Wexford GAA 2022

It must be nice to get a pat on the head now and again all the same.

Its only mickey mouse round robin nonsense anyway.

Enjoy the picnic.

Jesus it’s like Well Fed Ned passed out the media notes to all former Kilkenny hurlers this week.

One would hope Wille/Eddie O’Connor (whichever one is the big simpleton) might have an opposing viewpoint in the papers tomorrow, calling Wexford soft auld bags of shite.

I mentioned that 2001 Leinster U21 Final earlier and a longtime reader/rare poster said to me OFFLINE that was when Wexford people still supported in big numbers. There was probably 10k in the park that midweek night and I’d say there won’t be that many there tomorrow. Maybe the round robin dilutes things alright.

It got me thinking about our support more. We don’t back the county team with the same zeal as muldoons in Munster or some of the football only counties. It’s a different kind of support, we attend in okay numbers but we’re just harmless and easygoing simpletons really - we’re fairly passive. Now there will obviously be exceptions and we have some passionate sorts who follow the team everywhere.

Generally though, I think people like to see us going well but it’s not the be all and end all - there’ll still be strawberries to be picked whether we win or lose. I don’t think the corporate sector really puts the cash up either, like your Club Tyrones and other counties. And that’s despite ongoing and concerted efforts to tap into that market to help fund strategic plans.

Basically we need our most successful and very wealthy folk like @Ralphie and @croppy_boy to stump up more cash. Producing top class hurlers doesn’t come cheap in the modern game. As @padjo said to me last week, do Wexford people want to support the development of hurlers that can score points on the run off the hurl from either side, or Ukraine?

I thought Wexford were a fairly savvy operation financially. Shur Zurich are as big as AIG and don’t Wexford have some fine fundraising initiatives in the Talbot Hotel Stillorgan for the diaspora like yourself?

Ye brought great colour to Croker in 2019 for what was one of the great occasions but i wonder when all was said and done did it really hurt Wexford people at all? Like this was heartbreak, yet the general reaction from Wexford supporters around me in the centre of the Hogan Stand was to just shrug their shoulders and say “ah fuck it the lads were unlucky today werent they?”. They should been disconsolate.

Coach Egan needs to turn us from doubters to believers, ala what Big Jurg did for Liverpool Football Club

I want to believe

I’ll get on it after I pay off St Eunan’s to change from black & amber to purple and gold.

We’re all at nothing

Didnt get into the minor game last week. Disappointing loss, they had a really good start to the game. Hopefully get another shot at kilkenny and learn from it.

Super goal from Cillian Byrne too. Brilliant talent. I told @mac this ages ago and he scoffed at me.

In fairness to you, you’ve bigged up every Fethard player who can hold a hurl for the last 5 years so you were bound to get 1 right eventually

Must be the Carley in him :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Where does that leave us?

I think we go to quarter final, on score difference
Dubs and Kilkenny to semi finals
Another game might be a good thing, assume we win
Seems little between the 3 teams

Dublin and Kilkenny straight into the semis (on points difference) and Wexford into the quarter finals against the 2nd/3rd tier teams?

With the Leinster Final already won and a first all-Ireland semi-final in 12 years I think most were satisfied with the efforts. The performance that day was excellent for 50 mins. The real regret was the fact that we’d have probably beaten an average enough Kilkenny team in the final.

I’m still traumatised by it.

A noble rendition of the national anthem in Wexford Park.

George hates the limelight

I don’t know anything about him, but the lad sure can sing.

Was it 9 or 10 steps he took for the goal?