No doubt the papers and tv will be full of the same old bullshit about bonner managing a team against his former county ala Davy Fitz
Should be an epic few weeks ahead.
Taking on the home teams in the two main GAA stadia in the country.
Nice as well that we are being written off in both games.
Loughnane was up to his old tricks again yesterday as well. He said that if Tipp couldnât beat Wexford then they have no business in taking on Cork or Kilkenny anyhow. Cunt.
I look forward to leaving both Dublin and Thurles in a blaze of Purple and White glory fuelled by Stephen Banville goals and Matty Forde points.
Also should add fair play to Horeswood for a great weekend at the sevens.
Great weekend for the Jimmyâs down there in being the furthest progressing Wexford team in reaching the semis.
The two Laois sides that clashed in the final, Arles-Kilcruise and Graiguecullen were serious operaters at this format.
What you talking about there Croppy?
He was talking about the Horeswood Sevens for the opening of their complex over the weekend where graigcullen were victoriousâŚ
Aye, but was it some sort of 7 aside or summat?`Just curious to get a few more details? Graigue would be an odd club, lots of talent, but they never make fuck all of it. Barry Brennan sums the club up nicely. Kilcruise would be a dogged aul shower of cunts, but youâd have to admire them. Chris Conway sums them up nicely.
Ah cheers Croppy, I see what youâre on about there now.
Thatâs similar to us Jimmyâs as well MBB.
Conway picke dup a yellow in the semi and donât think he was there for the final.
Missed the name of the Kilcruise chap that got Player of the tournament. Blond chap, seriously accurate from play as well.
Sounds like David Conway, Chrisâs younger brother. Serious player off either foot, but too fucking small. Wee bit gobby too for that matter. Chris can give and take it too. Paudge the brother is the full back, a gent.
I wasnât playing down there
Kilcruise is Carrolls club Runt, doubt youâd like to associate with themâŚ
The sevens was a great success, despite predictable attempts from the county board to throw a spanner in the works. The two best teams made it to the final and even then it went to penalties after a 2-6 each draw.
It was David Conway who got the Player of the tournament. I believe his brother Chris was going on holidays on Sunday evening so that is why he missed the final. Of the Wexford teams, Jimmys adapted best and played intelligent football that was suited to the sevens format. Also a young Starlights team were very unlucky, losing to a last gasp free against Arles in the quarter-finals.
I think someone asked about the Good Counsel team on Saturday. A couple of clubs pulled out late last week, including one who only sent a text on the Friday night. With no hope of getting a replacement club we managed to make up a team of former Good Counsel players, mainly from Horeswood but also included a couple from The Rower and New Ross.
sevens was good ol banter, correct me if im wrong but were the jamesâ the only intermediate team down there?
Good ol Greg Jacob wha!
Used to hurl and kick ball against him all the way up underage.
Always thought he liked playing into the cAnal End myself though-fair play to him.
Nothing to fear against thesetipp fellas in my opinion, looked average against a Cok team that wasnât rated to highly coming into chamionship. If we have our best 6 backs starting, theyâll handle the 6 forwards of Tipp and after that its up to our forwards who surely wont be as bad as they were vs Galway.
I look forward to it. Up Wexford.
Team versus Limerick from the weekend:
Dermot Flynn;
Lar Prendergast, Keith Rossiter, CiarĂĄn Kenny;
Eoin Quigley, Darren Stamp, David Redmond;
Mark Molloy (0-2), Colm Farrell (0-1);
Willie Doran, TomĂĄs Waters, Paul Morris;
Rory Jacob (0-4), Stephen Banville (0-1), Peter Atkinson (0-8, 6 frees).
Subs: Jim Berry (0-1), Tommy Dwyer (0-1), TomĂĄs Mahon (0-2 frees), Darren Kehoe, Harry Kehoe, Darren Nolan (0-1), Paul Nolan, Michael Jacob.
What the fook is wrong with Colm Bonnar? Our free taker against Tipperary in Gizzyâs absence is shaping up to be Peter Atkinson.
Bonnar is from the Liam Sheedy school of BainaiseirĂ and excels in total gimpishness, I wonder sometime is John Mcyntire really from the same county as them mongoâs. Ye picked the wrong Tipp cunt that time
[quote=âcroppy_boy, post: 395420â]
Should be an epic few weeks ahead.
Taking on the home teams in the two main GAA stadia in the country.
Nice as well that we are being written off in both games.
Loughnane was up to his old tricks again yesterday as well. He said that if Tipp couldnât beat Wexford then they have no business in taking on Cork or Kilkenny anyhow. Cunt.
I look forward to leaving both Dublin and Thurles in a blaze of Purple and White glory fuelled by Stephen Banville goals and Matty Forde points.
Youâre deluded man
Bandage, Atkinson is actually a decent free taker. Saw him for UCD against Wexford earlier this year. Donât think he missed a single one. Looks a lot more natural than Gizzy. Just a pity heâs shite from open play. Could be the Eamonn Scallan of the '10 team.
Yes, the Jimmys were the only Intermediate club to play over the weekend and gave a really good account of themselves, playing some great football to get to the semi finals.
The weekend, I think, went pretty well despite the setbacks of Nemo, St.Brigids and Kildavin withdrawing very late in day.
Kildavin, in particular, was a tough one as they didnt gvie us a chance to find a replacement team, texting at 10.30 Friday night.
A big thank you to all the teams who turned out despite having league fixtures at the weekend. I hope Iâm not forgetting anyone but these include Bannow, Fethard, Starlights and Mount Leinster Rangers and I think Taghmon may have had something on too. One of the areas we are looking at for next year is to run the tournament over one day.
We hope all who attended enjoyed the weekend and hopefully we will see you back again next year.
Finally, congratulations to Graiguecullen, managed by former Wexford boss Paul Bealin, on becoming the first winners of this inaugural tournament.
The results from Sunday were
Quarter Finals
Arles/Kilcruise (Laois) 2-8 Horeswood 1-3
Graiguecullen (Laois) 2-8 Starlights 1-10
St.Malachys (Westmeath) 1-12 Taghmon/Camross 2-2
St.James 4-11 Good Counsel College 0-6
Semi Finals
Arles/Kilcruise 6-5 St.Malachys 1-10
Graiguecullen 2-13 St.James 1-6
Shield Final
Bannow/Ballymitty 2-11 Gusserane 1-4
Cup Final
Arles/Kilcruise 2-6 Graiguecullen 2-6
Graiguecullen won on penaltys and received a âŹ500 voucher from Azzurri Sports.
Pretty fair summation I would have said.