to be honest, Iâm not a fan of interviews, especially boring cliche riddled ones. thats not a dig at the Wexford TV, but in general. I dont like the waffling in any type of sports analysis, and prefer to watch games, and if needs be have the analysis over that. But the style of Giles/Brady/Dunphy sitting around talking rubbish about nothing grates me, I prefer watching the sport, and if needs be have the type of analysis on the game itself, or interviews with more specifics about games. The wexford tv seems to be mostly interviews and talking to managers or players etc. I know its hard to get videos of games, but Iâd be far more interested in more highlights packages than interviews. Also, not sure who was responsible for it, but throwing up clips of points or scores on facebook, with no context behind it, or with weird music is odd. The one last year, with county senior player James Holmes scoring and being described as âthe Castletown playerâ is lazy.
Important the galacticos get the space they need to yet again thrive
[QUOTE=âmaroonandwhite, post: 1067140, member: 1406â]http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/tipping-point-wexford-finally-taking-stand-against-tyranny-of-the-gaa-media-1.2054193
Important the galacticos get the space they need to yet again thrive[/QUOTE]
I actually think thatâs a load of shit from clerkin, regardless of it being about Wexford. Itâs basic outline of their plans. It means the players are controlled more and have pre determined media interviews. Just because he has no interest in writing about Wexford football doesnât mean other journalists donât hound players or are in dressing rooms. He is also wrong in saying journalists donât go into dressing rooms, I myself saw a pair of them entering a dressing room after a game last year.
Itâs a shit article where he painfully tries to poke fun at itâs intentions.
[QUOTE=âmaroonandwhite, post: 1067140, member: 1406â]http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/tipping-point-wexford-finally-taking-stand-against-tyranny-of-the-gaa-media-1.2054193
Meh Laois did that last year, pretty much standard practice, Dublin been doing it for years now, even having press briefing at 7 and 8am. No story here really. Clerkin most likely still seething from the recent tanning Joe Brolly and his mother gave him.
Looking forward to seeing what Brendan Furlong makes of this in tomorrowâs Wexford People. Itâll be some craic if the management apply this to local media too. Both local titles come out on Tuesday and therefore have Monday evening print deadlines on Monday - if management are only available on Tuesdays then all interaction/interviews will only be printed a week later, if at all, and will probably be old news at that stage. But the general decision to streamline media access isnât untoward and Clerkin lacing his whole piece with sarcasm is quite retarded.
Clerkin is a dick
I agree with a large amount of the above post.
Just one point on interviews - yes, the ones containing generic questions and cliche ridden answers are banal but I think thereâs scope to do interesting interviews too. Iâm based in Dublin so not sure if South East Radio do extended interviews with the senior county team managers at the outset of the year but the local print media donât seem too interested in this aspect of it. Iâd like to see an extended interview with Liam Dunne and get some real insight into the hurling camp. Like, are there any retirements? Will Rossiter and Jacob be involved this season, for example? Any new squad members? Some specifics on type of training being undertaken ahead of the league. Whoâs involved in the backroom team and preparation of the team? Any long term injuries / operations over the winter? And so on. Maybe he wouldnât be keen on revealing too much but it would be interesting to hear the plans for the year and it wouldnât do any harm in garnering interest ahead of the upcoming games.
Clerkin comes across as a cunt in that article. What the fuck the first half is about is beyond me, just thought id see what the wexicans made of it. What was the tanning brolly gave him mbb?
No Malachy wrote this one. Dick was interviewed in the Sindo at the weekend.
Brendan Furlong isnât happy about having to speak to management 12 days before games given they go to press on Monday evenings and the fact that local media werenât informed directly. He has a point in fairness. As I say, Iâve no issue with them introducing guidelines but itâs been implemented in a silly enough way.
yeah Tuesday is a bad night for it. Friday would make more sense, or even Sunday. If only to appease the local media.
