Ryan and Chin togged out.
Damien Reck in civilian clothes.
Ryan and Chin togged out.
Damien Reck in civilian clothes.
Congrats boys.
Delighted for ye. Not for Davy.
Fanning penalty to win a provincial final reminiscent of his managers penalty in 1995 in a provincial final
Fair play to ye Wexford cunts. O’Connor and Chin are some yokes
Just realised I posted a joe.ie tweet.
Soz lads.
Congrats to the Wexicans today only saw the first half but ye seemed worthy winners from the radio commentary
That was a superb and also a very emotional day. I was actually a ball of emotion afterwards, but real men show their feelings.
Richie Lawlor lost his mam to cancer when she was only in her 30s and he was 7. 10 years later and he’s captaining the first Wexford Leinster minor winning team in 34 years after giving an absolute Tour de France. Incredible day for him, his family and Faythe Harriers, and his brilliant team mates.
Then the Senior was about as tight and tense a game as I can remember. Another perfect ending with Lee Chin, a Faythe Harriers man too, going up the steps to lift the Bob O’Keeffe Cup as joint captain with Matthew O’Hanlon.
It’s hard to know who’s being serious or jibing for the laugh on here, but I thought it was a pulsating game. I don’t think the lead was ever more than 3 points and it changed hands quite a bit.
I didn’t expect us to hold TJ Reid like the last day, and Matt O’Hanlon still had a fine game himself, but we had other lads who stepped it up too. Conor Mc and Rory O’Connor really delivered. Rory O’Connor’s ability to cut through a defence at pace with a body swerve is simply superb and what a time to do it for the pelanty. His 4 first half points were outstanding.
I thought we mixed our game better today and didn’t make a hero out of Pádraig Walsh. Our first half bombs from Fanning down to the forwards who had bunched around the D reminded me of the way Galway did that to us in 2017 and rendered Shaun Murphy as a bit of a non-factor as sweeper. And when we brought it out from defence we struck in better ball to the forwards too.
Chinner had a brilliant game. He was impeccable on frees so fair play to him for working through the issues he had in Salthill and elsewhere. He had some great interventions throughout the field, none more so than at the end with that catch in the square. Kilkenny seem to think the way to play him is to assign someone to dog him off the ball but he reacted in the best way possible.
Credit also to Mark Fanning for an important second half save and then burying the pelanty - I’ve been critical of him in the past but he was solid today. Liam Og McGovern also got through a power of work in midfield. Jacko was effective and O’Keeffe had his moments.
Our defence was creaking in the first half, and Kevin Foley pushing up on their puck outs was shelved after around 20 minutes due to their forwards winning clean aerial ball and then getting running at goal. But we locked it down much better in the second half and the likes of Ryan and Murphy tightened up and came onto games.
There were many great moments in that match from a Wexford perspective. We took some beautiful points when we strung several passes together and there were inspirational catches and last gasp tackles too.
Delighted for everyone involved and for everyone it means something to. We are very lucky to have Davy Fitzgerald in our corner.
It was a cracking match Bandage
I still think there is more in this side. That’s the best and most involved Conor Mac has been for a long time. Rory had his best game of the season too. Simon Donohoe also was good and his best outing. And then Dee O Keefe was way off his last performance. Kevin Foley was extremely sloppy and slow on the ball at times. Liam Ryan looked out of sorts when faced with long balls into fennelly. Some poor fumbly passes and missed pick ups. We very much hit the good with bad. Genuinely feel if we can play 100% throughout the team, we are a match for anyone. But that is hugely our problem, no consistency for every player.
Massive amount of positives to take, but if we were at our best and struggled over the line, I’d be more worried. We were poor in a lot of areas and still have scope for improvement. Whether we improve is another thing, but let’s see.
Chin was superb on his frees too. I’d have two very small criticisms on his play today, but that’s for another time. He was excellent and very much lead by example. Great player.
I’m nearly more happy with the minor result. Maybe it’s the club involvement, but knowing we have some really great players coming thru knowing they can hop off Kilkenny is great.
It was a very good game. Wasnt same physicality as drawn game but standard was much better. I really enjoyed it anyway.
The pick of both teams wouldnt have matched Limerick though
There’s not much left to say. A few turning points went our way for a change. I can remember at least 2-3 2 point swings like Reid’s quick free going against them and us scoring off it. I know we had a few that went the other way too but they rarely go with us.
Our strategy against their puck outs in the first half seemed very odd. It seemed to let them win a load of dirty ball even though we were well on top.
Credit to Fanning and Chin - both have come in for plenty of criticism on here but stood up and did it when it mattered today. Rory O and Conor Mac had their best games of the year and hunted Tipp lads looking for their cousins.
The celebrations in Gorey are unreal. There won’t be a jot of work done tomorrow
I’m late to The Sunday Game but Jackie Tyrrell talked about our bunching around the D for Fanning’s long puck outs to take Pádraig Walsh out of the game, and how we married that with some lovely moves out from the back through the hands too. We are both top class analysts.
Fanning hit his first puck out over the side line and I thought, here we go. But it’s like he said fuck that and just launched nearly everything long after that. Only one or two others went short from recollection
Yeah, we got a couple of good points from shortish puck outs which we then worked upfield. One from Rory after O’Hanlon played a nice ball into him. McGovern was usually the man making diagonal runs back towards the ball to accept them.
They are gone buck ape in Gorey judging by clips.
It’s like '96 here
Great to see. Shur why the fuck wouldn’t you