eoin Quigley (St Martins) - Diarmuid Lyng
- Rory Jacob
- Stephen Banville
- Peter Atkinson.
Anyone down in the Park? Antrim lead by a point at the moment.
Anybody at this with a fancy phone and willing to provide a few updates? Just got a text to say we were losing by 1-7 to 1-6 after half an hour.
HALF TIME:
Antrim 1-9 Wexford 1-6
Fuck sake. One of their lads was sent off just before half time for stupidly pulling across Rossi.
If scores stay as they are then Laois play Clare in the final. This is fuckin bullshit.
No need to panic, Mac.
I didnât bother going down to this as Iâve been in Wexford the last few weekends and I assumed weâd dispose of these comfortably enough.
Never ASSUME when it comes to Wexford.
:lol: :lol: Best of luck in Leinster lads
Itâs only half time, Laz. And we got a good draw in Leinster too.
Wahey! Referee Seamus Roche has thrown in his whistle
Goal for Wexford by Peter Atkinson. Bad mistake by the keeper.
Wexford 2-7 Antrim 1-9
Wexford lead by 4 points according to Spratt
Another point for WX now, Banville
And weâve got 1-2 in the first couple of minutes of the second half.
Crisis averted. Crisis averted.
We actually led 1-5 to 0-2 after 10 minutes and they outscored us 1-7 to 0-1 from then until half time.
Our performance level fluctuates wildly - no excuse for not hitting a consistent level.
Ara yeâd never be shite enough to lose to a 14 man Antrim ffs.