I wouldnt however be surprised if Tuesday was picked on purpose due to some of the outlandish rumours and sensationalist journalistic writing by some of the local media.
First time poster of the forum. I wish you all a good day.
Weird to see so little senior clubs represented on the panel. I recall hearing Power say on the sports hour to Spratt on Sunday evening saying he is giving lads â18-24 monthsâ so he seems like a man with a long term plan. Especially for the younger lads, given he is taking over the 21âs also and his track record in Tipperary.
Brendan Furlong loves controversy, it is a storm in a tea cup re: Media regulation. I feel if Liam Dunne was to do similar heâd be hailed as a God for it, ya never hear of Ronan Fagan giving out about things like these. Echo Sports much better than People Sports IMO.
Hereâs to a new year, and hopefully some silverware in both codes.
[QUOTE=âBandage, post: 1067343, member: 9â]I agree with a large amount of the above post.
Just one point on interviews - yes, the ones containing generic questions and cliche ridden answers are banal but I think thereâs scope to do interesting interviews too. Iâm based in Dublin so not sure if South East Radio do extended interviews with the senior county team managers at the outset of the year but the local print media donât seem too interested in this aspect of it. Iâd like to see an extended interview with Liam Dunne and get some real insight into the hurling camp. Like, are there any retirements? Will Rossiter and Jacob be involved this season, for example? Any new squad members? Some specifics on type of training being undertaken ahead of the league. Whoâs involved in the backroom team and preparation of the team? Any long term injuries / operations over the winter? And so on. Maybe he wouldnât be keen on revealing too much but it would be interesting to hear the plans for the year and it wouldnât do any harm in garnering interest ahead of the upcoming games.[/QUOTE]
Thanks for that lads. I hear that thereâll be a Liam Dunne interview up on Wexford GAA TV before the end of the week. Ronan Fagan comes close to giving you that insight in this weekâs edition, Bandage. Rory Jacob and CiarĂĄn Kenny are recovering from double-groin and appendix operations respectively while PJ Nolan is struggling to overcome a hernia injury. Garrett Sinnott and DaithĂ Waters are both faring well also. As well as Walsh Cup clashes, Dunne has practice matches with Cork IT, Tipperary and Clare lined up. The first round of the NHL is on February 15th as the hurlers welcome Antrim.
Any idea of the amount of lads who are playing college ? To my recollection this is surely
Donât commentate on a Naomh Eanna game again. Biased ainât the word.
Tipperary V Wexford Senior Hurling Charity Game takes place in Leahy Park Cashel on Sunday 11th January 2015 at 2pm.
Come on up Wexicans, Iâll organize plenty of doob to go around for all of us. #hightimesincashel
[QUOTE=âsomerandomperson, post: 1067771, member: 2931â]First time poster of the forum. I wish you all a good day.
Weird to see so little senior clubs represented on the panel. I recall hearing Power say on the sports hour to Spratt on Sunday evening saying he is giving lads â18-24 monthsâ so he seems like a man with a long term plan. Especially for the younger lads, given he is taking over the 21âs also and his track record in Tipperary.
Brendan Furlong loves controversy, it is a storm in a tea cup re: Media regulation. I feel if Liam Dunne was to do similar heâd be hailed as a God for it, ya never hear of Ronan Fagan giving out about things like these. Echo Sports much better than People Sports IMO.
Hereâs to a new year, and hopefully some silverware in both codes.[/QUOTE]
Welcome along.
Tonightâs result: Wexford 1-13 Carlow 0-13.
Re current panelists; there seems to be quite a high proportion of players who featured in the latter stages of the championship in the top three grades alright. Probably the games that new management were in attendance at following their appointment.
Storm in a tea cup.
Gavin :o
Nope. Not me. Some other fella replying to Powerâs twitter account. Nice try though.
I see however your fellow county man Noel Garvan is over the I.T. Didnât think he was retired that long ?