[QUOTE=āsomerandomperson, post: 1110039, member: 2931ā]For the 65 yard goal he missed against Limerick he most certainly should not be starting. I feel more at ease watching Niall Breen.
Daithi Waters has impressed me, heās not a bad presence in the half forward line but he canāt hit snow off a rope.
P.S. Iāll be heading to Bride Street tomorrow to light a few candles in the hope Dunne doesnāt bring on Podge Doran.[/QUOTE]
Any team news?be very surprised if the team lines out as named.Heard Eoin Conroy starts corner back and I suspect podge doran or guiney may start instead of Daithi.
Conroy was solid last week - think it was his first competitive start for Wexford. If heās starting then it probably means itās the same set of backs as last week.
Some decent individual performances by Fanning, OāHanlon, Conroy, Shore, Chin, OāKeeffe and McGovern but others didnāt reach the level required.
Waterford went from 6-5 to 12-5 in front in the space of around 5 minutes late in the first half and we never reduced the deficit to below 5 after that. It was a strong enough breeze but they played well against it in the second half. 13-7 ahead at half time and it was 22-16 at the end.
They dropped men deep, swept up well, worked the ball intelligently upfield and into space with good passing and support play. Waterford invariable emerged from the many rucks (is it acceptable to use that term?) with the ball and we were a bit off colour. They were sharper and more cohesive.
We need to be more clever with our use of McDonald. Have him as a moving high ball target rather than launching ball to him standing still with a couple of players on him which is much easier to defend.
We struggled a bit in the middle third. Guiney and Morris will return to be championship starters in the forward line all things being equal but we have some work to do between 5 and 12. Iād like to see Conor Devitt and Aidan Nolan get some opportunities.
Poor enough performance all round to be honest. The first 20 minutes Liam Ryan was running around trying to find someone to mark, and more often than not, he was doubling up on a player and they had free men on the overlap most of the first half. Dunne hadnāt a clue how to counteract their blanket defence hurling tactics, at one stage view had 14 men inside their own 45. But we kept bringing the ball into them and congesting things up.
Touch was pretty poor too. 2 or 3 attempts to control the ball, big wild swings that were blocked or hooked, not catching it clean, and as bandage said, they must have won 90% of possession coming out of those shitty rucks that happen. Too slow and ponderous on the ball, and passing was poor. O Keefe I thought was our best on the day, bar one awful behind the head hand pass. Waters isnāt a natural hurler either, just isnāt comfortable on the ball. Canāt afford that at centre forward, and Iām not sure there is any more time to be given to try get him up to inter county pace.
Some decent individual performances by Fanning, OāHanlon, Conroy, Shore, Chin, OāKeeffe and McGovern but others didnāt reach the level required.
Waterford went from 6-5 to 12-5 in front in the space of around 5 minutes late in the first half and we never reduced the deficit to below 5 after that. It was a strong enough breeze but they played well against it in the second half. 13-7 ahead at half time and it was 22-16 at the end.
They dropped men deep, swept up well, worked the ball intelligently upfield and into space with good passing and support play. Waterford invariable emerged from the many rucks (is it acceptable to use that term?) with the ball and we were a bit off colour. They were sharper and more cohesive.
We need to be more clever with our use of McDonald. Have him as a moving high ball target rather than launching ball to him standing still with a couple of players on him which is much easier to defend.
We struggled a bit in the middle third. Guiney and Morris will return to be championship starters in the forward line all things being equal but we have some work to do between 5 and 12. Iād like to see Conor Devitt and Aidan Nolan get some opportunities.[/QUOTE]
Worthless trash
We struggled a bit in the middle third. Guiney and Morris will return to be championship starters in the forward line all things being equal but we have some work to do between 5 and 12. Iād like to see Conor Devitt and Aidan Nolan get some opportunities.[/QUOTE]
Pretty much agree with the above. In fairness Waterford surprised me and were very impressive. They looked much fitter than last Summer and were far more aggressive when it came to winning those dirty balls in the ruck. Austin Gleeson and Tadhg de Burca are two of the best upcoming hurlers in the country with serious ability in the air. As usual the openside was populated with auld lads berating Fanning for not driving it in but in fairness with the numbers they had back in the second half they mopped up everything when we did go long. With Waterford playing so defensively we really needed to bang over some long range points to force the Waterford players to push up on their men and generate some space inside for Macdonald and Liam og.
Noel Conners has the widest legs Iāve ever seen on an inter-county hurler.
Waterford far better both on the pitch and tactically.
The time where McDonald won a high ball, had his helmet knocked off, laid off to a Wexford player who was one on one with the keeper and had the play called back for an indirect free was a horrendous piece of officiating.
Summed up on the open side as follows:
āBacks are too loose and forwards arenāt good enoughā
āWill ye let the ball in for fuckās sakeā
Losing so many balls in the rucks was the most annoying part. Thatās just wanting it a bit more I think.
McDonald actually put OāKeeffe straight through for a run at the keeper when his helmet was knocked off. Gas to listen to the auld lads then when the referee stopped the play for an indirect free for us. They wanted Guiney shot when he passed the free sideways. Completely oblivious to the rules in a manner befitting a rugby football supporter.
despite me telling the lads standing behind me on the open side, and them telling lads around them, there was still one lad who felt the need to shout at Guiney on his next scored free that he āshould have done that the last time ya fecking eejitā
whats worse was there was another indirect free earlier in the game and the same lads were asking how the fuck was that a free? I do despair at these games at times, would hate to be a player listening to the roars some of these lads shout at them.
[QUOTE=āGman, post: 1111251, member: 112ā]despite me telling the lads standing behind me on the open side, and them telling lads around them, there was still one lad who felt the need to shout at Guiney on his next scored free that he āshould have done that the last time ya fecking eejitā
whats worse was there was another indirect free earlier in the game and the same lads were asking how the fuck was that a free? I do despair at these games at times, would hate to be a player listening to the roars some of these lads shout at them.[/QUOTE]
Iām sure they donāt hear them Gman. Hurling has changed a lot in the last few years with space and possession being paramount. The Wexford followers are totally oblivious to that. The expectations of players is something else though.
dont hear or dont pay attention? I remember one game we were playing Kilkenny in Croke Park, and a lad behind me roared his living best at Shefflin when there was a bit of a flare up on the sideline that āyouāre nothing but a dressed up tinkerā. Shefflin stopped and looked up to the crowd, and hilarious laughing ensued from the drunken Wexford fan and his mates, but Shefflin definitely heard it. From your vantage point today (I was towards the back in the section beside you) you would have been within a couple of metres of the sideline so would be closer again, but even where I was, you could hear the players on the field and the runners talking to Ryan and other players, so Iād have thought it would be easy enough for comments from the crowd to be heard.
The expectations are unreal. Itās been spoken about on here before, but Wexford people are desperate for success, and will do anything to push it on and believe its there. Even yesterday, some facebook Wexford page was name checking the best minor players form their leinster league game victory over Antrim. It starts at such an early stage in Wexford where they want the next best thing to be there.
Sinnott and Guiney for P Foley (broken hand) and Doran. Redmond and Chin started midfield last week and are listed in the half back line. I think it shows that we havenāt sorted out a settled half back line and midfield combination.
Neither Mossy Waters or Aidan Nolan are in the subs so I take it theyāre both injured. CiarĆ”n Kenny is available off the bench though.