Foley barged over
Zero frees. Fuckin hell
Mikey Dwyer pulled back
Rory tripped
Foley barged over
Zero frees. Fuckin hell
DâArcy out.
Frees just not being called on ROC.
Feck it. We needed to get the next score after the goal. Tom Monaghan playing very well for Galway.
Oisin Pepper gone for the U20âs now I presume? Like when a junior is gone for 5 mins of action in senior club.
Stupid rule
Yeah but heâll be needed in future games Iâd say
Making a hero of Daithi Burke. Although a burly high ball in looks the best chance of a late goal.
TELL US NEVER
Jesus. That was epic.
Windy Galway Gobshites
Coach Egan finds a way
Henry will be livid
Ollie Canning making a show of himself
Ref was shocking, very hard to find a good un.
Galway fucked now without Whelan
Chin made some difference when he came on. Joseph Cooneyâs madness in that 2 on 1 up the other end came back to haunt Galway.
That reminded me of the game in Salthill a few years back where Chin missed all the frees. Fairly turgid stuff from both sides and a really exciting finish. We should learn more from it than they did and the way it finished gives us a bit of momentum for next week.
Need to sort out the half forward line badly
Got out of jail there. Galway were the better side but they fucked themselves up not taking their chances and then flooding back defence and sitting on their lead. Conor Mac had a good game, credit where its due. Chin was good when he came on too. Pepper was way too lightweight to come in to that game, physically outmuscled and with the lack of frees, it wasnt a game that suited him. Our midfield was poor tho, bad playing decisions and not active enough defensively. Got out of jail, good spirit shown to stay in it so will take it.
Hopefully the Leaving Cert doesnât coincide with the 2022 Leinster Senior Hurling Final.
Yeah, good result considering the display. Improved in the second half but still fairly average and hard to figure out what we were at tactically. As @Julio_Geordio said, not sure how Galwayâs attack could create space so easily in the first half given we werenât committing many men forward ourselves. Where were our fucking players running and standing?!
Chinâs equalising free was reminiscent of the one from midfield in the last round robin game in 2019 to seal a draw against Kilkenny, and a Leinster Final place with it. Might even have been the same 1-19 each score line?
I didnât think beforehand we had enough firepower in the attack, but Chin made a difference and McDonald battled gamely and took a few very good scores.
Dwyer fumbled or lost the ball 5 or 6 times, some brutal first touches. He got in a good hook at one stage, but that wonât do overall.
McGuckin pretty ineffective too. Nobody will convince me heâs a better option to start than Jack OâConnor at this stage of their careers.
Flood and O Foley were the better of the 4 newer/newish lads but weâre worryingly still (heavily) reliant on the same core group of players.
Kevin Foley was barely involved and out of sorts and ROC was well shackled (hard to tell on TV coverage if he was being fouled on a few occasions).
Fanning drives me spare. Letting a handpass out over the end line for a pointed 65, going high with a penalty. His general game awareness. Very soon after McDonald had won the penalty, Fanning had a puck out with 20 seconds of first half injury time left. Go long to fuck again for last play of half and see if consternation ensues but he plays a short skiddy one to the sideline. Then their first attack immediately after our goal and Liam Ryan cuts out an attack and switches it across to Fanning. He travels unimpeded up the right sideline, we have it back to 3, the lowest its been in the second half, and he drives it wide on the near side when Chin and McDonald are waiting for a long diagonal. Galway pushed it back out to 1-19 to 1-15 with a point off the resulting puck out, thankfully their last. Cue Tom Dempsey praising him again in the local paper.
Galwayâs attack wilted badly when Whelan went off. In fairness, Ryan and OâHanlon showed some leadership and toughness and shut down their forwards. Shefflin will probably cop some flak for bringing on the chap thatâs still in school instead of a more seasoned campaigner. Galway werenât up to much but were still comfortably better than us for the majority of the game, which is a concern in itself. But for the same reason, itâs a better draw for us than them Iâd say. I presume weâll have Dunbar, Jacko and Chin in from the start next weekend and it should strengthen us.