Full change of direction and vision if not personal required at County board if we are to move forward as a hurling county and this includes removing the 96 management from the background of both the current minor and senior setups.
It is not just the current senior team that we need to be worried about but the survival of wexford hurling in general.
we are now at a serious crossroads, good bunch of young hurlers at our disposal that need direction and mite be our last as kids need winners as heroes or they will walk away from this great game in County wexford
Liam Griffin isnât the problem pal.
What is ye have. Good players whays going wrong
Liam Griffin and 96 players is part of the problem pal. Why is Griffin still around? Hurling has moved on so much and so should wexford gaa. Our county secretary has been on the county board for 20 years come on lads surely itâs time for a shake up.
Itâs the natural time for lads of the 96 group to be involved. The fact that someone was on that team or panel shouldnât preclude them from being involved.
If it wasnât for griffin things which would be much, much worse than what they are.
The administration is a farce though, Iâll give you that. Wexford seem to take the âSecretaryâ title quite literally whereas I think it should be more CEO than simply administrator.
I donât think so I think itâs time for an outside manager and no 96 members involved at all. We need to move on why not let Frank Flannery take the job next year and let him select his own people. He knows the club scene, has proven with Oulart that he has good tactical awareness. I think we need an outside set up with no links to 96 or past management.
Frank Flannery should be offered the job. Will he leave the Cork set up though? If he turns it down then Tom Mullally should be offered it. If neither takes it we shouldnât enter a team next year.
There was serious stunning going on in Wexford Park yesterday according to Brendan.
what?
Yesterday was the first time I saw the hurlers play in the flesh this year. Fook me, not good, especially in the forwards. Couldnât win their own ball and no threat from play. Big fat arsed biffos seemed to win all the dirty ball. Disappointing stuff.
The footballers in contrast looked amazing going forward. However, the defence was unbelievably porous. Wicklow were awfully average, but anytime they attacked they looked like they might score. Big Davy would want to sort that out. Drop an extra man back or something, cause the way they are set up at the minuteâs not working.
and great to see Lyng back
He used stunned/stunning 3 times in his first 2 paragraphs. In the Indo.
Wexfordâs hammering of Kerry is looking a little anomalous now.
I think the key to their comprehensive victory that day was that they setup defensively against Kerry. I donât think the Kerry hurlers were used to anyone playing defensively against them. Certainly not anyone of this standard and as such they had no idea how to play through them. Similarly Wexford out muscled them, I doubt there is another team in the division Wexford are physically stronger than.
Worrying times down Wexico way. I thought ye might be turning a corner.
it seems that the flash in the pan victories against Clare and Waterford in 2014 have set back rather than having us build on them
Management has to beheld responsible for this cluster fuck.
Eh, we didnât set up defensively against Kerry. We just beat the shite out of them.
Eh yes, yes ye did.
We actually didnât, mate.
I was THERE
That doesnât alter the fact youâre typing through your hole.
Wexford setup with their half forward sitting very deep and their midfield playing defensively in front of the HBâs. There was a huge gap between the HF and the FF line which often only had two (and occasionally one) in it.
On Kerry puckouts (of which there were many) the Wexicans had their half forwards deep and the midfielders in the half back line with the FF line dropping out to cover the gaps.
Kerry could easily have bypassed the screen with a bit of nous, knocking the puckout short and then firing it over the Wexford defense, but they never managed it and persisted in launching sky ball (Limerick influence perhaps?) down on top of the vastly outnumbered (and out muscled) Kerry midfield and half forwards. Kerry couldnât make use of the extra men they had in defense at all and Wexford scored well from distance and used short passes well in the middle.
This isnât a dig at Wexford at all btw it was the perfect strategy against Kerry whoâve been staying competitive due to some decent scoring forwards. They choked off the supply completely
However I think the reality is they just played those tactics because they always play those tactics and like a stopped clock it was right eventually. The strategy would be and has been ripped apart by better teams.