Wexford GAA 2022

Surprised Jack isn’t starting, started 5 games out of 6 in the league, between himself, Chin, Dunbar, Hearne and Devitt hopefully plenty of impact on the bench, id leave the 2 u20s to that competition.

Is that rule still in place that if you play senior championship you can’t play U20 championship? That was a bit ridiculous. Basically encouraging senior managers to pick an over 21 team and not select their star youngster or deprive the U20’s of him.

Gonna call it here now, Jack O’Connor is a busted flush.

I reckoned on here post Waterford we needed to bring in Flood, O Foley, Chin and Jacko to make us a tougher proposition but we’d still be carrying a few weaknesses. We’ve gone halfway there with 2/4. Chin’s obviously still not ready to play a full game. Reasonable enough to be cautious in a round robin scenario - rush/push it and he could miss the rest of the games. I’d have Jacko in there though. That half forward line doesn’t look too hectic to me.

Yeah I reckon as long as we beat Dublin at home we should escape in 3rd place anyway. Although I wouldn’t discount a nail biter like 2019 given how evenly matched the top 4 are.

He would have been at home on a team in the 1990s or early 2000s. Lacks something I think.

Yeah that stupid rule is still there.

That’s a right yoke.

Will it be seen on a really sunny day though?

The Swiss know time.

Aye, I’d imagine so. Hd screen and they have same in Croke Park, so if it’s good enough for them it’s good enough for us.

Wait till whoever is operating it forgets to put the ad or block up over some controversial incident

Id prefer to keep him for the u20s. Its such a stupid rule.

There’s a tribute video to Nickey Rackard tomorrow before the match anyway so it must be decent but I do agree, they’ll get the qrong crests on it or something.

Lads are ripped apart having to play for all sorts of teams, I see the benefits myself but I could understand where lads are coming from.

That U20 rule seems counter-intuitive to me in that you’d think it’d be harder for a young player to break into a stronger senior team. So you’d likely have the weaker counties losing more of their U20s to the senior side and the cycle is perpetuated. I might have used words in the wrong context here.

I think there was some tension in Wicklow last year because they had a strong U20 team which lost out by a narrow enough margin to Dublin but weren’t able to play those players in senior championship against Wexford in Aughrim as a consequence.

Jackie Tyrell used to say similar, Kilkenny lads didn’t like going to the park.

Ciaran is starting to look like The Night King.

It’s gas how these lads who were on teams that routinely bate the shite out of us in Wexford Park come along when retired and go on about how tough and intimidating a venue it was. It’s usually sparsely enough populated with 3 open sides. It’s not as if it’s a fully enclosed, bowl type, cauldron of noise. An auld dirty tackle on the sideline near the stand might raise the temperature but a fair bit of rewriting history goes on.